Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whirling Dervish
This timeless tale is such delight for the spirit,it`s left my soaring high fulfiled with wonder.Magical and beautiful story of quest really inspiring for my path and balm for my heart.A delicious feast for the imagination, took me into the world of Eastern mysticism.Amazingly telling the ones relation of courage to face it`s own fate and the leap of faith to reach the...
Published 18 months ago by Tara Jin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content but needs a proof-reader
If I were going by content alone, this book would have 5 stars. The story is written in lyrical story-teller fashion and with an engaging manner. In addition, Mr Williams raises serious issues;in a society where many have nothing and some so much that it is shameful, are 'Robin Hood' type exploits allowable, or even justified? And again; are most people concerned more...
Published 3 months ago by Robin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whirling Dervish, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This timeless tale is such delight for the spirit,it`s left my soaring high fulfiled with wonder.Magical and beautiful story of quest really inspiring for my path and balm for my heart.A delicious feast for the imagination, took me into the world of Eastern mysticism.Amazingly telling the ones relation of courage to face it`s own fate and the leap of faith to reach the core of fulfillment of open heart.Now I am reading again with my kids and they love it too.Simply wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content but needs a proof-reader, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sufi (Kindle Edition)
If I were going by content alone, this book would have 5 stars. The story is written in lyrical story-teller fashion and with an engaging manner. In addition, Mr Williams raises serious issues;in a society where many have nothing and some so much that it is shameful, are 'Robin Hood' type exploits allowable, or even justified? And again; are most people concerned more with impressing others, with being liked and hiding their own vulnerability, than with truth and justice?

And there are other deeper matters discussed as well.

So why only 3 stars? Because the author has not bothered at all with grammar, spelling or even proof-reading the text. Mine was the Kindle version but the errors seem far more wide-ranging than can be accounted for by transcription. For example, a drawer in a cabinet is consistently spelled "draw"; words are omitted, 'their' becomes 'there', apostrophes appear where they shouldn't and so on and so on.

The story is suitable for children too - but I would never let a child of mine near the book for fear that they would pick up and adopt some of the errors.

If the author could only get the text properly proof-read in a new edition, he'd get 5 stars from me. But he would first need to establish whether the Afterword should really be entitled "Prologue" or whether it actually is an Epilogue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply glorious, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sufi (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful, enlightening read. Really makes you think and examine the way we peceive the world, and the things are are of importance to us. Written with much joy, compassion, sensitivity and understanding. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A spiritual pearl', 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title promises, Sufi whirls us through bustling market places, ancient customs and forgotten secrets. A significant piece of writing, with beautifully woven segments, each paragraph a delicate gem moving ever forwards towards its goal. Mystical tales and divine poetry thread together to form a guidebook for the new spiritual era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartwarming, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is written with sensitivity, passion and true feeling, the author has totally connected with his story and belief of the connective consciousness of the universe .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sufi an enlightening tale, 21 Dec 2012
I loved this tale, of course it has more than one level, on the pure story telling it took me to the streets of the middle east to the arabian tales of old, i was there even though reading it on my mobile phone app... timeless.
and a timely reminder of what really matters in life...
I also think this would be a really good short story to read as a bed time story to youngsters too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Condescending and Riddled with Errors, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sufi (Kindle Edition)
I've given up reading at just 20%. This is the first time I've given up on a book in years but I can't read something that clearly wasn't even error-checked in Word. This book needs a lot of work. I also feel I'm being spoken to as if I'm an idiot. Not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sufi (Kindle Edition)
A great read. I couldn't put it down. Would definitely recommend giving if a go especially if you are in to non duality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Sufi story, 24 Jan 2013
This review is from: Sufi (Kindle Edition)
Lovely short story full of wisdom that reminds me Herman Hesse' s Siddhartha and Voltaire' s Candide. The search for truth of the young hero and his adventures in the outside world that translate in a inward spiritual journey. The Sufi wisdom shines throughout the book that includes also a couple of beautiful pieces of poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful journey into the religion of Love, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sufi (Kindle Edition)
This book will delight all those who love Rumi and who enjoy being immersed in a poetic story that keeps the reader turning the pages until the end. The author draws you into a journey across beautiful Eastern lands engaging all of the senses. His enchanting characters are engaging and insightful and his evocative words stir the heart in its longing for union and connection with the Beloved.

This story is also suitable for reading with older children and I would highly recommend it for anyone wishing to introduce their child to Sufi wisdom and the language and experience of divine love. If you want to share it though, be prepared to buy more copies as it is not a book you will want to part with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sufi
Sufi by deja hu
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews