Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars across the plains 1844
An absolutely stunning book.I was hooked! The only regret I have is that it was brief and was too soon over. I was so suprised about the disregard for human life particularly that of the children. It must have been horrifing to be part of that trek. A true, gripping, tale of the trail to the Wild west of America and the terrible death toll.
Published 11 months ago by M. Warner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
to me I know it was a true story, but have to admit I did find it quite boring, I love true history but have read better
Published 7 months ago by mitzi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars across the plains 1844, 1 Oct 2013
By 
M. Warner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely stunning book.I was hooked! The only regret I have is that it was brief and was too soon over. I was so suprised about the disregard for human life particularly that of the children. It must have been horrifing to be part of that trek. A true, gripping, tale of the trail to the Wild west of America and the terrible death toll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American history at it's best, 20 May 2013
By 
Mr. A. Mowatt "humour magnate" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
Forget the gun fight of the ok corral, and all those other famous gun men of the west. this ebook gives a slice of what really happens when people with fortitude take on the near impossible and explore a new way of life many miles from their natural enviroment.
Would I recommend this ebook - you bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, matter of fact, and shocking., 1 Feb 2014
By 
notimetoulouse "Safe never starts - Perfect ... (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
This is only 80 pages long, this is a true story, and an indispensable piece of the history of the old West. Her father, a successful store owner and blacksmith, decided to sell up and take his young family across the West to Oregon, being sold to everyone at the time as the land of wealth and riches.
Buying a Prairie Schooner and oxen, he, his pregnant wife, and family (all under 10) set off on the trip in high hopes of a great future, and what starts of as a great family adventure quickly becomes a dark tale of survival of the fittest.
Catherine attempted to jump on the wagon as it was moving, catching her long dress in an axle,dragging her down under the wheel giving her a compound fracture of the leg. A few weeks later, her father died, leaving their mother to run everything - some weeks later her mother then dies after a short illness, and the young orphans are looked after by the rest of the wagon train until they reach the Whitman Mission station.
The Whitmans serve as missionaries to the Cayuse tribe who live about the settlement. They take in the children as their own, and all goes well, until......
You need to read this yourself to find out exactly what happened to Catherine subsequently, how she coped with what happened around here beggars belief.
Read this short book, marvel in her fortitude, and be happy with what you have at home, these were truly awful times.
I hope this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Across the plains in 1844, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
When reading this honest and excellent narrative you can barely begin to imagine the kind of terror that those poor children had to endure at the hands of the Indians. The scene of massacre which they witnessed would no doubt scar many for life. This young woman stood firm through it all. Compelling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A history report, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
This book is a report of historical events. I am sure it would be of great interest to historians. A lot of facts were recorded, but not well enough to make a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 17 May 2014
By 
J. Leedham (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
Too short not much information,not very cohesive.
I am not really sure what it is meant to be, but I am sure it falls short of the mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
a good book for a quick read plenty of information nice and easy to relax with, read in a day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
to me I know it was a true story, but have to admit I did find it quite boring, I love true history but have read better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 30 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Peter Franklin "Pedro" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
Across The Plains is the true story of a girl who crossed to the West with a wagon train. En route her parents die and after arriving she is witness to a massacre that results in her adopted parents' deaths and nearly her own, after which the natives held her and others hostage.

It is a priceless slice of life at a place beyond the frontier and shows how tenuous the grip on life was. It is written by the woman herself and the style is factual and not in any way embellished. The prevailing thoughts regarding the Indians, religion and such mundane topics as their food, daily chores and schooling all feature.

Don't expect a rip roaring yarn. Look at this as a historical document and when you read it, you will still be just as enthralled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Carr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Plains In 1844 (Kindle Edition)
A good incite to life of some of the pioneers. They endured so much and yet just kept going.
I did enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Across The Plains In 1844
Across The Plains In 1844 by Catherine Sager
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews