Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and understand., 30 Nov 2010
By 
G. Wisden (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another easy to understand book from Mr Harrison. Full of great advice.
Half the battle of growing your own produce is how to store your results.
With Mr Harrison's sound advice, you may never have to take a trip to the
Supermarket for vegetables again!
This book makes an excellent addition to any gardeners bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very handy book, 29 Nov 2010
John covers all the bases for storing produce. All quantities and methods are covered in easy, logical ways that anyone can use. And best of all, he writes in everyone's language - easy, and the book easily fits into your pocket as you work. It's a very handy gift for new gardening friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rollicking Glutbuster, 26 Sep 2010
By 
Wiltshire Bookworm (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Once again John and his wife Val have produced a concise, down to earth guide to growing your own. They're problem solving this time, providing a solution to what to do with all that surplus fruit and vegetables, namely how to best store our plenty for the times of little.

A lot of information is packed into this book, just like packing lots of luscious fruit into a jar. Most of the major techniques are covered from the often forgotten clamping method which can be used for root vegetables and potatoes through to the increasingly popular making of jams, chutneys and other preserves. However it just falls short of being a thoroughly comprehensive guide as vacuum packing and the making of cheeses and curds aren't explained. On the plus side, juicing, cider and perry making and what to do with eggs are added to the more usual storage repetoire.

After a brief health and safety message, there's quick general explanation of how foods go off with advice on how to stop it and where to store. Then each of the preserving techniques is covered in depth, accompanied by a few tempting recipes, to give you some practice. After that comes an examination in turn of our commonly grown fruit, vegetables and herbs (and not forgetting those eggs) with advice on the best storage techniques to use for each one.

I particularly like that it's obvious that this guide is borne out of tried and tested experience and is refreshingly honest. Failures are talked about as well as the sucesses. The reason why this book doesn't get the full 5 stars in my opinion is because it is let down by the layout. The text can be a little dense or in large chunks at times, which means that some of the handy tips get rather lost. For example, I found a great little nugget on how to rescue jam that turns out to be runnier than expected after it's been poured into the jars. I know it's there, but it's rather hard to find again. More subdivision of the chapters, bullet points or a tips and wrinkles section where appropriate would have helped me at least.

I would have also liked more recipes, but I suspect this would have overlapped somewhat with the authors' other very popular book Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves.

Another factor you need to consider when buying this book is whether you have a lot of the information already. If you have any cookbooks which cover making preserves or freezing your produce, then much of this book will be a duplication. However, you may feel that this relatively cheap guide is worth buying in order to close some gaps in your knowledge, or you may like the idea of having one just one book to consult when deciding what to do with your produce.

Overall, it's a good companion to any cookbooks you have for beating those gluts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another useful book, 29 Nov 2010
By 
C. Pickard (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The latest in the series of practical guides for those of us who produce our own food and then wonder what to do with the gluts! After reading the brief introductory chapters, I found the vegetable / fruit / herb index my favourite way into the book. I then referred to the appropriate methods of storage according to my preference.

The pages are easy-clean and the photographs were an added bonus. A good complement to the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good present, 29 Nov 2010
By 
Am Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this would make a good Christmas present for any gardeners, or would-be gardeners, you know. It's glossier than John and Val's previous books but still great value. There's a little bit of everything, including some chutney recipes and at last a simple explanation of why you blanch things before freezing.
It's clearly written, with a bit of humour, so anyone would enjoy dipping in to it on Boxing Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down to Earth., 29 Nov 2010
By 
I have several of John and Vals books (I did have all of them but the dog took a liking to one of them and ate it) and as usual this book is very down to earth and written in such a way that even people like me who are new to this growing malarky can understand. This book has lots of photos and is a really usefull book. Well done John and Val.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for any serious gardener, 17 Sep 2010
By 
J. Trim "The Judge" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must admit to being a fan of John Harrison & his no nonsense, no frills approach to his books. Saying that I am rather pleased that this latest addition to my library written in collaboration with his wife
Val has some very attractive photo's and more colour than is usual. As a horticultural lecturer I am always on the lookout for entertaining as well as instructional material to recommend to my insatiable students. John and Val cover virtually everything veggie that can be preserved, even including a section on eggs. It is the sort of book that inspires you to start preserving and it is one of those books that will become a handy reference work in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Store It Don't Waste It, 6 Oct 2010
By 
L. J. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a useful book. Full of information to help me to get the best value from my home grown produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cook's delight, 1 Dec 2010
John and Val Harrison's latest book is a welcome addition to the bookshelf of a keen gardener and cook. Plenty information packed into the book in a clear and concise way with the addition of delicious recipes to demonstrate the different preserving methods. All this in a glossy paperback format would make it an ideal gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poppi, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wonderful book,an invaluable book for people trying to make money go a little further.
We live in france and everything is very expensive despite what you may read. It is a real battle with hot cold hot cold,so we have to adapt our storage methods. This book looks at every angle many thanks to John and Val for all their hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae2647e0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews