Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars17
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2013
This is a great quirky comedy in the mould of Juno, Extract etc. Hugh Laurie is on top form as the bored middle-aged family man who begins an unlikely relationship with his best friend's teenage daughter, with darkly funny repurcussions for all concerned! Highly recommended 5/5
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
This is another feel good, feel awkward, sometimes humorous indie. The beginning of the film establishes the characters of the six main players. Two families are best friends. They do everything together, but not all is well. David Walling (Hugh Laurie) has been sleeping on the couch. His daughter Vanessa (Alia Shawkat) does some first person narration. Growing up she was best friends with Nina (Leighton Meester) who is part of the second family. Unlike Vanessa, Nina is a free spirit and Vanessa sees her as the antagonist.

Nina breaks up with her boyfriend and comes home for Thanksgiving after two years. The parents hope to fix her up with Toby Walling (Adam Brody), but Nina has suddenly developed a taste for older men, older married men who sleep on the couch. They are quickly discovered and the film goes into a mild disaster mode with crude comments from Nina's mom (Allison Janney) and snarky remarks from the hurt Vanessa.

The film had some funny parts, but for the most part it simply makes you smile at the awkward situation. The characters were well developed. The dialouge was decent. It has appeal and is worth a view, at least once. Leighton Meester did a great job.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity. Some crude sex talk.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
While remaining watchable, The Oranges is an underwhelming movie which wastes the huge talents of Hugh Laurie as a character who is so nice and middle aged man next door that I half expected to see Stuart Little pop up from his pocket.
I expect he was trying to do something different than his irascible quick witted House character and he does this in a competent manner but the whole thing is just an unconvincing light weight look at a mid life crisis. The acting is OK but a disappointing next move for an actor who is so compelling in more extreme roles whether it be George in Blackadder or the creepy spymaster in Spooks.
If Hugh gets tired of playing with playing blues, I hope he finds a great crazy character to get his teeth into as is his forte! Meanwhile this movie is worth a watch but don't expect another masterpiece.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
If you love quirky films you'll love this! Really fun film, cracking one liners, awkward situations that make you cringe and it has seth from the OC... what's not to love?!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Thouroughly enjoyed this film. Hugh Laurie can do no wrong in my eyes, he's amazing.I'd recommend it for good family entertainment.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Disappointing. Characters not developed well, and forgive me for not being cool enough but I just found middle aged Hugh Laurie with a young girl nauseating, especially since it was the daughter of his best friend, the next door neighbour, a girl he would have seen growing up, a girl who went to school with his daughter of the same age. Excuse me while I barf. I also found it very unrealistic that Oliver Platt's character would have accepted the situation so gormlessly and spinelessly. I got the feeling we were supposed to feel sorry for Laurie's character as his marriage inevitably broke up and his unreasonable wife was a little mean to him. Poor Hugh, sniff sniff *world's smallest violin*. Made no use of Catherine Keener. I would have liked to see some scenes with her and Alison Janney, find out how the situation affected their friendship, but alas wasn't to be. A couple of amusing lines and moments mostly from Platt, but ultimately didn't really deliver. Don't spend any real money on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I love both Hugh Laurie and Allison Janney so this was an obvious choice. A nice sympathetic film to watch on a rainy afternoon.
Just a slice of life that most ordinary people occasionally have to deal with. In this case dealt with by true professionals.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
this film was better than i expected. there was humour and drama..a good combination. Hugh Laurie is ok as the dad. i watched it with my teenage daughter and she enjoyed it to. Worth a look people
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Oranges is about two suburban families who are the best of friends until the father of one family has an affair with the daughter of the other. Chaos follows...

First of all, The Oranges has a fantastic cast, all of which play their parts well. However, it is a character piece and to really enjoy these characters, we need to learn a little more about them. It's only an hour and a half and it all seems a little rushed.

The two `lovers' get together pretty quickly and there's little explanation as to why they should fall so head over heels in love with each other that they don't care about destroying both their families.

Some people have described it as a `comedy.' I would say it's definitely more of a drama. I only laughed the once (scene involving an ice bucket), but that doesn't mean that it's a bad film. It's nice to see a film with slightly more controversial subject matter. I'm not sure who the target audience is. Its `lack of moral compass' may offend some more traditional viewers, but hopefully it will still be received positively.

Apart from the whole `rushed feel' of trying to get everything wrapped up neatly in an hour and a half, I felt the ending was a little predictable. You'll probably be able to guess what happens to every major character. But, don't let that stop you enjoying this. It's an odd movie which doesn't really fit anywhere, but with a bit of luck it will find an audience and end up something of a cult hit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Loved the film, very funny but had its serious moments too, great for a Christmas family gathering look forward to sharing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)