Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are interested in Bomber Command, read this!, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
I have read several books about Bomber Command, they have all been good and described the raids and their life in the air. This book gives much more detail about the lives of the bomber crews, in between the raids as well as their operations over occupied Europe. I just haven't put this book down, its so interesting and explains how they felt and lived with the ever close threat of death.
I've always wondered how my uncle must have left waiting to go to war and their feelings during the raids. This book is a must for anyone who is interested in the brave souls of Bomber Command. The 55,563 young men who gave they lives will never be forgotten, by those who recognise the sacrifice they made for our freedom.
This is truly a remarkable story, the time Wing Cdr Rees spent as a POW is a powerful account and one I shall never forget
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Read, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely fabulous book. Following the career of the author through joining the air force, to being shot down on a mission, to his involvement in the "Great Escape" was a fascinating journey. Definately a book for anyone who enjoys personal and factual books covering World War 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and engages the reader in the subject ..., 10 July 2014
Very well written and engages the reader in the subject matter in "couldn't put down" style. Excellent- we even shared the same (now defunct) Cambridge pub!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Read, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Tony Johnson (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
It's always interesting to read of the exploits of another ex-RAF Kriegie (German POW), and I find this book no exception - particularly as they are of an officer who was involved in the preparation of the escape in 1944 from Stalag Luft 111, Sagan, in 1944, who by what can only be considered good fortune, avoided being murdered along with fifty other officers who were soon recaptured. A very good read, and certainly recommended.

Tony Johnson (Author of 'Escape to Freedom')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and compelling read, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
An interesting and enjoyable book the early part of which indicates the way of life for RAF bomber crews quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best war story, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
This is the best war I've ever read. Fantastic story and well told by a very brave man who endured much hardship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
Like all in Bomber command, these men deserve the recognition that was missing until recently! The book is very well written in a down to earth forthright way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book which I couldn't put down, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
If this book had only covered his flying it would have been terrific, but with the added narrative of life in the camp, the tunnels, and the subsequent march to freedom, it was fascinating. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book of a true story, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
I can only say one thing about this book , FANTASTIC.I have not finished it yet ,but cannot put it down and when i do i want to get back to it at once, i have already recomended to to other people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story modestly told, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie in the Dark and Listen: The Remarkable Exploits of a WWII Bomber Pilot and Great Escaper (Kindle Edition)
Ken Rees was one of many unsung heroes of Bomber Command. In his witty yet moving memoir, he tell his story from enlisting to liberation. This is a tale of quiet courage and comradeship, told well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews