Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars36
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2015
A warts and all account of courage in the face of all adversity. From flak to pilot error, from weather to night fighters, this covers it all and yet, there are a few worthwhile giggles. A tale of a young man's adventure and development as both a pilot and a rather immature young man into a capable flyer and gutsy sportsman and father. I can only wonder if I could have walked in his shoes, but I am lucky enough not to have to try. A thoroughly good read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
It's always interesting to read of the exploits of another ex-RAF Kriegie (German POW), and I find this book no exception - particularly as they are of an officer who was involved in the preparation of the escape in 1944 from Stalag Luft 111, Sagan, in 1944, who by what can only be considered good fortune, avoided being murdered along with fifty other officers who were soon recaptured. A very good read, and certainly recommended.

Tony Johnson (Author of 'Escape to Freedom')
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
This is a great book. It is well written, tells the story as it should be told, the author is an incredible chap and went through an incredible period in history and survived. Only 4 stars as the last third of the book seemed to drag for me, lots of information about individuals in the camp with names and rank so obviously a good source of info for anyone looking up details of their past. Still a great book, worth every penny and amazing what happened before the prison camp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I have read quite a few wartime pilot memoirs and this is well written with good detail of the living conditions at the time as well as the danger and excitement of night time bombing.Also amazing accounts of escape attempts from the prisoner of war camps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
An amazing story! Once I'd got used to the writer's style I found the story fascinating. My first ever flight in an aeroplane was as young National serviceman, in a Lancaster, in 1948, but I was familiar with Wellington bombers. Brave men one and all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
If this book had only covered his flying it would have been terrific, but with the added narrative of life in the camp, the tunnels, and the subsequent march to freedom, it was fascinating. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I can only say one thing about this book , FANTASTIC.I have not finished it yet ,but cannot put it down and when i do i want to get back to it at once, i have already recomended to to other people
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2013
Ken Rees was one of many unsung heroes of Bomber Command. In his witty yet moving memoir, he tell his story from enlisting to liberation. This is a tale of quiet courage and comradeship, told well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Recommended - some excellent flying tales well complimented by his recollection of the Great Escape. Well written and detailed. Anyone interested in WWII flying should read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very well written and engages the reader in the subject matter in "couldn't put down" style. Excellent- we even shared the same (now defunct) Cambridge pub!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)