Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have dropped Microsoft years ago
Awesome piece of kit. Would recommend to anyone. I use it mainly as an entertainment hub and to be honest I couldn't ask for more.
Published 9 months ago by mr m h l guyll

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very good computer with very poor interfacing
Have had the iMac for a couple of months now and it is impressive, lovely design with an excellent display and no crashes. Not missed the cd/dvd drive at all but the lack of hdmi and the inclusion of the almost useless thunderbolt are now dissapointing. I did research the purchase but did not at the time realise the limitations.

Update Dec 2013, i am starting...
Published 8 months ago by A. Russell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have dropped Microsoft years ago, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
Awesome piece of kit. Would recommend to anyone. I use it mainly as an entertainment hub and to be honest I couldn't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding machine, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Yasmin Galea (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
This is an outstanding working machine. The screen is absolutely amazing and since the computer is behind the screen and no fiddly buttons of blinking lights you concentrate in what matters most, your work. It's true no more CD drive but hey it clearly states that Apple has removed it. Some customers complain about this move but personally I haven't used a cd-drive for some time. If you want an Imac with a DVD-drive find an older model or buy a standalone dvd drive. Built quality looks and feels great though I personally prefer the keyboard on the MacBook Pro.
Unpacking takes literally a couple of minutes and once you insert the required startup information your done in less than 20 minutes. I'm very satisfied with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully made, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
The usual apple silly game of not really telling you how it works is irritating but I suppose it builds their reputation as having customers who would never admit to finding it difficult!
Does actually work very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple 27" Mac, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
Worth every penny, this is my first Aplle Mac and I am very pleased. The system is super quick and easily capable of running multiple applications without affecting the performance. I am still getting used to some of the differences after using a Windows PC for years, I won't be going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
Best load of money I ever spent. The quality of this machine is class in every way. If your thinking about buying one do not hesitate it is a fantastic machine and looks great.It was also 150 pounds cheaper on Amazon than direct from Apple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best price around..., 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
Excellent product at a super price! Once you turn to Mac you'll never go back! Very pleased, highly recommended, go on treat yourself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Mac User, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
After years been a an IT Professional supporting windows based platforms i have moved to apple as I think windows is a pathetic excuse of an operating system. No matter what spec you through at it, it gets slower and slower and slower over time and seems to be getting bigger and bigger using more HD space

Anyhow enough against Mr Gates and Co. Very expensive, but I don't care as long as it works, and so far it does, and it puts Windows to shame with the speed at which you can open applications. It used to take about 30 seconds to open Photoshop in windows, on My IMac its move like 3. Don't care it has no CD drive. I agree would have been nice but bought an external drive for 15 quid.

So now I am a convert. So long IBM and MS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A zen computer, but more reflective than a Buddhist monk, 6 Aug 2013
By 
C. J. White "(with his son Eddie)" (St Lawrence Bay, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
The world's best desktop. Serenely beautiful as an object, dream OS, fast as all hell, etc etc etc – but errr.. what happened to non-reflective screens?

Mine looks like, well, my room in reverse. I thought the new iMac screens were going matt?

If the previous iMacs were more reflective than this, they must have been hellish to use - except in the dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superlative design spoiled by dubious decisions. Not a keeper for me, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
An all-in-one computer of a few years ago (not a Mac) was responsible for implanting the thought of replacing a more traditional desktop set-up with one. I never did, as its feature-set was less than admirable and its reviews uninspired. Move forward a year or two and the white, plastic-cased iMac drew admiring glances from myself and many others and I considered adding one. Again I deferred but some very recent poor experiences with Windows 8 made me think again. This time I jumped!

The iMac is a brilliant design. Simple in delivery but complex beneath, it includes several modern features that are indicative of good design and high technology. The RAM access cover and its SODIMM cage are both simple and brilliant at the same time and make the individual slots as used on most PCs appear of an earlier generation. The use of USB 3.0 for easy connectivity of whatever peripherals one may need is a feature common to other computers, but most of which also include USB 2.0, something I had long questioned as irrational. Its screen is a joy to behold, although not to the pixel count of the Retina displays on the 15-inch MacBook Pros, it surpasses the performance and quality of almost every screen available for Windows PCs and is a joy to use. There is however an over-wide bezel surrounding all four sides of the screen, which makes the device far wider and taller than you would imagine and it does require a lot of free dedicated space.

One especially pleasing aspect is the simplicity of upgrading its RAM. The RAM compartment cover is part-hidden behind the stand and, when the mains lead is removed, exposes a small release button just above the mains socket. You will need something hard and slim to depress the button, a small coin could work but I used a key-ring fob, and the cover pops up. Pull down the cage by the white levers and there is a guide on the inside of the cover to help orientate the new SODIMMs. Insert them and press home firmly. Re-engage the RAM cage and replace the cover. Connect the lead and it should work. If not, remove the lead and cover and re-seat the SODIMMs. Those considering the 21-inch version need know that the same system is not available and any upgrade must be ordered and undertaken at the time of purchase at an Apple store.

Firewire 800 is included for those who still need it but the new faster Thunderbolt ports are added and are multi-functional being used for external displays and as input ports for some external drives. They can also be used to plug in one or more of several types of adapter that some may need, either short- or long-term. However, the placement of all its ports is inconvenient and too far from an edge to be able to easily feel or see what you are doing without walking around or leaning over or around.

Now considerably thinner than it was, but only at its edges due to the optical drive not being included, those who wish to burn such media or to play it - Blu-ray included - can purchase the Superdrive, although not for Blu-ray, which many claim to be a very poorly executed device when sold as an external unit or otherwise select a third-part version and possibly one with Blu-ray play or record capabilities. The unit is still rather heavy, partly due to its extensive use of aluminium for its body and stand and also for the glass fronting its display.

I beg to disagree with those who claim that the wireless keyboard is the best ever. Its design may be brilliant but its typing experience is less good than with many mid-quality third-party keyboards, yet alone the best of those readily available. I quite liked the wired USB 1.0 keyboards as supplied with the original CRT-based iMacs which easily matches the user experience of the original 80's IBM keyboards which were much admired (and largely hand-built). The mouse is another good design and its compactness is to be applauded. It is quite functional and very usable on most surfaces but less good on wood and laminates.

As I have not used a Mac of any description other than briefly and rarely during the past 10 or more years, and hoped to increase in comfort and familiarity over the next weeks/months. Nevertheless, I feel that that this iMac provides a viable alternative to a desktop system and its screen will better suit detailed work than those of any laptop, with the possible exception of the larger MacBook Pros with Retina screens. However, overall it shares some concepts with a certain brand of domestic cleaning equipment, a good overall design spoiled by poor execution in places.

POSTSCRIPT

Although with considerable PC experience, rather less with Macs but still more than a moderate amount, there were some inconsistencies with the Mac's behaviour during the initial stages that thwarted me. For example, it permitted me to set up one e-mail account but not any more (there are a few), despite repeated efforts and checks on server addresses etc which were all correctly entered; I had previously succeeded at the same task with other people's Macs. There were some things about it that I liked but several others that I detested; it was returned after about 10 days, without serious regret. Value for money (screen excluded) is poor and equal or better performance is available from a Windows PC for considerably less. I remain wholly unconvinced about the 'added value' that comes with Mac ownership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. PRJ Andrews (Gloucestershire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple 27-inch New iMac (Aluminium silver) - ( Intel Core i5 Quad-core 2.9GHz Processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT 660M, OS X Mountain Lion) (Personal Computers)
This is an excellent desktop computer. Well made,looks great and the screen resolution is just stunning. This is my first mac and I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbccd3da4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews