Customer Reviews


354 Reviews
5 star:
 (256)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graffiti on the train
This album marks a departure (no pun intended) from the previous write - record- tour cycle and the extra time taken to develop the sound is very evident. This is a diverse, melodic, discordant, filmic album spanning from vocal led ballad to blues to strings to rock. It is well worth a listen...but take your time and have a little patience it is a grower.
Published 22 months ago by Mike

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
A little uneven and disappointing.

Having thoroughly enjoyed the bulk of their pre-greatest hits work, they seemed to ran out of steam and like many fans, despite a lingering fondness for their best (though always unfairly critically maligned) work and of them as a great live act and a very likeable band, did not feel inspired to buy their latter albums...
Published 5 months ago by New Kid in Town


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graffiti on the train, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: Graffiti on the Train (Audio CD)
This album marks a departure (no pun intended) from the previous write - record- tour cycle and the extra time taken to develop the sound is very evident. This is a diverse, melodic, discordant, filmic album spanning from vocal led ballad to blues to strings to rock. It is well worth a listen...but take your time and have a little patience it is a grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't believe the mr.writer's, this album is quality.... the phonics are back!, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graffiti on the Train (Audio CD)
I have been a fan since hearing the first note of Word Gets Around but to be honest I had been a little disappointed with the recent album releases of late. I think I was almost ready to give up on Jones' song writing abilities, but alas, Graffiti on the Train comes out!

Again, its different! But its not rushed this time. Im humming nearly every song off this album to myself constantly and had the album on loop since receiving it in the post. Each listen brings new depth to the songs. If you're after quick 3 minute rock songs liken to WGA then this isnt for you... but what this is is properly constructed mature songs with a story and a edge. Out of ten songs there are atleast 6 songs that could be singles.

Do not listen to NME! this is quality! Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Mar 2013
This is an excellent album with some strong tracks. Especially like the story telling aspect and the wonderful moving sound of 'Graffiti on the Train', just beautiful. Of course Indian Summer is the reason I initially bought as such a catchy tune that stays in your head all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kelly Jones on top of his game, 11 Mar 2013
By 
P. Morgan (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graffiti on the Train (Audio CD)
For years now I've been of the opinion that Kelly Jones is the best Rock Vocalist the UK has to offer, and on this album he has the chance to prove that. The guitar has been reined in quite a bit, compared to other Stereophonics albums, which gives Kelly the chance to show off his remarkably soulful voice to its best effect. The title track is an instant classic, and the bluesy ballad "Been Caught Cheating" is another stunner. If, like me, you've generally preferred the band's mellower tunes, then you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Graffiti on the Train (Audio CD)
A little uneven and disappointing.

Having thoroughly enjoyed the bulk of their pre-greatest hits work, they seemed to ran out of steam and like many fans, despite a lingering fondness for their best (though always unfairly critically maligned) work and of them as a great live act and a very likeable band, did not feel inspired to buy their latter albums.

Having seen such good reviews for this album, my hopes were high, but I have to say - I am a little disappointed. Some tracks work better than others and some almost work ('In a moment' and 'Been caught cheating' stand out to me as album highlights), but this album lacks a certain sparkle which made their best work so likeable, no matter what those darn critics said. There is nothing quite so convincingly bluesy as 'Maybe tomorrow' or rousing as 'Bartender and the thief' or rocking as anything on the 'Sex, language, violence, other' album or as moving and soul searching as 'Traffic' or sarcastically but infectiously cheery as 'Have a nice day' - get the picture?

Not a bad album, but nothing to rival them at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graffiti on the Train, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: Graffiti on the Train (Audio CD)
I loved this album from the first time I heard it. I am a huge fan, so I know my opinion is biased, but I believe this is a great piece of work by the band. It has something for all emotions, it rocks, it soothes, there are happy tunes and sad, dark ones, but truly wonderful in all. Great bass lines, superb guitar solos, the drumming (by Javier Weyler) is immense, and of course Kelly Jones vocals. For me, a stunning album. Stereophonics have their haters, but don't listen to them, make up your own mind. I have had the priviledge of hearing these tracks live now too, and they sound fantastic! Five stars from me, well deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 Mar 2013
A great addition to Stereophonics ever growing back cataloge. Indian Summer, Graffiti on the Train and We Share the Same Sun are stand outs and sure the be singles at some point! BUY BUY BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graffiti on the Train (Audio CD)
I thought the some songs were good but as an album it wasn't great. But on saying that i do enjoy putting the album on and giving it a loud bash out lol.

Thanks for some more good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graffiti on the Train, 8 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Graffiti on the Train (Audio CD)
Quite simply their best album yet, how some critics can refer to this album as typical Stereophonics meat and potatoes pub rock is mind boggling. Every song is incredibly strong, but stand out moments are Violins and Tambourines, Graffiti on the Train, the superbly odd yet catchy zombie soundtrack esque In A Moment, all of which are amongst their best stuff and feature diversity by the bucket load. Catacombs is an opportunity for them to flex their guitar muscles, Take Me is beautiful, haunting and odd, and the end minute or so of Roll the Dice is superb, comparisons by reviewers to any Muse track with strings and rolling drums are completely lazy, it really isn't anything like Muse, but is brilliant despite this. The only track that I would give four stars is Caught Cheating, but only because I personally didn't much like You Gotta go There. Oh and Indian Summer is one of their best singles for a while, not sure why people are not liking it to be honest. Overall their most impressive album since Sex. Violence which is one of my all time favourite CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!!!!, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graffiti on the Train (Audio CD)
Definately their best album yet. Especially in the sense that it is very matured sound. Still plenty of the Old Stereophonics for old fans, with well written, meaningful lyrics...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Graffiti on the Train
Graffiti on the Train by Stereophonics (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews