Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We want groove
A rare piece of new music that takes you back to the seventies and Jeff Beck 'Starcycle' style of music. If you only like Bonomassa blues stuff you may want to check it out first before buying.
Published 22 months ago by Belper Kev

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's different!
Like many of the other reviewers I have always rated Joe's playing and choice of material highly. This time I have found it very difficult assess. Firstly, I am sure that the playing and general musicianship of all those involved on this CD is top notch however they are playing material which is in a 70's funk style - a style I do not like. Having played the CD at home...
Published 13 months ago by Keith Poole


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's different!, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Keith Poole "Still rockin'" (Broadstairs, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Want Groove (Audio CD)
Like many of the other reviewers I have always rated Joe's playing and choice of material highly. This time I have found it very difficult assess. Firstly, I am sure that the playing and general musicianship of all those involved on this CD is top notch however they are playing material which is in a 70's funk style - a style I do not like. Having played the CD at home it did nothing for me. I have since played it in the car where I was a captive audience for an hour or so but with the same results. I cannot even think of anyone to give it to.

I do not think that Joe shines very well with his playing as it is not particularly the dominant instrument. I thought that the bass playing, where it was the dominant was interesting and the drumming was crisp and quite inventive considering the style of music. The main sound seems to be produced by keys of some sort.

I don't like giving this only 2 stars as it is obviously not the style of music for me and therefore I am perhaps unqualified to judge it. I prefer Joe playing with any of his other rock/blues bands showing me what a virtuoso he really is on his chosen instrument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We want groove, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Want Groove [VINYL] (Vinyl)
A rare piece of new music that takes you back to the seventies and Jeff Beck 'Starcycle' style of music. If you only like Bonomassa blues stuff you may want to check it out first before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 20 April 2013
By 
D. Daly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Want Groove [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great album and the vinyl sounds really nice as well. Its 2 heavy grade LPs that have plenty of bass and good fidelity sounds. If you like 70's jazz-funk-groove then you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonamassa Again, 28 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: We Want Groove (Audio CD)
Joe's no slouch - that is self-evident with his regular releases, guest appearances and live performances - but what impresses above and beyond this is the sustained quality of what he does. The instrumentals on this album will rock your funky socks off, or as with fifth track 'We Want Grooves', simply soothe and soothe and soothe. It is almost unbearable, the precocious talent Bonamassa exudes [he is such a key player here]. Recorded live over ten funked-out, 70s/80s time-warped days, the collective also features Tal Bergman [drums and production and great opening solo on 'Animal Work'], Ron DeJesus [guitar], Mike Merritt [bass], and Renato Neto [exquisite keyboards]. Put on your shiny suit, push the sleeves up to just below the elbows, and funk the candy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Want Groove (Audio CD)
We all know that Joe can do Blues pretty well,as well as Blues Rock with Black Country Communion. Now he's shown us another string to his multi-talented bow: jazz/blues/funk just like John Mayall did back in 1972. I recommend you watch the DVD first, as it gives you a feel for the music as well as explaining the concept behind the album.Lock 5 massive musical egos in a studio for a few days, let them jam, and see what comes out.It could be a flop, but the chemistry between them makes it a massive success.As Joe puts it, it's a throwback to the 70's (Think Isaac Hayes/ Shaft ).
The band comprises Joe and Ron DeJesus on guitars,Renato Neto on keyboards,Mike Merritt on bass, and Tal Bergman on drums,who also produces the CD and DVD. The DVD also includes the Official Music video of the opening track.The DVD has a very amateur feel to it, which adds to it's appeal.
The C.D comprises 9 instrumental tracks, all between 6 and 10 minutes long.I recommend you listen to it on headphones to appreciate it in it's full multi-textural glory. The first two tracks come out all guns blazing,then the next track pulls the tempo right down,starting with an ethereal space-traveller mood,which develops into another jam.The title track gives everyone a chance to shine.It's the sort of track which could be indefinitely extended in a live gig.Track 5 starts reflectively before establishing a repetitive bass riff over which everyone gets a chance.This would be ideal to de-stress after a bad day at work. Track 6 (Animal/Work) is the drummer's spotlight (Animal=Muppet drummer),with some excellent guitar work from Joe.Track 7 can best be described as a guitar-duel between Joe and Ron. Track 8 is very Isaac Hayes influenced.After a roller-coaster ride we are brought back down to earth by the final track, which is wind-down music.I don't get why it's called New York Song,unless its New York in the middle of a power-cut. My only complaint is that track 9 stops after 6 minutes, with 4 minutes of silence,before resuming, with another 6 minutes of music Worth waiting for?- not really. Why do they do that?
Hopefully this will appeal to a younger audience who will then turn onto the blues.I can't wait for Joe's next offering- Joe Bonamassa does reggae? Worth the money? Absolutely, unless you're a blues purist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeeeeah!, 30 Jan. 2013
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Want Groove (Audio CD)
Yes! This album is just what I have been waiting for. For years I've wanted to make a retro 70's porno, but there has been a paucity of new music to provide the soundtrack. Thankfully, now I have this album, I can grow my moustache, go out and buy some brown corduroy flares and cast the buxom, permed leading lady. I have my old camcorder, I've hidden all the lady shaves and I think we're all ready to go! With the exception of the track with the drum solo (Animal/Work), which would probably confuse and frighten the "actors", there is a great mix of funky sounds, schmoozy grooves and classy instrumental lounge cuts, perfect for every "getting it on" mood. I'm thinking we should probably avoid the schoolgirl scenario, given the current public mood, but the bored housewife/plumber scenario is always a classic. What do you think?

This is an excellent album, by the way. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great funk record, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Want Groove [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a great vinyl record. It is nicely pressed on 2 LPs, and sounds great, really punchy and crisp. The funky grooves sound great on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Band, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Want Groove (Audio CD)
I bought this as a result of being impressed with one of the tracks, played on Radio 2. I think it's the best track on the album, but they're all good. I've not given it 5 stars because though I will listen to it again many times, I wouldn't be too deflated if I didn't hear it ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 July 2013
By 
Mr. Mark Mcgillivray (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We Want Groove (Audio CD)
Fabulous album from a collection of great musicians who don't need to do this for the money - obviously a lot of respect for the music and some great playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funk at it's best, 7 Jun. 2013
This review is from: We Want Groove (Audio CD)
Bonamassa's versatility from his own Blues music to Rock with Black Country Communion, his covers of Soul and standard classics with Beth Hart, and now Funk with Rock Candy funk Party put him up there with the greats. Can't wait to see him live in September.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We Want Groove
We Want Groove by Joe Bonamassa (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews