Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading
Great twists, one of only a few books within its genre that generates and maintains suspense throughout. The author allows just enough details scattered within the narration to let you feel like the detective too, and review the evidence alongside the heroin of the story; Lizzy Gardner.
Having said that the it never feels predictable or, which so often becomes the...
Published 18 months ago by Rita Bryant

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing thriller
Having read the first two books, l felt l had to give this one a read too. it's just a little bit too disturbing, nightmare stuff in fact!
I
l also found Lizzy's actions were not quite credible either, after all she had been through in the past, would she really have walked into the dangers and horrors that she did?
nonetheless it was a riveting novel, and...
Published 4 months ago by 1524lily


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 26 Jun 2013
This review is from: A Dark Mind (Lizzy Gardner Series, Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Great twists, one of only a few books within its genre that generates and maintains suspense throughout. The author allows just enough details scattered within the narration to let you feel like the detective too, and review the evidence alongside the heroin of the story; Lizzy Gardner.
Having said that the it never feels predictable or, which so often becomes the case when trying to be unpredictable and exciting in story telling, lose plausibility or credibility.
Really enjoyed the format of seemingly separate cases all eventually falling into place.

L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Do All The Lunatics In The World Go After You?, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read all three of the Lizzy Gardner books. I was not overly enthusiastic about the first. The characters did not really ring true to me and the story line felt rather farfetched but for all that it was not a bad read. However, by the time I got to A Dark Mind, these reservations had been completely put to one side and meeting this rather unlikely cast of characters for the third time felt like putting on an old and familiar article of clothing. Having said that, this is a standalone book in that you do not have to have read the preceding books to make sense of it, although it does help to know the back ground to Lizzy and her friends and to understand the references to what went before.

You have to say that Lizzy is nothing if not unlucky. In real life serial killers are a rare breed. However, not so in fiction and particularly in Lizzy Gardner's life where she seems to run into one at every turn. As Brittany, her niece says to her at one point `Why do all the lunatics in the world go after you?' This is a question which the reader will be asking themselves too! This time around the killer is a character known as the Lovebird Killer, who has a real downer on couples who are obviously in love and who specialises in kidnapping and torturing them.

Hayley, Lizzy's assistant, has been released from goal after assaulting her abuser in the last book in a way which will have made male readers wince. She teams up with Jessica, the other helper, and they both manage to behave in a quite reckless fashion, not just in the serial killer case, but in other cases the team have on their books. Meanwhile Jared, Lizzy's Beau, is also working on the Lovebird Killer case and gets caught up in the action.

This is a fast moving and a fun read, despite the rather dark overtones. There is little doubt that, in general, and despite the perils along the way, things are going to work out out well although there was a nasty little twist in the tail of this one. Quite a light read which I got through in a couple of days and which most readers will find entertaining provided they can suspend disbelief. The next Lizzy tale will certainly be on my reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it, Lizzy? Let's get busy., 9 Jun 2013
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Private Investigator Lizzy Gardner lives with her FBI boyfriend Jared Shayne and is paranoid about a serial killer who kidnapped her years before, even though he is now dead. Working on a compensation case for a couple, she is perturbed to hear that the wife has been murdered and the husband is now under arrest on suspicion of homicide. (Apparently, these things frequently happen in America.) Meanwhile, her beau is working an ongoing case involving another serial killer, dubbed the Lovebird Killer on account of him targeting happy couples. Oh, and teenager, Hayley, recently released from a Juvenile Correction Centre for cutting off a man's willy (he had it sown back on) and burning `Child Rapist' onto his chest, is living in her house under her supervision.

With Gardner's assistant Jessica on stakeout duty elsewhere, a man breaks into what he thinks is her empty house. Confronted by a knife wielding Hayley he manages to escape, but the trio begin to wonder whether there's a connection between the unsuccessful burglary, this serial killer and the Estate Agent, a man she believes to be innocent.

This is the third book to involve Lizzy Gardner and whilst I haven't read the pervious offerings, you won't have to either, as the narrative doesn't rely on what went before. The strongest character, and star of the story, is Hayley, a streetwise teen who seems to know far more than she should and continually orders around put upon Jessica, who has more on her plate when she falls for a `beyond handsome' builder whilst watching someone for a client. The only surprise will be if you don't guess what's going on with this little side issue.

Though I'm not usually a fan of novels that flit between time periods, this is done here in a sparing manner and does set the scene at the very start. The rest is chronological, with dates and locations given so the reader knows where everyone is. The perpetrator is also given his own chapters and some do paint a rather vivid picture of something you wouldn't want to see. Though the culmination is run-of-the-mill stuff (but still exciting nonetheless), the final chapter - and each one is preceded by a quote from a real serial killer, which, though disturbing, makes it scary to realise there are people out there who enjoy doing such things - is actually quite sad and something I didn't envisage. Mind you, it means we know what will be part of the fourth book.

Moreover, that is the sign of a decent premise and product. Okay, the serial killer is the mainstay of crime and thrillers (as is the protagonist having their own demons to excise) but it's the way the background and plot weave in and out that makes something readable or otherwise. This one had me wondering who was behind all these gruesome murders. That the answer is staring straight at you when you think it might be someone else makes it even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark mind, 29 Jun 2013
This review is from: A Dark Mind (Lizzy Gardner Series, Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Great suspense book which you will find hard to put down once you start reading. The plot is brilliant and really keeps you guessing about the identity of the killer, I changed my mind constantly through out book as to who the killer was. Give this book a read an see if you can see the twists and turns coming, I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing thriller, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (Lizzy Gardner Series, Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the first two books, l felt l had to give this one a read too. it's just a little bit too disturbing, nightmare stuff in fact!
I
l also found Lizzy's actions were not quite credible either, after all she had been through in the past, would she really have walked into the dangers and horrors that she did?
nonetheless it was a riveting novel, and the developing friendship between Hayley and Jessica wer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced excellent thriller., 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (Lizzy Gardner Series, Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Once again T.R. Ragan reaches the mark. A fast paced thriller and a sweet romance twist thrown in; what's not to love? I found the quotes very interesting at the beginning of each chapter as they helped me to understand how a serial killer views themselves. I liked the way it all tied up and T.R. Ragan didn't leave a single loose end as some thrillers have. The characters behaved in natural ways I almost felt like I was there while the events unfolded. The most interesting part was near the climax at the end when even the quotes would put fear in your heart at some of the colder more calculating ones. There was never a dull moment in this book. I felt like I physically was unable to put it down. The story was unique and didn't remind me of anything. NOTE: This book is a bit gruesome so if you dislike gore I recommend you don't read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K.p., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (Lizzy Gardner Series, Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely riveting, lots of twists and turns in this tense and exciting storyline. Cannot wait to read another one of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BOOK 3, 29 Nov 2014
This review is from: A Dark Mind (Lizzy Gardner Series, Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is the 3rd book in the series and continues the story of the progress of Hayley and Lizzy who are both trying to move on from events in their past. Another psychological thriller introducing another killer with a 'dark mind'. I found the bits about Rochelle a bit confusing but overall a very good read with twists and turns which had me reading - just one more chapter....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (Lizzy Gardner Series, Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
As a fan of James Patterson and Tess Gerritsen I was drawn to these books. They are easy to read and fast moving, really like the characters that have featured throughout the 3 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lizzy Gardner.....on the tale of a serial killer....., 22 May 2014
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed this read...Lizzy Gardner is an interesting character and the story is a good one! She is on the tail of a serial killer who is attacking couples in Sacramento ......but does he find her to be a bit too interesting !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews