Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading
Great twists, one of only a few books within its genre that generates and maintains suspense throughout. The author allows just enough details scattered within the narration to let you feel like the detective too, and review the evidence alongside the heroin of the story; Lizzy Gardner.
Having said that the it never feels predictable or, which so often becomes the...
Published 9 months ago by Rita Bryant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book review
a good title for a good read thrills along the way look forward to reading another in the Lizzy Gardner Series
Published 3 months ago by Keith Lawrence Haley


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 26 Jun 2013
This review is from: A Dark Mind (The Lizzy Gardner Series #3) (Kindle Edition)
Great twists, one of only a few books within its genre that generates and maintains suspense throughout. The author allows just enough details scattered within the narration to let you feel like the detective too, and review the evidence alongside the heroin of the story; Lizzy Gardner.
Having said that the it never feels predictable or, which so often becomes the case when trying to be unpredictable and exciting in story telling, lose plausibility or credibility.
Really enjoyed the format of seemingly separate cases all eventually falling into place.

L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it, Lizzy? Let's get busy., 9 Jun 2013
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Private Investigator Lizzy Gardner lives with her FBI boyfriend Jared Shayne and is paranoid about a serial killer who kidnapped her years before, even though he is now dead. Working on a compensation case for a couple, she is perturbed to hear that the wife has been murdered and the husband is now under arrest on suspicion of homicide. (Apparently, these things frequently happen in America.) Meanwhile, her beau is working an ongoing case involving another serial killer, dubbed the Lovebird Killer on account of him targeting happy couples. Oh, and teenager, Hayley, recently released from a Juvenile Correction Centre for cutting off a man's willy (he had it sown back on) and burning `Child Rapist' onto his chest, is living in her house under her supervision.

With Gardner's assistant Jessica on stakeout duty elsewhere, a man breaks into what he thinks is her empty house. Confronted by a knife wielding Hayley he manages to escape, but the trio begin to wonder whether there's a connection between the unsuccessful burglary, this serial killer and the Estate Agent, a man she believes to be innocent.

This is the third book to involve Lizzy Gardner and whilst I haven't read the pervious offerings, you won't have to either, as the narrative doesn't rely on what went before. The strongest character, and star of the story, is Hayley, a streetwise teen who seems to know far more than she should and continually orders around put upon Jessica, who has more on her plate when she falls for a `beyond handsome' builder whilst watching someone for a client. The only surprise will be if you don't guess what's going on with this little side issue.

Though I'm not usually a fan of novels that flit between time periods, this is done here in a sparing manner and does set the scene at the very start. The rest is chronological, with dates and locations given so the reader knows where everyone is. The perpetrator is also given his own chapters and some do paint a rather vivid picture of something you wouldn't want to see. Though the culmination is run-of-the-mill stuff (but still exciting nonetheless), the final chapter - and each one is preceded by a quote from a real serial killer, which, though disturbing, makes it scary to realise there are people out there who enjoy doing such things - is actually quite sad and something I didn't envisage. Mind you, it means we know what will be part of the fourth book.

Moreover, that is the sign of a decent premise and product. Okay, the serial killer is the mainstay of crime and thrillers (as is the protagonist having their own demons to excise) but it's the way the background and plot weave in and out that makes something readable or otherwise. This one had me wondering who was behind all these gruesome murders. That the answer is staring straight at you when you think it might be someone else makes it even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark mind, 29 Jun 2013
This review is from: A Dark Mind (The Lizzy Gardner Series #3) (Kindle Edition)
Great suspense book which you will find hard to put down once you start reading. The plot is brilliant and really keeps you guessing about the identity of the killer, I changed my mind constantly through out book as to who the killer was. Give this book a read an see if you can see the twists and turns coming, I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Do All The Lunatics In The World Go After You?, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read all three of the Lizzy Gardner books. I was not overly enthusiastic about the first. The characters did not really ring true to me and the story line felt rather farfetched but for all that it was not a bad read. However, by the time I got to A Dark Mind, these reservations had been completely put to one side and meeting this rather unlikely cast of characters for the third time felt like putting on an old and familiar article of clothing. Having said that, this is a standalone book in that you do not have to have read the preceding books to make sense of it, although it does help to know the back ground to Lizzy and her friends and to understand the references to what went before.

You have to say that Lizzy is nothing if not unlucky. In real life serial killers are a rare breed. However, not so in fiction and particularly in Lizzy Gardner's life where she seems to run into one at every turn. As Brittany, her niece says to her at one point `Why do all the lunatics in the world go after you?' This is a question which the reader will be asking themselves too! This time around the killer is a character known as the Lovebird Killer, who has a real downer on couples who are obviously in love and who specialises in kidnapping and torturing them.

Hayley, Lizzy's assistant, has been released from goal after assaulting her abuser in the last book in a way which will have made male readers wince. She teams up with Jessica, the other helper, and they both manage to behave in a quite reckless fashion, not just in the serial killer case, but in other cases the team have on their books. Meanwhile Jared, Lizzy's Beau, is also working on the Lovebird Killer case and gets caught up in the action.

This is a fast moving and a fun read, despite the rather dark overtones. There is little doubt that, in general, and despite the perils along the way, things are going to work out out well although there was a nasty little twist in the tail of this one. Quite a light read which I got through in a couple of days and which most readers will find entertaining provided they can suspend disbelief. The next Lizzy tale will certainly be on my reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lizzy gardener series, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (The Lizzy Gardner Series #3) (Kindle Edition)
Great book ,could not wait to finish it,, as suspense was killing me ,going to buy the other books in series just bought abducted ..if not read any of the Lizzy Gardner series yet I suggest you buy them in order TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars the trilogy, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (The Lizzy Gardner Series #3) (Kindle Edition)
Lizy gardner Trilogy - free download
Abducted.
The first book i found interesting though hard to keep track on everything that was happening. There were too many story lines on the go. With Lizzy's sister Cathy, niece Brittany, Jessica, Hayley and Jared...........

Dead weight.
Had forgotten the first book and soldiered on with this one. Found this harder to keep track on all the story lines and couldnt work out the point of it at all. Would have assisted if a precise were appended at the beginning.

A dark mind.
Not to be beaten, i would get this one out of the way. Hard work!!! If i had to put book down, found it very difficult to carry on without going back over several pages to see what was happening and with whom. Tommy's role in this book is a mystery. What i found hardest was separating all the different aspects of this book. Was glad to get to the end, disappointing as it was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (The Lizzy Gardner Series #3) (Kindle Edition)
good read.. better than the second book..definitely worth a read of some of the authors other books... recommend reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remind me never to go to Sacramento, 28 Mar 2014
By 
KM Byrne (Huddersfield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (The Lizzy Gardner Series #3) (Kindle Edition)
I have always been led to believe that New York and LA were the cities to avoid but Sacramento belongs up there with them.
I know the story is about Lizzy Gardener but it is Hayley Hanson I want to know more about. Especially what happens to her now. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really dark but brilliant, 25 Mar 2014
By 
xenofan "xenofan" (Kansas, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wow, a really dark story! Lizzy Gardner is a PI, the book states ‘A Lizzy Gardner Novel'. But I have not ready any others with this character in, I am now on the search for one!!! It did not surprise me somewhat that if a foster couple, who just happen to embalm people, choose to home a young, troubled child disaster may be the consequence. The story involves loving couple being kidnapped, tortured in the most heinous ways and then killed or released. I really did have to put the book down a couple of times. A really gifted writer who made my stomach churn, an excellent read and as I wrote earlier I am on the search for any more Lizzy Garner novels or anything else written by TR Ragan, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thrilling, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dark Mind (The Lizzy Gardner Series #3) (Kindle Edition)
Lots of suspense and unpredictable. keeps you on the edge of your seat and guessing until the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa6bbeb8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews