Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you what novels can not
I have found this to be an amazing book. It contains the lives of real women who went from living in unbelievable luxury (or not in the case of some - grand homes and titles did not automatically mean luxury) to how they played their parts in the war, often in menial, dirty, usually risky if not downright dangerous jobs. All because their fathers, brothers and all the...
Published on 5 Jan 2007 by Gentle Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very repetitive
Nothing particularly interesting or stimulating. Might be all right for a younger person who knows nothing about the those times but not for anyone who came through those times-
Published 16 months ago by W. J. Murdoch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you what novels can not, 5 Jan 2007
I have found this to be an amazing book. It contains the lives of real women who went from living in unbelievable luxury (or not in the case of some - grand homes and titles did not automatically mean luxury) to how they played their parts in the war, often in menial, dirty, usually risky if not downright dangerous jobs. All because their fathers, brothers and all the young men they knew were doing their bit - so the girls were going to make damned sure they did their bit too. Diaries and interviews are quoted - this book goes from childhoods through to the Debs seasons, call up (more usually volunteering), the various jobs they did; all the while trying to keep in touch with their friends and boyfriends. Terribly innocent about sex, lesbianism, childbirth, cooking, they went from filthy jobs to eating at the Ritz - often still in uniform or overalls. To say that I am impressed by what they did is a total understatement. I really don't know whether we would meet our country's need in such a way today.

This book, because it calls on the experiences of so many young women, gives an impression of living through the war years in a way I've never come across before. The amount of detail in it is impressive, and even though it is based on the experiences of upper-class young women, there is a huge amount of general social history here. Totally fascinating. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real insight into a lost generation, 21 Aug 2009
What a fascinating read this is. I was impressed by the courage, ingenuity and adventurousness of these women who had no training for the world in which they suddenly found themselves.

Their tales are gently funny, often sad and always inspirational, and give a real insight into a lifestyle and era that have been lost forever.

A must-have for any woman's bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about British History, 18 Sep 2005
By 
M. E. Newell (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debs at War: 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
"Debs at War" by Anne De Courcy was great book. Ms. De Courcy tells the truth stories about debutantes, who when war came their whole lives changed. These young women many who had never been away from home, now found themselves doing jobs that they could not had thought they could do.
This was a great book about women and how the war changed a whole generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 8 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished this book and wish there were more to read. This book isnt about the life of a Deb, but rather what the war was like according to Debs. Peppered with wonderful anecdotes from Debs who Anne de Courcy has interviewed (one who was terrified of one day having to make a cup of tea as he had heard it was awfully complicated) the book explains what it was like to come from a world of privilege and strict social norms and suddenly find yourself part of the war effort. And it also explains why so many of them loved their time during the war. I had heard similar stories from my family so was fascinated to read more. As always, Anne de Courcy writes in a way that is so easy and enjoyable to read that - as I said in my review for her other excellent book, the Last Season - I only wish my school history teacher had managed to make history so fascinating - then perhaps I wouldn't have dropped it as a subject quite so early on!
I'm also incredibly grateful to her for having taken the time to record so many stories from people (women) who are sadly part of an ever diminishing generation but from whom we have so much to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - absolutely fascinating., 21 April 2011
I bought this book about a year ago, after I came across a similar book in the library, then I found this at a well-known bookshop and thought it would be an interesting read.

Well, I was right. From first glance, you think it will be either a "Women at War" book with lots of boring historical information and not much else or a "Debs" book with a passing gloss over their "war efforts".

How refreshing to see that not only were the Debs' lives before the War and their coming out seasons detailed in the first few chapters but then also their War efforts gone into. You could literally see the transformations of these young women, most of whom, had been taught to shoot or fish when they were young doing nothing but weren't expected to amount to much when older, beyond marriage and raising a family. So see their lives blossom into much needed and worthwhile war work which these women enjoyed, relished, looked forward to and missed when it ended really was amazing. Anne De Courcy really covered her chapters well and included just the right snippets/detail to make the book a fascinating page-turner.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Debs at War by Anne de Courcy, 15 Nov 2010
This was an interesting and enjoyable book. It certainly helped me to understand the role of all women during the Second World War, not just that of debs. There were many amusing anecdotes, too. It wasa relatively easy read, not too heavy, with some good illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debs at war, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a gem of a book. I was looking for a book for an absorbing holiday read and found this fitted the bill really well. Beautifully written about a subject which is so interesting. It was an absorbing collection of personal accounts of personal lives and a history lesson rolled int one. I frequently read parts of it out loud to my husband as it was too interesting and amusing in places to keep to myself. I found it very enlightening around the social history of this country Definitely a book to give as a gift as it is totally absorbing and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne does it again - an intriguing subject nicely explored, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debs at War: 1939-1945 (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating insight into a lost world of high society. Anne de Courcy has such a great narrative style, making this an easy read, packed with reminiscences from those stalwart ladies who made the most of their experiences. Loved the one about the Wren gaining a plum job just because her father shared a train journey with an Admiral and told him his daughter was bored with her current role. Reccomend this book to social historians everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Debs at War - gift to elderly lady, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave it to another as a present. They enjoyed the book as it was part of an era they grew up..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Sa Oram (Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debs at War: 1939-1945 (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this insight into a world now passed. It also gave an insight into the lives of women from a select group in society, and the contributions they made to the war effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Debs at War: 1939-1945
Debs at War: 1939-1945 by Anne de Courcy
6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews