Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trouble in Prior's Ford
I recently purchased the 3 books in the Prior's Ford series and enjoyed them tremendously... couldn't put them down. They are just perfect for an easy-read and transport the reader to a wonderful village life. As I live in a town it's the closest I can get to village life (at the moment). Can't wait for book number 4.Trouble in Prior's Ford (Priors Ford 3)Drama Comes to...
Published on 2 Jan 2010 by Julie from Ashford, Middlesex

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back among too many friends?
This is the third story of Prior's Ford and not as good as the last two in my opinion. The main protagonists which are in previous novels, the Ralston-Kerr's the owners of the 'big house' Linn Hall are still trying to restore the house and grounds to its former glory. Though they are not a major part of the story for me this time round, disappointingly.

Jenny,...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Jo D'Arcy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trouble in Prior's Ford, 2 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently purchased the 3 books in the Prior's Ford series and enjoyed them tremendously... couldn't put them down. They are just perfect for an easy-read and transport the reader to a wonderful village life. As I live in a town it's the closest I can get to village life (at the moment). Can't wait for book number 4.Trouble in Prior's Ford (Priors Ford 3)Drama Comes to Prior's Ford (Prior's Ford 2)Secrets in Priors Ford: A village full of intrigue, scandal and shocking revelations...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back among too many friends?, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third story of Prior's Ford and not as good as the last two in my opinion. The main protagonists which are in previous novels, the Ralston-Kerr's the owners of the 'big house' Linn Hall are still trying to restore the house and grounds to its former glory. Though they are not a major part of the story for me this time round, disappointingly.

Jenny, Ingrid and Helen the three friends who help at the Gift Horse are all there and the concentration is on Jenny as she tries to deal with Maggie her stepdaughter who has come back into her life after 13 years, as well as her husband being diagnosed with cancer. In steps Naomi the local vicar, who is a larger than life character and actually very inspiring in her help she gives Maggie and the support to Jenny and her family.

Ewan and Victor McNair are still battling it out over the family farm, and as Victor moves further and further away turning into a 'townie' and creating a small town in his field. (Is this where the fourth book is going to go?) His brother becomes even more determined to maintain the traditions and the farm, with some modernity thrown in.

The story centres on the Scarecrow festival which the local head teacher decides to create for the village and gets all the children involved and the local community follow with variations of scarecrows across the whole village, from Long John Silver to Florence Nightingale. Sadly there is always someone who wants to spoil the village life, and some youngsters who have a connection with Maggie, seem to be intent on upsetting the scarecrows and their owners. Certain sections of the village, those that live in the almshouses come together and manage to do a bit of their own scaring.

You do not have to have read the previous two novels, as the beginning of this book covers a lot of the background, quickly. However, I think this then spoils the rest of the book, the novel jumps from character to character hardly giving any one of them a strong part and I actually found myself having to refer back to the list of characters at the front to remember who was who and what their role in the village was. For example Clarissa is concentrated on in the beginning and I thought there was going to be more made of her relationship with Alistair, but this is just hinted at in the book and then she seems to reappear randomly without any purpose to the story.

The amount of characters has weakened the plot line and I feel that Houston has tried to make sure that all the known characters from the previous two books are mentioned, but without little thought for the storyline. I will buy the next book in the series, only for two reasons, the character that stands out for me - Naomi the Jamaican vicar and the goings on at Linn Hall with the Ralston-Kerr's and their helpers and workers. I wait with apprehension and hope more is given to the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trouble in Prior's Ford, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Petrova (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
Enjoyable continuation of the series. Need to have read the previous two to keep up with the references although there are some reminders. Good to have a who's who list a the beginning. I'll be buying the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Rose (Epsom England) - See all my reviews
Unputdownable. The whole series is excellent. Can't wait for the next one. So easy to read and the story is believable. Pace is good and characateris are that one can identify with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely relaxing read, really enjoying the characters as they grow, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble In Prior's Ford: Number 3 in series (Kindle Edition)
I love Evelyn Hood's writing, and the characters are developing so well with great story-lines of their own.
Lots of pathos too....
Cannot wait to down load next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble In Prior's Ford: Number 3 in series (Kindle Edition)
Feels like making new friends - who needs facebook! In a lovely setting. Really enjoyed it = a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a little like reading the soaps on the T, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble In Prior's Ford: Number 3 in series (Kindle Edition)
As a one off read or to follow the series an all round interesting read. It's a little like reading the soaps on the T.V. Not too serious but believable enough to draw you in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the continuing saga of Prior's Ford, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble In Prior's Ford: Number 3 in series (Kindle Edition)
as with all the others most enjoyable. I think I made my point in a previous review of this author. Are there any more in the pipeline?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble In Prior's Ford: Number 3 in series (Kindle Edition)
good book not by an author I would normally pick but an enjoyable read all the same. I would red more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews