Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stuff Of Dreams
The magical quality of this album depends upon the sublime interaction between Madeleine's voice, Vince Mendoza's string arrangements and a tight band of Hammond B3, piano, pedal steel, bass and drums. Of course it helps that the songs are among the very best in the country canon but haven't fallen prey to over exposure through endless cover versions.

The...
Published 15 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All a bit predictable but with a couple of real gems...
Madeleine appears in May at the Cheltenham Jazz Festival but I won't be going to see her, the last time I saw her there I was disappointed by her rather downbeat performance that didn't match the sounds of her first couple of excellent records. This latest release sees Larry Klein back in the producer's chair and a return to the classy covers of those early CDs, with four...
Published 15 months ago by G. E. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stuff Of Dreams, 8 April 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Blue Room (Audio CD)
The magical quality of this album depends upon the sublime interaction between Madeleine's voice, Vince Mendoza's string arrangements and a tight band of Hammond B3, piano, pedal steel, bass and drums. Of course it helps that the songs are among the very best in the country canon but haven't fallen prey to over exposure through endless cover versions.

The album has been compared to Ray Charles' "Modern Sounds In Country & Western Music" but it is less a combination of genres and more of a demonstration of how a great voice, great songs and great musicianship can transcend genres to create a work that is original, timeless and satisfying in equal measure.

If there are any doubts that Peyroux is an intuitive and versatile performer her dramatic reading of Leonard Cohen's "Bird On A Wire" should dispel those doubts. From the Everly's "Bye Bye Love" to Buddy Holly's "Changing All Those Changes" and Cindy Walker's "You Don't Know Me" this is the sound of a singer bringing new dimensions to some well loved songs.

But it is the final cut from which the stuff of dreams is made. Warren Zevon's masterpiece "Desperadoes Under The Eaves" opens with epic and majestic strings that fade away to reveal a world where jazz, country, lyrics, melody, voice and music blend into a glorious, unforgettable symphony. There can be few songs that convey so well the despair that loss and loneliness bring and Peyroux delivers straight from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Madeleine, 26 May 2013
By 
LizzieG (Wantage, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room (Audio CD)
I know other reviewers don't rate this as highly as some of her previous recordings and may be it isn't as good but I love her work and her 'worst' is streets ahead of so many other artists 'best'. I am really glad to have it as part of my Madeleine Peyroux collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful voice, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room (Audio CD)
I loved this CD, her voice is amazing. Her cover versions are beautifully done. Well worth listening to and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have several CDs of Peyroux and wanted the latest for the collection., 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room (Audio CD)
Lovely choice of songs, beautifully sung as usual by the lovely Madeleine. Easy to listen to anytime whether sitting with a glass of wine or cooking at the Aga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Madeleine, 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Room (Audio CD)
This CD arrived very quickly and was listened to just as quickly. Wonderful voice although quite a few oldies to get her vocal cords around but great backing and production quality. Heard about the new CD on the Terry Wogan Radio 2 show on a Sunday morning and was not disappointed with the CD at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room (Audio CD)
great album from a great artist.nice songs...great voice....one of the best albums ever recorded.i suggest it to buy it.great great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room (Audio CD)
I already knew this singer/songwriter and was curious about this new work.It is good but I confess I prefer the 2 previous CD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Room (Audio CD)
This is a good album with some great cover versions of classic songs. If you haven't heard any of Madeleine's work before then this is a good taste of what she does.
Personally; I prefer her earlier album's but that wouldn't stop me recommending The Blue Room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All a bit predictable but with a couple of real gems..., 8 April 2013
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Blue Room (Audio CD)
Madeleine appears in May at the Cheltenham Jazz Festival but I won't be going to see her, the last time I saw her there I was disappointed by her rather downbeat performance that didn't match the sounds of her first couple of excellent records. This latest release sees Larry Klein back in the producer's chair and a return to the classy covers of those early CDs, with four songs from Ray Charles' albums `Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music'. These songs really suit Madeleine's style but she doesn't bring anything new to them and I thought that `Born to loose' and `You don't know me' were a bit syrupy and smothered by the strings. I found `Bye bye love', `Bird on the wire' and `Gentle on my mind' OK but a bit dull, while Randy Newman's `Guilty' isn't a patch on Bonnie Raitt's definitive version (or Brit Christine Collister's version come to think of it.) I found all these songs a bit predictable - like Madeleine and the musicians were just going through the motions - everything is well-played and sounds good but just a bit uninspired.

For me the real successes were the old Buddy Holly rockabilly song `Changing all those changes' which Madeleine completely transforms and delivers in a relaxed but swinging way. This excellent version of the song is the first single from the album. I also loved the version of Warren Zevon's "Desperados Under the Eaves" where Madeleine's voice, the strings and the steel guitar all combine wonderfully for a muted but very moving version of this seldom-heard song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room (Audio CD)
Very laid back music as usual from a star performer. Great covers of some classic songs with a typical Peyroux twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blue Room
The Blue Room by Madeleine Peyroux (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews