Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of prog rock's finest
This is certainly one of Rush's greatest albums and the band is unquestionably one of only a select few who have been able to write so consistently well over such a long career.
I differ from some of the reviewers in their comments regarding the second half of the album, i.e. the songs not part of the 2112 suite. I actually prefer these to some of the sections from...
Published on 3 Mar 2005 by gingerguru

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remaster?Disappointed
I wanted the remastered edition of his album,because I own the vinyl copy from years and years ago.Well,I feel a little disappointed about the sound quality from the CD,because I think it doesn't sound better than the original on vinyl.You know why?Where's the bass sound?I don't hear the rumble,the whole CD gives me the impression of a monotone plastic metal noise.So for...
Published 18 months ago by Hans Coppens


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of prog rock's finest, 3 Mar 2005
By 
gingerguru "gingerguru" (Billericay, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
This is certainly one of Rush's greatest albums and the band is unquestionably one of only a select few who have been able to write so consistently well over such a long career.
I differ from some of the reviewers in their comments regarding the second half of the album, i.e. the songs not part of the 2112 suite. I actually prefer these to some of the sections from the first side, in particular, Twilight Zone, Lessons and Tears. Listening to these three songs in a row has remained a pleasure for the best part of 20 years. The musicianship, arrangements and general song-writing abilities on show here are simply breathtaking.
As for the Amazon review, this is borderline disrespectful. The Amazon writer should remember just how many tens of millions of records Rush have sold over their 30-year reign at the top of prog/intelligent rock & metal. You don't have to be the most photogenic or 'cool' band to succeed, thank god.
If you are a Rush fan you will of course already own this album. If you are new to the band, this is a must. Anyone who can play an instrument or write a song to a decent level will appreciate this even if you don't consider yourself a rock fan. Most highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The break through album, 10 April 2007
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
The first Rush album to be a significant hit. This album was made after the largley unsucessful Caress of Steel LP. Themes the band had explored on that album ( such as an entire side dedicated to one song ) were further explored however this time as a more consitant whole.

Many of the previous reviews will know doubt detail the synopsis of the title track so it is pointless in me repeating myself here, however whilst the previous album had struggled with filler material such as ' Am i going Bald ' this album was laden with classic tracks. ' Tears ' has a rare Geddy Lee lyric. ' A passage to Bangkok ' is a favourite of mine and it closes with the fabulous ' Somthing for nothing '.

There first classic album, this remains one of the most popular Rush albums to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and the meek shall inherit the earth......., 12 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. M. D. Smith "Bigmatt" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
What can you say about Rush? Bear in mind when you listen to this album, there's only three of them. God knows how they make the sounds they do, but you'd swear blind there should be at least five in a band that sounds like this. For my money, this is the definitive Rush album, it has everything from searing solo's to gentle acoustic moments of serenity. The title track "2112" is riff-laden wig-out structured like an opera, describing a society reaching armageddon, rising from the ashes to become a quasi-religious dictatorship, and ultimately perishing when the new order arrives to take over.

The second group of five songs, unconnected with both "2112" and each other, cover subjects as diverse as the hippy trail ("Passage to Bangkok") to a ballad ("Tears") that seesm to be about lost love.

People seem to get hung up on two things with this album - "1" it's a concept album. Yeah, So what? The 70's were full of concept albums, big deal. It doesn't alter the fact there is brilliant playing on this record. Lifeson's guitar drips emotion throughout 2112, you can hear it cry and scream, particulary in the segment "Presentation" when Geddy's character offers the newly discovered "guitar" to the priests, is rejected, then flees. Listen to the guitar howl at that point and tell me that's not raw despair being wrought from the frets. Listen also to Geddy Lee's galloping bass lines, then remember he's singing the melody over the top at the same time. Which brings me on nicely on to point "2". Geddy's voice. So many people can't seem to get past the fact he has a high pitched voice. This may be so, but it's never strained or out of tune, and carries over the music so you can hear the lyrics. Bon Scott and Brian Johnson of AC/DC both have "unusual" (screechy) voices, but never suffer the same criticism as Geddy Lee does. Just what is the problem here? Can't fathom it myself, it just helps create Rush's distinctive sound.

Ignore the "stigma" of concept albums, get over the singer's unusual (but still tuneful) vocal style, this is an ideal album to get "into " Rush with. I still love this 20 years after I first heard it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A monster of a CD!, 4 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
I first bought this in 1980, then bought it on CD in the late 80's, then didn't have a copy for around 10 years. I bought it again a few months ago, and just HAD to crank up the volume and just listen.
Too often concept albums are individual tracks forced together and it doesn't work that well, but the track 2112 is a masterpiece of thematic writing. There are essentially 3 themes (and variations on these themes) that are used throughout to tremendous effect, and a storyline that sounds like it should be the storyline from a Phillip K Dick novel. This is the middle ground between the early 70's rock and the late 70's arty rock that Rush produced, and they have rarely done better!
The other tracks here are pretty damn good too - 'Passage to Bangkok' is basically a journey through the world's dope capitals, 'Something for Nothing' is a concert favourite, and then...the ballad! How on earth did 'Tears' get on an album like this? It's got keyboard strings and no distorted guitar at all, but it really fits in well. In fact, it's a very beautiful song.
You know, I think I'm going to have to go and play it again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless Rock, 4 July 2006
By 
Mark Haynes (Telford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
I first heard this back in 1977 after a certain Sounds (remember them?) critic called Geoff Barton raved about this band. Then it sounded, as it does now, as one of the greatest rock albums of all time, the title track in particular is the kind of aural assault that future bands such as Metallica would try to emulate. Future albums are maybe lyrically better but despite this, it is a great album and all I can say to the few reviewers that have slagged it off is that true greatness is rarely appreciated by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Super Deluxe Edition!, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Robert Macnamara (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 - Super Deluxe (Audio CD)
I won't waste time reviewing the album, plenty before me have, all I will say on that is it's a classic that had stood the test of time!
I personally swithered on whether to buy the regular blu ray edition or the super deluxe, did I want to spend the extra money just for the hardback comic book? Well I was given some money for my birthday so treated myself and wow what a treat!! The blu ray 5.1 surround audio is about the best I have ever heard and I love surround sound SACD's and DVD Audio discs. The sound of the waterfall in the 2112 Suite is so real sounding you'd swear you were in the cave with him and his new found guitar! The comic book is fab well illustrated and follows the story fab, and it doesn't just cover the opening 2112 Suite but illustrates the whole album. What set it apart from me is that they have taken the time to put the visuals onto the blu ray and the pictures follow the story, with the lyric on screen like dialog bubbles in a comic, so now you don't just listen to this album you can pour yourself your tipple of choice turn the light out and lose yourself for 40 minutes in one of the best rock albums of all time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Moment, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. J. Gibbon "The Lone Groover" (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
In the winter of 1976, Rush recorded what was to become their defining moment, their ultimate tour de force. For many it's their signature album, and it's impossible to overstate its importance in the band's canon.

The piece which comprises the first side of this remarkable album, 2112 itself, is nothing less than a meisterwerk. Lyrically, it's the tale of a young man who discovers a guitar in a cave, in a bleak totalitarian future where authoritarian priests control every aspect of daily life, inspired apparently by Ayn Rand's Anthem. Like The Fountain Of Lamneth from the band's previous album, it's a sidelong 'epic' piece. But where its predecessor was, in truth, really a set of standalone songs united by a single concept, 2112 is a single piece in several parts, all in all a more direct, accomplished work. It's a very, very dynamic piece too, performed with a purposeful, passionate intensity that commands attention; pregnant passages of exquisite, delicate beauty give birth to moments of dizzying, almost orchestral power, driven home by Lifeson's gripping, soaring, spine-tingling, emotive guitar, all polished to a dazzling presence by Terry Brown's exquisite production.

Side Two, as we used to call it in the days when music was made available to the masses in the form of 12-inch diameter black vinyl discs, does not disappoint either. It's often overlooked due to the iconic status of the title piece, yet there are some great tunes here too, performed and produced with consummate taste, flair and style. Something For Nothing and A Passage to Bangkok are classic hard-hitting, stylish Rush tunes, Tears is an extraordinarily mature ballad with a remarkable lush, atmospheric production. And perhaps remarkably, it's Side Two where the guitar work really shines - witness the delicate, perfect, crisp rhythm work on Twilight Zone and the magnificent, intense lead guitar which graces Something For Nothing.

Rush would go from here to expand their musical boundaries and deliver music of ever greater sophistication, at least until 1987. They would never have been capable of a La Villa Strangiato, a YYZ or a Subdivisions in the winter of 1976; yet they would never again catch the magical combination of sheer passion, intensity and above all, drama of the epic piece which gave this album its title. This was their extraordinary moment in time, lightning captured in a bottle, the album they were born to create. A staggering achievement; truly a musical work of towering stature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old favourite, 28 Mar 2007
By 
Czech's Mate (Wellingborough UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
Hard to believe that this is over 30 years old now.

An all time classic form the Canadian trio. Okay the basis for the inspiration of this (Ayn Rands work) leaves a lot to be desired but putting politics aside this is one of the finest albusm ever made. What was the first side of album deserves to be listened to in one go. It deserves it. The music has survived the test of time and parts of this album are still favourites when played live.

The band reached new heights on this album and this was a truly "progressive" moment in the band's career. I would heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Milestone Album, 2 Aug 2004
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
I have to wonder how anyone could buy something that they dislike so much. Wouldn't that be, like, 'a dumb mistake'? But I digress.
I originally bought this on vinyl and had no hesitation in upgrading to CD for completeness.
You have to remember that Rush is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year, and this particular album was recorded way back in 1975/76 - probably way before the previous reviewer was born - and at a time when 'concept albums' were the done thing. And whilst labouring that word, the whole idea of a concept album is a concept most people today cannot understand.
The whole of the first side of the original vinyl LP comprised the 2112 mini-opera (about 25 minutes). Far from being just 'one song', it progresses through an introduction, scene setting, and ends up with a finale. As with much of Rush's work at that time it leans heavily towards instrumental work, and I can't really get my head around these comments about Geddy Lee's 'whiney' vocals, when Justin Hawkins is doing the same thing with the Darkness right now. I mean, what point are you making, guys? That was Geddy's voice, that's how he sang. And it has worked for 30 years.
Side 2 (or the rest of the CD) is a mixture of rock, MOR, and ballad, with that unique Rush twist.
One thing you don't get with remastered CDs is the benefit of the information on the original LP sleeve. Back in those vinyl days one of the joys of getting a new album was reading the credits. And Rush became masters of the credits, turning them into stories in their own right.
But you also miss out on details explaining that certain tracks were based on short stories by science fiction writers of the time, that band members were big science fiction buffs (at that time), and so on.
I think the concept (there I go, now) of being able to imagine how people thought in the past is something that will forever elude today's generation.
But the fact is, Rush is 30. Rush has a unique sound. So Rush will be remembered. How many of today's bands will be remembered in 30 years...?
Rush must have been doing something right. And if you want to hear a small part of history, buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEMORIES...., 23 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. Patrick Maccoll "scapular" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
I have not listened to 2112 since 1980..! A friend from Canada was visiting and bought me the CD. Memories returned of sitting at the top of the house absorbing the consept of the finding of a guitar and presenting it to the Priests of Syrnx, who reacted furiously and dismissed the idea...Fantastic consept and has aged well..Fantastic guitar. Passage To Bangkok is a great song too.. I really enjoy listening to this album in the car -Why have they changed the cover..?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2112
2112 by Rush
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews