Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of prog rock's finest
This is certainly one of Rush's greatest albums and the band is unquestionably one of only a select few who have been able to write so consistently well over such a long career.
I differ from some of the reviewers in their comments regarding the second half of the album, i.e. the songs not part of the 2112 suite. I actually prefer these to some of the sections from...
Published on 3 Mar 2005 by gingerguru

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remaster?Disappointed
I wanted the remastered edition of his album,because I own the vinyl copy from years and years ago.Well,I feel a little disappointed about the sound quality from the CD,because I think it doesn't sound better than the original on vinyl.You know why?Where's the bass sound?I don't hear the rumble,the whole CD gives me the impression of a monotone plastic metal noise.So for...
Published 17 months ago by Hans Coppens


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of prog rock's finest, 3 Mar 2005
By 
gingerguru "gingerguru" (Billericay, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
This is certainly one of Rush's greatest albums and the band is unquestionably one of only a select few who have been able to write so consistently well over such a long career.
I differ from some of the reviewers in their comments regarding the second half of the album, i.e. the songs not part of the 2112 suite. I actually prefer these to some of the sections from the first side, in particular, Twilight Zone, Lessons and Tears. Listening to these three songs in a row has remained a pleasure for the best part of 20 years. The musicianship, arrangements and general song-writing abilities on show here are simply breathtaking.
As for the Amazon review, this is borderline disrespectful. The Amazon writer should remember just how many tens of millions of records Rush have sold over their 30-year reign at the top of prog/intelligent rock & metal. You don't have to be the most photogenic or 'cool' band to succeed, thank god.
If you are a Rush fan you will of course already own this album. If you are new to the band, this is a must. Anyone who can play an instrument or write a song to a decent level will appreciate this even if you don't consider yourself a rock fan. Most highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The break through album, 10 April 2007
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
The first Rush album to be a significant hit. This album was made after the largley unsucessful Caress of Steel LP. Themes the band had explored on that album ( such as an entire side dedicated to one song ) were further explored however this time as a more consitant whole.

Many of the previous reviews will know doubt detail the synopsis of the title track so it is pointless in me repeating myself here, however whilst the previous album had struggled with filler material such as ' Am i going Bald ' this album was laden with classic tracks. ' Tears ' has a rare Geddy Lee lyric. ' A passage to Bangkok ' is a favourite of mine and it closes with the fabulous ' Somthing for nothing '.

There first classic album, this remains one of the most popular Rush albums to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and the meek shall inherit the earth......., 12 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. M. D. Smith "Bigmatt" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
What can you say about Rush? Bear in mind when you listen to this album, there's only three of them. God knows how they make the sounds they do, but you'd swear blind there should be at least five in a band that sounds like this. For my money, this is the definitive Rush album, it has everything from searing solo's to gentle acoustic moments of serenity. The title track "2112" is riff-laden wig-out structured like an opera, describing a society reaching armageddon, rising from the ashes to become a quasi-religious dictatorship, and ultimately perishing when the new order arrives to take over.

The second group of five songs, unconnected with both "2112" and each other, cover subjects as diverse as the hippy trail ("Passage to Bangkok") to a ballad ("Tears") that seesm to be about lost love.

People seem to get hung up on two things with this album - "1" it's a concept album. Yeah, So what? The 70's were full of concept albums, big deal. It doesn't alter the fact there is brilliant playing on this record. Lifeson's guitar drips emotion throughout 2112, you can hear it cry and scream, particulary in the segment "Presentation" when Geddy's character offers the newly discovered "guitar" to the priests, is rejected, then flees. Listen to the guitar howl at that point and tell me that's not raw despair being wrought from the frets. Listen also to Geddy Lee's galloping bass lines, then remember he's singing the melody over the top at the same time. Which brings me on nicely on to point "2". Geddy's voice. So many people can't seem to get past the fact he has a high pitched voice. This may be so, but it's never strained or out of tune, and carries over the music so you can hear the lyrics. Bon Scott and Brian Johnson of AC/DC both have "unusual" (screechy) voices, but never suffer the same criticism as Geddy Lee does. Just what is the problem here? Can't fathom it myself, it just helps create Rush's distinctive sound.

Ignore the "stigma" of concept albums, get over the singer's unusual (but still tuneful) vocal style, this is an ideal album to get "into " Rush with. I still love this 20 years after I first heard it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A monster of a CD!, 4 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
I first bought this in 1980, then bought it on CD in the late 80's, then didn't have a copy for around 10 years. I bought it again a few months ago, and just HAD to crank up the volume and just listen.
Too often concept albums are individual tracks forced together and it doesn't work that well, but the track 2112 is a masterpiece of thematic writing. There are essentially 3 themes (and variations on these themes) that are used throughout to tremendous effect, and a storyline that sounds like it should be the storyline from a Phillip K Dick novel. This is the middle ground between the early 70's rock and the late 70's arty rock that Rush produced, and they have rarely done better!
The other tracks here are pretty damn good too - 'Passage to Bangkok' is basically a journey through the world's dope capitals, 'Something for Nothing' is a concert favourite, and then...the ballad! How on earth did 'Tears' get on an album like this? It's got keyboard strings and no distorted guitar at all, but it really fits in well. In fact, it's a very beautiful song.
You know, I think I'm going to have to go and play it again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless Rock, 4 July 2006
By 
Mark Haynes (Telford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
I first heard this back in 1977 after a certain Sounds (remember them?) critic called Geoff Barton raved about this band. Then it sounded, as it does now, as one of the greatest rock albums of all time, the title track in particular is the kind of aural assault that future bands such as Metallica would try to emulate. Future albums are maybe lyrically better but despite this, it is a great album and all I can say to the few reviewers that have slagged it off is that true greatness is rarely appreciated by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Super Deluxe Edition!, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Robert Macnamara (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 - Super Deluxe (Audio CD)
I won't waste time reviewing the album, plenty before me have, all I will say on that is it's a classic that had stood the test of time!
I personally swithered on whether to buy the regular blu ray edition or the super deluxe, did I want to spend the extra money just for the hardback comic book? Well I was given some money for my birthday so treated myself and wow what a treat!! The blu ray 5.1 surround audio is about the best I have ever heard and I love surround sound SACD's and DVD Audio discs. The sound of the waterfall in the 2112 Suite is so real sounding you'd swear you were in the cave with him and his new found guitar! The comic book is fab well illustrated and follows the story fab, and it doesn't just cover the opening 2112 Suite but illustrates the whole album. What set it apart from me is that they have taken the time to put the visuals onto the blu ray and the pictures follow the story, with the lyric on screen like dialog bubbles in a comic, so now you don't just listen to this album you can pour yourself your tipple of choice turn the light out and lose yourself for 40 minutes in one of the best rock albums of all time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Moment, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. J. Gibbon "The Lone Groover" (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
In the winter of 1976, Rush recorded what was to become their defining moment, their ultimate tour de force. For many it's their signature album, and it's impossible to overstate its importance in the band's canon.

The piece which comprises the first side of this remarkable album, 2112 itself, is nothing less than a meisterwerk. Lyrically, it's the tale of a young man who discovers a guitar in a cave, in a bleak totalitarian future where authoritarian priests control every aspect of daily life, inspired apparently by Ayn Rand's Anthem. Like The Fountain Of Lamneth from the band's previous album, it's a sidelong 'epic' piece. But where its predecessor was, in truth, really a set of standalone songs united by a single concept, 2112 is a single piece in several parts, all in all a more direct, accomplished work. It's a very, very dynamic piece too, performed with a purposeful, passionate intensity that commands attention; pregnant passages of exquisite, delicate beauty give birth to moments of dizzying, almost orchestral power, driven home by Lifeson's gripping, soaring, spine-tingling, emotive guitar, all polished to a dazzling presence by Terry Brown's exquisite production.

Side Two, as we used to call it in the days when music was made available to the masses in the form of 12-inch diameter black vinyl discs, does not disappoint either. It's often overlooked due to the iconic status of the title piece, yet there are some great tunes here too, performed and produced with consummate taste, flair and style. Something For Nothing and A Passage to Bangkok are classic hard-hitting, stylish Rush tunes, Tears is an extraordinarily mature ballad with a remarkable lush, atmospheric production. And perhaps remarkably, it's Side Two where the guitar work really shines - witness the delicate, perfect, crisp rhythm work on Twilight Zone and the magnificent, intense lead guitar which graces Something For Nothing.

Rush would go from here to expand their musical boundaries and deliver music of ever greater sophistication, at least until 1987. They would never have been capable of a La Villa Strangiato, a YYZ or a Subdivisions in the winter of 1976; yet they would never again catch the magical combination of sheer passion, intensity and above all, drama of the epic piece which gave this album its title. This was their extraordinary moment in time, lightning captured in a bottle, the album they were born to create. A staggering achievement; truly a musical work of towering stature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old favourite, 28 Mar 2007
By 
Czech's Mate (Wellingborough UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
Hard to believe that this is over 30 years old now.

An all time classic form the Canadian trio. Okay the basis for the inspiration of this (Ayn Rands work) leaves a lot to be desired but putting politics aside this is one of the finest albusm ever made. What was the first side of album deserves to be listened to in one go. It deserves it. The music has survived the test of time and parts of this album are still favourites when played live.

The band reached new heights on this album and this was a truly "progressive" moment in the band's career. I would heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 10 July 2013
By 
John Malcolm (Swindon, Wilts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I was surprisingly pleased with this disc. Full booklet with lyrics, extensive liner notes, and more. However, a few of the goodies on show here are worth a further mention.

First, it is a full DVD Audio disc, capable of 24/96 high resolution stereo and 5.1 audio - as well as the normal DVD stereo/surround stuff (Dolby Digital).

Second, the animation for the DVD part of the disc changes with the lyrics - where as it doesn't on the DVD-A part, necessitating manual advance of the slides (I presume this is a limitation of the DVD-A format). My Pioneer DV-575A universal player won't let me access the DVD Video part of the disc - forcing me to the DVD-A part - meaning I have to play the DVD Video part on my computer/PS3 to access the fully animated stuff.

Third, the whole of the album has animation, not just 2112. This is a real treat, and much more than I expected.

To sum up; very pleased with the disc, and maybe I should have bought the Blu-ray after all, but then again my Blu-ray player is not wired up for surround where as my Pioneer is (for its DVD-A and SACD capabilities), and I can't afford a new surround audio setup... Either way, the waterfall effect on 2112 is nicely placed in the rear speakers, and frees the fronts for the song. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attention All Planets of the Solar Federation: This is Top Notch Rush!, 23 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 - Super Deluxe (Audio CD)
Now, I'm a great fan of early Rush - I the love the first 3 studio albums before 2112 (they're great), and I think the 4 studio albums after it are absolutely awesome.

However, when it has come to 2112, I am afraid I've always been quite ambivalent towards it: it was an album I thought I appreciated (and I knew how crucial it was to Rush's development, and their success), but it was an album which I never enjoyed as much as any of the other albums... I liked the title track, but had a less favorable opinion of the B-side tracks.

I am happy to say that I've reassessed my opinion of the whole album with the purchase of 2112 - Super Deluxe Edition. The 5.1 mix on the Blu-Ray has blown me away, it sounds incredible, and has cleared the cobwebs away from my understanding of the album. The title track is as epic as ever, but even larger and more encompassing than the stereo mix. The B-side tracks are all good songs - Ok, they don't match the scope of the 20 minute 2112, but they rock hard all the same (other than Tears - which is a bit slow going, but still alright), and sound glorious in 5.1.

The visuals of the Blu-Ray work well, and incorporate text very well - although they may not be everyone's cup of tea. The extras on the blu-ray are so-so - a photo gallery, comic book art gallery, lyrics, etc. But the sound is the real draw here (and it's presented in Stereo as well, if you prefer). I think that Peart's drumming is loud and clear, and comes across really well in this mix, and I'm not certain why some have criticised it (!)

The CD that comes with the package is good - not much different from the previous CD release, with only 3 Live bonus tracks (that barely total 11 minutes long in total), and it's hard to say if the sound is much better than the previous CD release.

The packaging is pleasant enough, presented as a thin hard back book, which holds the CD and Blu-Ray together, and has a short essay/introduction on the band and the album, a collection of photos from the period, and comic art work representing the visuals of the songs (the same art which is used as the visuals on the Blu-Ray).

So 4 stars from me - a great Rush album, which led the way to greater things, but stands on its own merits.

Overpriced? You betchya! (priced at 40 at this time - this for 1 CD and 1 Blu-Ray is not cheap, by anybody's standards (they could of thrown a copy of the Vinyl in for that cost!)) but it depends on how limited this 'Limited Edition' really is, and how bothered you are about owning it... Wait, and it may come down in price... Or if you aren't really bothered by these petty concerns, then you can still pick up 2112 - The Deluxe Edition for about 15 (December 2012) which has the Cd and Blu-Ray without the added frills of the book.

Either way, check it out, it's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2112
2112 by Rush
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews