Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doppler effect.
Came across this quite by chance in 'Waterstones' (yes, I know a real bookshop!) just before Christmas, and read it over the festive period. I had read something else by Erland Loe about 12 years ago called 'Naive.Super' the title of which sums up his style quite aptly. 'Doppler' could well become a future Christmas classic and one which I may return to year after year...
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by brianmcinally

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Approach with caution.
Ah Erlend Loe, I was forever amused by his "Volvo Lastvagnar" (sadly, not translated into English), and was hoping that "Doppler" will deliver the same kind of sarcasm and striking humour. And it kinda did, but I was disappointed.

Loe's original, dark-humoured narrative is recognisable in this tale of an unhappy and self-diagnosed "failed" man, who one day...
Published 14 months ago by Lola


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doppler effect., 30 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Doppler (Hardcover)
Came across this quite by chance in 'Waterstones' (yes, I know a real bookshop!) just before Christmas, and read it over the festive period. I had read something else by Erland Loe about 12 years ago called 'Naive.Super' the title of which sums up his style quite aptly. 'Doppler' could well become a future Christmas classic and one which I may return to year after year. It's a short, sharp shock of a novel which becomes more and more misanthropic as it goes on, but it is also very funny at the same time. 'Doppler' the protagonist, co-opting out of a materalist society, abandoning his pregnant wife and young son to go and live an austere life in the woods, with only a baby elk whose mother he has slaugtered on the opening pages for company is somewhat like 'Scrooge' on a reverse trajectory. However, scenes including a fight with his neighbour Dusseldorf involving giant bars of 'Toberlone' are guaranteed to have you laughing out loud, and there's some hilarious digs at the work of JRR Tolkien, the 'Teletubbies' and the construction of a bizarre totem pole. (infact there's a lot of things beginning with 'T' in this wonderful, eccentric, and occasionally disturbing piece of fiction, not least the ending which hints at a sequel. Or possibly not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking, sad and heart-warming..., 8 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Doppler (Kindle Edition)
Doppler isn't a straight-forward read, so it doesn't get a straight-forward review. Have you ever thought about walking away from everything you know - society, family, job, community - with just a few possessions and starting again? Doppler has. Or at least after his cycling accident, that's what he does. It isn't clear as to whether the accident is the reason - is it a head injury? or it's just an awakening? But he goes. To the woods. To be alone and live a simple life of a longed for solitary boredom.

But he doesn't find it easy. He's hungry, the summer fruits have run out, the locals have started putting locks on the doors to stop him stealing food, and he kills an elk. He's not moved far enough away from his former home to either avoid people coming to see him or to avoid the pull of his former life. The elk has a calf and, with some hesitation - Doppler adopts him and calls him Bongo, after his own recently-deceased father, whose name wasn't Bongo...

After a brief period of contentment, things start to go wrong. People impinge. Doppler obtains a follower who mimics his moves. His pregnant wife tries to pull him back into the life he turned his back on. It's not what he hoped for...

Nothing is quite clear in Doppler. It raises lots of issues - family, loneliness, mental breakdown, death and rebirth - but doesn't solve any of them. And why should it? Good books make you think about things. Doppler does that in spades. And it's warm and human and sad and touching. And laugh out loud funny in places. If you need a quiet 160-odd page break from the family at Christmas - without actually heading for the woods - this is a good book to take you there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those who accept the harsh criticism and have courage to examine the reasons for own existence, 24 April 2014
This review is from: Doppler (Hardcover)
In the spirit of existentialism Erlend Loe in ‘Doppler’ speaks about self-realization of the individual, of the absurdity of human existence, finding life equivalent to the paradox of Schrödinger's cat. Alienation, both physical and psychological, is derived from the inner consciousness of the main character Doppler who finds satisfaction in denying everything that comes out of a man. Retreating into the forest, he will find his entire essence realized in his friendship with an animal while in his resignation he finds enlightenment and relief.

Looking at life, like his namesake Doppler , although strictly metaphorical , he observes the results of mutual approaching and withdrawing of source and observers, seeing alienation as only proper direction. With dichotomy “me – others’ he directly emphasizes his reluctance to others, following Stoic philosophy and their motto "Living in harmony with nature" with complete apathy, freed from all the feelings, he reaches the so-called highest good.

Diligence is one of the society characteristics due to which we are wasting life, according to Doppler. He tolerates only his son Gregus who occasionally stays with him in the woods, and Bongo, a small elk whose mother was killed (and eaten) by Doppler’s hand. Everything human is strange to him, as evidenced by his ridiculous relationship with Dusseldorf and Roger, two characters who represent the irrational in our society. Sharply criticizing the ruling right wing and, in his opinion, counterproductive consumerism, advocating the commodity exchange. With his stay in the forest Doppler protects the people of his hatred and sarcasm, and himself from their stupidity.

Completely misunderstood loner in presented modern and absurd society becomes the bearer of common sense, even though with his actions and ideologies he represents both the culmination of meaninglessness, unrivaled paradox, absurdity in the absurd, illogical logic and the logic of the illogical.

The author, preoccupied with philosophical reflections, criticizes contemporary society in a simple, somewhat rude, but at the same time intelligent and humorous way. ‘Doppler’ is a novel written for those who accept the harsh criticism and have courage to examine the reasons for own existence - "Because this is a military operation. We are soldiers who will fight to the last man. Against diligence. Against stupidity. Because there is a war out there. War."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Approach with caution., 22 Mar. 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doppler (Kindle Edition)
Ah Erlend Loe, I was forever amused by his "Volvo Lastvagnar" (sadly, not translated into English), and was hoping that "Doppler" will deliver the same kind of sarcasm and striking humour. And it kinda did, but I was disappointed.

Loe's original, dark-humoured narrative is recognisable in this tale of an unhappy and self-diagnosed "failed" man, who one day drops everything (i.e. his bourgeois Oslo existence) and goes to live in the woods in the manner of Thoreau's Walden. It's not entirely clear (and maybe it does not matter) if this change from "nice" to crazy comes due to the concussion (Doppler falls off his bike prior to his re-valuation of his life) or if he is simply depressed and shaken by his father's death. Anyway, before you know it, his life as a misanthrope with a pet moose Bongo attracts more attention than he needs, and his way of life gets a following.

The novel is quirky and amusing in a lot of ways and there were parts of it I really liked (the man who spends his life re-creating the World War II scene, all the interactions with Bongo). Erlend Loe's humour is also the reason I keep reading his books.

It took nearly a decade for "Doppler" to be translated into English language, and I guess some of the sharpness and novelty of the novel was lost with age.

Overall, a light read, and the humour will not appeal to everybody. Approach with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts very well but tailed off a bit, lots to say about modern life, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doppler (Hardcover)
I loved this at the start - Doppler, a man reverting to a forest life, kills an elk in the woods, and the Bambi-like baby elk follows him. He adopts in and names it Bongo and begins to talk to it. This was funny, the thoughts of Doppler's expressed to the elk wry, intelligent and condemning of modern society.

It was when other people came into the story that I lost interest in the plot a bit!

It's short and fun, but I can't really explain why it didn't connect for me. I thought it had a lot of promise but I thought the first quarter was the best part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No more Mr 'Nice', 9 Dec. 2012
By 
Ann Fairweather (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doppler (Hardcover)
Doppler is a little gem of a book. One of these books you are happy to have come accross and read, because you then feel a little less lonely in your despair. As many of us I guess, Doppler has had enough of always being 'nice'. The all pervasive niceness of his life, the typical average well-to-do western comfortable existence, has just reached for him the nausea level. Even the thieves are 'nice'! You have to remember that this is a norwegian tale and I guess the quality of life in Norway must be way above what we experience here in Britain...So in that rosy but dull world, one day Doppler falls off his bike and hurts his head. This is the epiphany moment. Everything is suddenly crystal clear: he has to follow his real inclinations and be alive again. Dropping job, family, children, routine he simply goes and lives in the woods, not that far in fact, from his little town. To survive he has to regretfully kill an elk and he adopts the little orphan as his companion. And so carries on his adventures...This is a very funny, sarcastic, quirky meditation on our way of life. And indeed it raises the right questions but doesn't give any straight answers. Going into the woods is a metaphor and Thoreau proposed it already long ago...I really loved the fable quality of this quickly-read tale and how, in a very bitter-sweet way, it addresses questions that personally are with me everyday: how long can we carry on our miserable routine like that? Can we just be good worker, good parents, good consumers, goos tv watchers, and then what? Yes there is a growing disatisfaction, despair, rage even, in our way of life, that we do have to look at one day or another...Doppler went to the woods, what will you do? Read that book for a start and get thinking...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, Fantastic and Very Funny, 23 Feb. 2015
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doppler (Hardcover)
I was most intrigued by the premise of this novella, and picked it up thinking it would either totally live up to its promise and be brilliant, or be utterly terrible. It's not really the sort of work that is a half way house. Luckily for me I absolutely loved it. I found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion and utterly entranced by Doppler, the narrator of the piece. Doppler seems to lose himself rather after the death of his father. After falling from his bike one afternoon and sustaining a blow to the head, during which experience he believes he comes to a new clarity about his existence, he abandons his family to go and live in a tent in the woods just outside the city. He tries to cast aside society, but society insistently intrudes upon him, and it is his interactions with the world that he is trying to give up that make this book so funny.

It isn't just funny, by the way. It is pretty political, and unrepentantly scathing in places. It also explores, albeit obliquely, the nature of what is normal as we ponder whether Doppler is mad, or whether he actually has a point about the world he has chosen to move away from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an original narrative, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doppler (Hardcover)
Like Lazy Days by the same author this is basically a tale of middle age disillusionment, except instead being about a couple falling out while on holiday, Doppler tells the tale of a normal Norwegian professional who after a fall from his bike in a forest decides that he should stay there close to nature. Although there is a lot of ruminating by Doppler about the state of the world and the consumerist society he once found himself a part of, this book is essentially a farce, as every character in it is drawn in a humorous manner, as Doppler is himself. As he stays longer in the forest more people join him including a wealthy right-winger and a burglar, not to mention his four year old son and a young elk. With many surprises in the narrative, this book is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable take on Norwegian suburban life - from the forest, 1 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Doppler (Hardcover)
Doppler has left his suburban home when this novel opens for a tent in the forest. In the first chapter he kills an elk and adopts her offspring with whom he plays animal lotto (Doppler wins - the elk is not good at this). Later he has enjoyable encounters with his son's nursery, with a housebreaker, and with an obsessive model maker. He also makes a Totem pole in memory of his father.

I hope this gives some idea what the reader should expect. As should be clear, this is emphatically not a realist novel.

But Doppler's take on the world is full of charm and I always wondered as I read what would happen next. I very much enjoyed it and would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book you will keep reflectling upon., 5 July 2013
This review is from: Doppler (Hardcover)
There are different aspects of this book that I like. Not only is it well written and keeping the readers interest at all times, it also takes up a subject that is very relevant in todays society. We live in a very materialistic world, with societal pressure to always perform better, be wealthier, have more friends, travel the world, be super fit and run triathlons, eat certain ways etc etc... and Erland Loe manages to capture this issue and write what I think, something many people think but do not say outloud. Inspirational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doppler
Doppler by Erlend Loe
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews