Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and the meek shall inherit the earth.......
What can you say about Rush? Bear in mind when you listen to this album, there's only three of them. God knows how they make the sounds they do, but you'd swear blind there should be at least five in a band that sounds like this. For my money, this is the definitive Rush album, it has everything from searing solo's to gentle acoustic moments of serenity. The title track...
Published on 12 Dec. 2006 by Mr. M. D. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review for 5.1 mix
I bought this for the 5.1 surround mix,and it's very disappointing. Whilst there's a few bits where things seem to be higher in the mix,there's no real improvement in sound quality,and not much use of the rear channels.If you want to see how a 5.1 mix should be done,buy Queen's 'a Night At the Opera'.This has put me off buying any of the other Rush 5.1 albums.
Published 3 months ago by BritHorrorHound


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and the meek shall inherit the earth......., 12 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. M. D. Smith "Bigmatt" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
What can you say about Rush? Bear in mind when you listen to this album, there's only three of them. God knows how they make the sounds they do, but you'd swear blind there should be at least five in a band that sounds like this. For my money, this is the definitive Rush album, it has everything from searing solo's to gentle acoustic moments of serenity. The title track "2112" is riff-laden wig-out structured like an opera, describing a society reaching armageddon, rising from the ashes to become a quasi-religious dictatorship, and ultimately perishing when the new order arrives to take over.

The second group of five songs, unconnected with both "2112" and each other, cover subjects as diverse as the hippy trail ("Passage to Bangkok") to a ballad ("Tears") that seesm to be about lost love.

People seem to get hung up on two things with this album - "1" it's a concept album. Yeah, So what? The 70's were full of concept albums, big deal. It doesn't alter the fact there is brilliant playing on this record. Lifeson's guitar drips emotion throughout 2112, you can hear it cry and scream, particulary in the segment "Presentation" when Geddy's character offers the newly discovered "guitar" to the priests, is rejected, then flees. Listen to the guitar howl at that point and tell me that's not raw despair being wrought from the frets. Listen also to Geddy Lee's galloping bass lines, then remember he's singing the melody over the top at the same time. Which brings me on nicely on to point "2". Geddy's voice. So many people can't seem to get past the fact he has a high pitched voice. This may be so, but it's never strained or out of tune, and carries over the music so you can hear the lyrics. Bon Scott and Brian Johnson of AC/DC both have "unusual" (screechy) voices, but never suffer the same criticism as Geddy Lee does. Just what is the problem here? Can't fathom it myself, it just helps create Rush's distinctive sound.

Ignore the "stigma" of concept albums, get over the singer's unusual (but still tuneful) vocal style, this is an ideal album to get "into " Rush with. I still love this 20 years after I first heard it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Super Deluxe Edition!, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Robert Macnamara (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 - Super Deluxe (Audio CD)
I won't waste time reviewing the album, plenty before me have, all I will say on that is it's a classic that had stood the test of time!
I personally swithered on whether to buy the regular blu ray edition or the super deluxe, did I want to spend the extra money just for the hardback comic book? Well I was given some money for my birthday so treated myself and wow what a treat!! The blu ray 5.1 surround audio is about the best I have ever heard and I love surround sound SACD's and DVD Audio discs. The sound of the waterfall in the 2112 Suite is so real sounding you'd swear you were in the cave with him and his new found guitar! The comic book is fab well illustrated and follows the story fab, and it doesn't just cover the opening 2112 Suite but illustrates the whole album. What set it apart from me is that they have taken the time to put the visuals onto the blu ray and the pictures follow the story, with the lyric on screen like dialog bubbles in a comic, so now you don't just listen to this album you can pour yourself your tipple of choice turn the light out and lose yourself for 40 minutes in one of the best rock albums of all time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The break through album, 10 April 2007
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
The first Rush album to be a significant hit. This album was made after the largley unsucessful Caress of Steel LP. Themes the band had explored on that album ( such as an entire side dedicated to one song ) were further explored however this time as a more consitant whole.

Many of the previous reviews will know doubt detail the synopsis of the title track so it is pointless in me repeating myself here, however whilst the previous album had struggled with filler material such as ' Am i going Bald ' this album was laden with classic tracks. ' Tears ' has a rare Geddy Lee lyric. ' A passage to Bangkok ' is a favourite of mine and it closes with the fabulous ' Somthing for nothing '.

There first classic album, this remains one of the most popular Rush albums to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of prog rock's finest, 3 Mar. 2005
By 
gingerguru "gingerguru" (Billericay, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
This is certainly one of Rush's greatest albums and the band is unquestionably one of only a select few who have been able to write so consistently well over such a long career.
I differ from some of the reviewers in their comments regarding the second half of the album, i.e. the songs not part of the 2112 suite. I actually prefer these to some of the sections from the first side, in particular, Twilight Zone, Lessons and Tears. Listening to these three songs in a row has remained a pleasure for the best part of 20 years. The musicianship, arrangements and general song-writing abilities on show here are simply breathtaking.
As for the Amazon review, this is borderline disrespectful. The Amazon writer should remember just how many tens of millions of records Rush have sold over their 30-year reign at the top of prog/intelligent rock & metal. You don't have to be the most photogenic or 'cool' band to succeed, thank god.
If you are a Rush fan you will of course already own this album. If you are new to the band, this is a must. Anyone who can play an instrument or write a song to a decent level will appreciate this even if you don't consider yourself a rock fan. Most highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Moment, 7 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. J. Gibbon "The Lone Groover" (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
In the winter of 1976, Rush recorded what was to become their defining moment, their ultimate tour de force. For many it's their signature album, and it's impossible to overstate its importance in the band's canon.

The piece which comprises the first side of this remarkable album, 2112 itself, is nothing less than a meisterwerk. Lyrically, it's the tale of a young man who discovers a guitar in a cave, in a bleak totalitarian future where authoritarian priests control every aspect of daily life, inspired apparently by Ayn Rand's Anthem. Like The Fountain Of Lamneth from the band's previous album, it's a sidelong 'epic' piece. But where its predecessor was, in truth, really a set of standalone songs united by a single concept, 2112 is a single piece in several parts, all in all a more direct, accomplished work. It's a very, very dynamic piece too, performed with a purposeful, passionate intensity that commands attention; pregnant passages of exquisite, delicate beauty give birth to moments of dizzying, almost orchestral power, driven home by Lifeson's gripping, soaring, spine-tingling, emotive guitar, all polished to a dazzling presence by Terry Brown's exquisite production.

Side Two, as we used to call it in the days when music was made available to the masses in the form of 12-inch diameter black vinyl discs, does not disappoint either. It's often overlooked due to the iconic status of the title piece, yet there are some great tunes here too, performed and produced with consummate taste, flair and style. Something For Nothing and A Passage to Bangkok are classic hard-hitting, stylish Rush tunes, Tears is an extraordinarily mature ballad with a remarkable lush, atmospheric production. And perhaps remarkably, it's Side Two where the guitar work really shines - witness the delicate, perfect, crisp rhythm work on Twilight Zone and the magnificent, intense lead guitar which graces Something For Nothing.

Rush would go from here to expand their musical boundaries and deliver music of ever greater sophistication, at least until 1987. They would never have been capable of a La Villa Strangiato, a YYZ or a Subdivisions in the winter of 1976; yet they would never again catch the magical combination of sheer passion, intensity and above all, drama of the epic piece which gave this album its title. This was their extraordinary moment in time, lightning captured in a bottle, the album they were born to create. A staggering achievement; truly a musical work of towering stature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2012, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
As with most pre-Permanent Waves Rush albums, this takes many listens to truly appreciate. Yes the old adage is that anything will sound good if you play it long enough, but it is not the case here. 2112 is layered and thoughtful, demanding the listener's attention. Ok, it's not for everyone (especially prog rock haters) and it has dated as it is very of its time, but if you are looking for something a bit left of commercial then this 1970s classic is more than worthy.

The title track is a whopper. Unlike their later Cygnus suites, 2112 is a lot easier to digest as it is in bitesize sections. The opening is all fanfare and riffs and is sufficiently rousing. The middle section where the protagonist finds the guitar in the narrative is beautiful with some excellent lyrics. The end does take its time and is less interesting than the first 2 thirds but when it is over it leaves you wondering whether you have heard something very special or simply an overindulgence. But it makes you return for another listen anyway.

The rest are unrelated 3-4 minute tracks of equal quality, none surpassing the mighty titular epic. The pick would be 'Passage to Bangkok', 'Tears' and 'Something for Nothing'. Again these tracks are very layered and not immediate which may put off some as we are more used to the quick-fix nature of pop in today's musical climate (as of 2012).

Not something to cherish as I have only just discovered this but it is definitely worthy of high praise and further examination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A monster of a CD!, 4 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
I first bought this in 1980, then bought it on CD in the late 80's, then didn't have a copy for around 10 years. I bought it again a few months ago, and just HAD to crank up the volume and just listen.
Too often concept albums are individual tracks forced together and it doesn't work that well, but the track 2112 is a masterpiece of thematic writing. There are essentially 3 themes (and variations on these themes) that are used throughout to tremendous effect, and a storyline that sounds like it should be the storyline from a Phillip K Dick novel. This is the middle ground between the early 70's rock and the late 70's arty rock that Rush produced, and they have rarely done better!
The other tracks here are pretty damn good too - 'Passage to Bangkok' is basically a journey through the world's dope capitals, 'Something for Nothing' is a concert favourite, and then...the ballad! How on earth did 'Tears' get on an album like this? It's got keyboard strings and no distorted guitar at all, but it really fits in well. In fact, it's a very beautiful song.
You know, I think I'm going to have to go and play it again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless Rock, 4 July 2006
By 
Mark Haynes (Telford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
I first heard this back in 1977 after a certain Sounds (remember them?) critic called Geoff Barton raved about this band. Then it sounded, as it does now, as one of the greatest rock albums of all time, the title track in particular is the kind of aural assault that future bands such as Metallica would try to emulate. Future albums are maybe lyrically better but despite this, it is a great album and all I can say to the few reviewers that have slagged it off is that true greatness is rarely appreciated by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old favourite, 28 Mar. 2007
By 
Czech's Mate (Wellingborough UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
Hard to believe that this is over 30 years old now.

An all time classic form the Canadian trio. Okay the basis for the inspiration of this (Ayn Rands work) leaves a lot to be desired but putting politics aside this is one of the finest albusm ever made. What was the first side of album deserves to be listened to in one go. It deserves it. The music has survived the test of time and parts of this album are still favourites when played live.

The band reached new heights on this album and this was a truly "progressive" moment in the band's career. I would heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be ashamed if you don't own a copy !!!!, 11 Oct. 2010
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2112 (Audio CD)
2112 should be in everyones collection somewhere, just like you could take a half decent chance that most rock fans have a copy of Bat Out Of Hell, Rumours, Dark Side Of The Moon, Tubular Bells, Court Of The Crimson King etc etc .... then so should they have a copy of 2112. Its an iconic album that just sums up prog rock in the mid 70's. The album cover alone is one of the images of the period.

My introduction to Rush came when I was 13. My parents moved house and I made friends with a lad called Dave who was to drag me out of my half-hearted liking for punk and bombard me with Rush and Yes. Whilst my first Rush purchase may have been Permanent Waves, that didn't happen until a short while after my my baptism, when I was given the full treatment of Temples of Syrinx and Passage To Bangkok at an ear splitting, Spinal Tap-esque number 11 on his Akai amp. Rush have been a part of my life ever since and whilst I can occasionally drift in and out of musical phases, its always Rush that I return to. I guess they are the band that have seeped into my very core. Cheers Dave.

2112 is definitely an album that was of its time and these days I have to be very much in the mood to listen it all the way through in one go. That said, it is a bl***y fantastic album and some of the later tracks often get overlooked because the talk is usually all about the 20 min 32 sec opener which tells the tale of a time when life is controlled by The High Priests of Syrinx and music is seen as an evil force from a bygone age. However the discovery of a guitar in a cave changes everything when it is presented to the priests only to be dismissed as a waste of time. As the lyrics go "....another toy that helped destroy the elder race of man ... forget about your silly whim, it doesn't fit the plan" leaving the discoverer in a fit of rage and vowing to tear down the Temples and create change. For a long time this was hailed as the benchmark album for Rush until they crafted the gem that is Moving Pictures, which heralded a move away from some of the fantasy themes that had featured in early Rush work. I have never seen Rush play this opening track all the way through, the opening Overture is usually played as part of a merged 3 or 4 track medley of early material to keep the faithful happy. For those who have seen the full work played live ... consider yourselves very lucky. Owning some Rush without buying a copy of 2112 is like only buying 5 of the 6 Star Wars films .... why would anybody do that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2112 (Remastered)
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews