Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2013
I would think that most of the apt allusions for describing Endless Boogie's gritty rock jams have been tied to the back of an old pick-up truck and dragged along the gravel road at the back of a shack [though hailing from New York, the rough bucolic vista doesn't quite fit].

Whilst different, for example, to Retribution Gospel Choir's faithful adherence to the Neil Young extended guitar-rock ethos, it does do elaboration and mixes in Stones with Beefheart and even Velvet Underground, I think, or perhaps The Doors, on a slow blues groove like 'The Artemus Ward', but that's in its narrative vocal. Opener 'The Savagist' is the longest and most existential of the aforementioned ethos. But in these two tracks and all others it is the guitar work from Jesper Eklow and Paul Major that exudes. Like the fuzz and wah-wah across eleven minutes of 'On Cryology'. Major growls too on many, like 'General Admission' where `there's no cheap seats!' Be hypnotised by the endless boogie beneath that snarl, the continued wah-wah, and the dulcet lead.

At eighty minutes across all eight tracks, averaging 10 minutes each, it's a journey probably best taken it its entirety in the dark for maximum effect. It is a commitment.
44 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
It would be easy to dismiss this band as a bunch of middle aged losers jamming away interminably on a succession of modal scales over a tight heavy blues rock rhythm section with the occasional deep vocal grunt talking with little comprehension about the american civil war. And you'd be right, except these guys nag you and nag you and nag you to remember why you fell in love with hard rock in the first place. And I mean hard rock, not heavy metal or punk, real hard rock. Real hard rock, like the MC5, Stooges, Guru Guru, Savoy Brown, Metallica oh God name any twenty of your own choosing. Real hard rock. Not Punk or Heavy Metal.

I could review this track by track but that would miss the point, you need to just put this on and wallow in the warm organic sound of a band jamming for the love of heavy rock, all the dynamics and tension you could ever wish for, cool solos, truly world class riffing, genuinely weird vocals and lyrics and lots and lots of it. If CDs lasted 180 minutes they would fill it and you would be happy. Truly this is an experience, out of time. They are old but they don't care or sound it, it is the best driving music since Can and the warmest trip since my last overcoat. Buy it so they can eat before they die.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Previous reviewers have summed their sound up pretty well. The only thing I'd add is this lot are a jam band. Which stands them out from the rest of the dull rubbish. It quite often sounds like they're making it up as the go along. Especially the lyrics:
"the signal man has gone wrong...bad.
George Templeton Straw,
headlights ... head lice"
Sage words there from The Artemis Ward - a 14 blues expoloration with a vague rail travel theme.
Compared to their previous two albums the pace has generally slowed down and the tracks a bit more rambling. This is a good album but not as good as the previous two. I'd recommend Full House Head as a better place to start if you haven't heard this lot before. The tracks are proper off the hook.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
only recently heard of this band and bought the cd on recommendation.
the perfect accompaniment to a long drive on the M25.
they remind me a bit of the blue oyster cult approach to boogie
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Yeah this is great, better than the last two, don't ask me why. You know what you're getting here, if you like your boogie endless, then you have to own this. Listen under the influence of beer and smoke and wallow in the wonder of the twelve bar genius. It's all good, then you reach track seven, and it becomes truly great, snarling, greasy wah wah brilliance. I don't know who these dudes are, but they fully deserve medals for keepin it real.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
The big bad wolf behind the microphone of Endless Boogie is here to haunt your ears once again,so be ready...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
This obviously owes a debt to Neil Youngs more prolonged workouts - not quite down by the river - but a similar feel. I think you will enjoy it.

Super heavy bass, vinyl, packaging, tunes, artwork, singing and vibes.
Just buy it you will love it if you like any indie guitar, zeppelin, QOFSA, sonic youth, Dinosaur Jr. Great album, great vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Well, 'Endless' is not quite a perfect description, but this disc is certainly not a model of concision! I'm not even sure I know how a musical dictionary would define 'Boogie', but I reckon this would do. The sort of music that would keep me in the first pub of the evening until closing time, or longer. Proper musicians playing properly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
A cross between Man and Status Quo - which may do them a bit of a disservice, but you'll see what I mean when you listen. Great driving music, with lots going on in the soloing and so on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
This is dirty, filthy, voodoo long rock jams that will melt your brain.
Long live Endless Boogie. Keep em coming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.33
£13.22
£13.12

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.