Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book with a great twist at the end
Silver is a fabulously talented but troubled musician who has been on the road for almost all his adult life, neglecting his wife and kids in the process. After a Christmas gig in Paris he decides enough is enough and leaves the tour early to be with his family and finally settle down. His wife has other plans. She has had enough and is about to tell him just that. In...
Published on 24 July 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mills & Boon meets 'The Bill'
Beautifully written and well developed characters - but not a crime thriller, not thrilling, and no real crime committed. I bought the Kindle edition based on the Amazon description, and that is why i am writing this review - if you like a well developed, well thought out story where love develops from unlikely circumstances, and you can really get a good feel for the...
Published 7 months ago by Binjay Bob


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book with a great twist at the end, 24 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Redemption Blues (Paperback)
Silver is a fabulously talented but troubled musician who has been on the road for almost all his adult life, neglecting his wife and kids in the process. After a Christmas gig in Paris he decides enough is enough and leaves the tour early to be with his family and finally settle down. His wife has other plans. She has had enough and is about to tell him just that. In an alcohol-fuelled daze, Silver grabs his twin daughters and storms out of the house. The ensuing tragedy, investigated by high-ranking police officer Sam Cobb, himself struggling with personal and emotional trauma, leaves Silver overcome with guilt. The story then skilfully weaves around Silvers survival and experiences as a nobody, Cobbs' attempts to prove Silver is dead and Silvers distraught wife. The story unfolds as their lives become intertwined with each of them trying to rid themselves of their demons. A great read with a wonderful twist that will keep you enthralled until the last sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mills & Boon meets 'The Bill', 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redemption Blues: A Crime Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written and well developed characters - but not a crime thriller, not thrilling, and no real crime committed. I bought the Kindle edition based on the Amazon description, and that is why i am writing this review - if you like a well developed, well thought out story where love develops from unlikely circumstances, and you can really get a good feel for the characters, then you will like this book. But as a crime novel fan I have to admit to being rather disappointed, waiting and waiting for a twist or unexpected development in the plot, and for the 'crime thriller' to get going.. A good read if you like a good personal interest story, but if you're a crime/detection fan maybe give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry it did not do it for me, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redemption Blues: A Crime Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Having seen many positive results I was disappointed in this book. The writing itself is ok but the story is so drawn out and long winded I lost interest about 40% through and then just skim read till the last predictable chapter. For me the main characters were far too broken to bring enough life to the story. I would not recommend this book sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy and fabulous crime drama, 5 April 2013
This review is from: Redemption Blues (Paperback)
I'm going to keep this brief because the best advice if you haven't already done so is to buy and read it. It's damned good. Pace and characterisation throughout are brilliantly handled so that you're drawn into the gripping drama as it unfolds. In the best tradition this is a great story, beautifully told. I've also recommended this to some reading groups. I'm not going to describe more about the plot or characterisations as others have done this. The best thing you can do is stop dithering and shell out the price of a Sunday newspaper to buy it. And if you can't afford both, it's no contest.
Redemption Blues sold a million copies on first release which very much makes it an international bestseller. When you start reading you'll see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I reckon many of the 5 star reviews about this book are bogus!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redemption Blues: A Crime Thriller (Kindle Edition)
It's OK, readable up to a point but I gave up about a third of the way through, the characters (especially Lauren) are just not interesting and I couldn't care less what happened to any of them - too many other books out there to spend any more time on this one. I've noticed a great many people giving this 5 stars have never reviewed any other book on Amazon so it's all a bit suspicious really!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redemption Blues: A Crime Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Really struggled to finish. Very drawn out story, disappointed overall and especially at the ending!
It will entertain you for a little while anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Most boring book I have ever resd, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redemption Blues: A Crime Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I have no idea how this could be classified as a thriller. Suspense was non-existent. Characters were indifferent. Story went nowhere. If you like dull bbc dramas, you'll love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Benread, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redemption Blues: A Crime Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Less a crime story and more of a love story. Difficult to understand of motives people had for their actions. I was bored by it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: Redemption Blues: A Crime Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Redemption Blues: a wonderfully written story with fantastic characters. Once you start reading it you will become gripped and can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 13 Jan 2013
This review is from: Redemption Blues: A Crime Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Glad to see this novel now finally available for Kindle.
I raced through this book when I read it trying to work out what was unfolding. Is it a story of a rockstar whose life is falling apart? Or is it something far more complex - a tragedy seen through family, loneliness yet with a glimmering hope of redemption? A great read. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Redemption Blues:  A Crime Thriller
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews