Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KILLER!!!!!!!
GREAT STUFF, I love this band and even if you don't, you cannot deny the absolute power of this cd. Yeah, these days the production would have been MEGA, but this was out years ago, and still it kills.
Check it out, seriously. DO IT!, DO IT!
Published on 25 Dec. 2007 by Steve METAL

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly lacking
Overkill are an awesome band from the original 80's influx. The reason this review lacks 5 stars is due to the packaging and artwork. Part of buying a cd and owning a physical copy is dependant on artwork etc but to sell a cd with what can only be described as photocopy artwork with writing stating "this package does not contain the original booklet" is poor considering...
Published on 3 Jan. 2013 by Spantsnicely


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly lacking, 3 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Taking Over [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Overkill are an awesome band from the original 80's influx. The reason this review lacks 5 stars is due to the packaging and artwork. Part of buying a cd and owning a physical copy is dependant on artwork etc but to sell a cd with what can only be described as photocopy artwork with writing stating "this package does not contain the original booklet" is poor considering the price paid. I could download the album for half the price and be as satisfied.
Be carful what you purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was sent bootleg version!, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Over [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Avoid! Be careful when ordering from Amazon as I was sent a bootleg of this cd with a blank cover showing no information about anything. Amazon clearly dont inspect cds and sell bootlegs as official cds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avatara's review of the Bootleg CDR version of Overkill "Taking Over"., 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Over [Us Import] (Audio CD)
This is a perfect Thrash Metal album and one of my very favourites but this [Us Import] version is a sloppy bootleg on CDR and really makes me angry that I spent £10.00 on this piece of garbage!! There are no official record company logos, catalogue numbers or matrix numbers anywhere on this CDR version. The front cover is under developed and out of focus, there are no lyrics, credits or band photos in the CD booklet either. I was updating my Overkill collection to CD as I have the original Vinyl copy from 1987 and was looking forward to a quality product from Atlantic / Megaforce Records. I was deeply disappointed when this turkey came through my front door and I will be sending it back for a full refund. Please don't buy bootleg products as it hurts the bands we love to listen to and makes it difficult for them to continue making Great music. If you bought this version like me and are upset about it please inform Amazon at once. This review is no reflection on the Band or their album but a review of the CDR version that is currently on sale on Amazon's shopping site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KILLER!!!!!!!, 25 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Taking Over [Us Import] (Audio CD)
GREAT STUFF, I love this band and even if you don't, you cannot deny the absolute power of this cd. Yeah, these days the production would have been MEGA, but this was out years ago, and still it kills.
Check it out, seriously. DO IT!, DO IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it then; and still love it now., 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Taking Over [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I've still got an original copy of this excellent power metal classic on cassette tape (remember those) that I've owned since I was 16.
Back then I would headbang to it, listen to it through the headphones at maximum volume, and raise my fist and yell to it. Some of the lyrics are quite violent (check out the opening track Deny the Cross). And sometimes quite funny too, like the chorus to Use Your Head for example. And there's the album cover. The band members stare in your direction all armed with machine guns pointing right at you, looking as angry as the great songs on this album. The best tracks are the classic "in union we stand" and "the wrecking crew", surely the heaviest metal song ever recorded at the time.
I thought that Taking Over was a very powerful record when it came out, and it still is today.
If you like your metal extra heavy, particularly 80s power metal, then this album is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars it not original cd, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Over [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I am a cd dvd collector. And ı always bur orriginal records. but that cd was burned out -un orginal copy. but thks for the company because they pay my money back. and I ll be continuning purchasing from that company.
As an Album Taking over is one of the best Over kill records ı advice every one who like thrash metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKING OVER - OVERKILL., 7 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: Taking Over [Us Import] (Audio CD)
SIMPLY THE BEST..THIS IS OVERKILL AT THEIR VERY FINEST FROM OPENING TRACK DENY THE CROSS, YOU JUST KNOW YOU ARE IN FOR A ROLLER COASTER OF A RIDE..AND WHEN YOU FINALLY REACH THE FINAL NUMBER IN OVERKILL II, YOU KNOW YOU HAVE JUST BEEN BATTERED BY THE WRECKING CREW..UTTER BRILLIANCE..IF YOU DO NOT OWN ANY OTHER OVERKILL ALBUM, YOU MUST OWN THIS ONE !!!!!!! JUST GIVE IT A SPIN AND HIT THE REPEAT BUTTON..YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED..THAT I GUARANTEE !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars taking over ?? very nearly !!, 4 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Taking Over [Us Import] (Audio CD)
only thier second album , but one of thier best. good crushing thrash with a punk edge, if overkill had stayed with this formula they would have been one of the "big five ". still fresh today and it nearly equals ...from the underground to below. buy it and wonder where they went wrong !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taking Over [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£6.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews