Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Touching
Superb album,and a real grower. Each track is a different emotional trip for me and is Thom Yorke at his best. Superb vocals and a great sound to the whole album. Awesome....
Published 14 months ago by Event2

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone
This band need no introduction, any album with Thom Yorke usually sells.
So no surprises here. The vinyl is very well made and package.

First listen, did not get into it. The music kind of aimless... I guess Thom is in his dupstep mode again. Flea as usual with all his funk in his blood, very predictable.

Second and third listen, I gave it...
Published 8 months ago by WONG


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Touching, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amok [Deluxe Package] (Audio CD)
Superb album,and a real grower. Each track is a different emotional trip for me and is Thom Yorke at his best. Superb vocals and a great sound to the whole album. Awesome....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This band need no introduction, any album with Thom Yorke usually sells.
So no surprises here. The vinyl is very well made and package.

First listen, did not get into it. The music kind of aimless... I guess Thom is in his dupstep mode again. Flea as usual with all his funk in his blood, very predictable.

Second and third listen, I gave it another shot. It is a ok album, nothing special nothing fantastic. This isn't his best work, I still very much prefer the old Thom in Radiohead.

Having said all that, it is still a good album to owned and listen to when you feel like dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius as usual, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amok (Audio CD)
It took me a few plays to get into this album but now i cannot stop playing it.
Thom Yorke never fails to excel in his art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atoms for Peace ltd edition vinyl box set, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Amok [Deluxe Package] (Audio CD)
Got the cd but then managed to get hold of the ltd edn 9 lp screen printed box set. Resisted opening it for 4 months but now played it. What a revelation1 The vinyl is a universe apart from the cd...now in a magical world rather than a pleasant place. Donn't need to say any more apart from just get the box set (if you can)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crown Jewel for Melomaniacs, 7 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amok (MP3 Download)
For me, Thom Yorke's debut solo album, The Eraser, was already on a par with if not superior to the best of Radiohead's output. Amok, technically recorded by Atoms for Peace though Thom Yorke's direction is unmistakeable, continues and reinforces that trend - Amok outshines anything Thom Yorke has recorded so far, as part of Radiohead or otherwise. This is a bold claim but the strength of this record is such that I am more than happy to make it.

The production on this record is something I have never before experienced - utterly perfect and mesmerizing. The percussions alone would make a fine album. Add in the base, the keyboards, the voice, the electronic tidbits and the vast array of instruments and this is a classic album in the making. All the songs seem to surpass each other and they're already all favourites of mine.

Of course I need to make clear that I love Thom Yorke's development as an artist from alternative rock to electro-rock and that for me the best of Radiohead's work starts with Kid A, much as I like The Bends and OK Computer. If you're fortunate enough to own a decent and above average sound system, this record will titillate your ears and your mind in a way that no other record in existence can quite manage - of course, this is my personal opinion.

I cannot thank Atoms for Peace (and Amazon) enough for this gem of a record.

Five stars easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality vinyl album(with cd ), 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atoms for Peace: Amok (Vinyl)
Fantastic album,one of the few that sound as good on cd as vinyl (well all most ! )this album has great music with great quality production,so will rock and test your system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Purchased as a gift., 16 May 2014
By 
Cute heart (Sheffield,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amok (Audio CD)
Bought this as a gift for my Radiohead obsessed husband. He was impressed and instantly loved some of the tracks declaring the cd 'a grower'. After several listens, he now lives it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amok (Audio CD)
Love Thom Yorke and everything he does outside of Radiohead. Not to disimilar to his solo stuff, so if you're a fan buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly different, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amok (MP3 Download)
Great collaborations with a range of artists. Wasn't sure what to expect at first, but it has really grown on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Experimentally progressive, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amok (MP3 Download)
More inventive than the later Radiohead stuff, and for that much more interesting. That said this is NOT Radiohead and you should not expect it to be. Overall an interesting release well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amok
Amok by Atoms For Peace (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews