Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LYNNE FREDERICK AND JUMP OUT YOUR SEAT SCARES, WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT!
Schizo [US Import] [DVD] [1977] [NTSC]
NO SPOILERS -
I went to a flea pit of a CINEMA in the early 1980's with my first girlfriend to see this, and have not seen it all that time so I wondered if it was going to stand the test of time.
It rode on the back of films like the classic and still outstanding, EXORCIST, although no where near the intense and...
Published on 29 Jun 2009 by Zus

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A British Giallo perhaps?!?
This is a 1970s British-made slasher film that actually has much in common with the Italian giallo sub-genre that was also popular at this time what with its plot twists, red herrings, flashback scenes and several brutal murders thrown in for good measure to help keep the narrative moving along nicely. I quite like Pete Walker's movies. In the 1970s he and Norman J...
Published on 16 Jun 2009 by Jeremy W. Newbould


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LYNNE FREDERICK AND JUMP OUT YOUR SEAT SCARES, WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT!, 29 Jun 2009
Schizo [US Import] [DVD] [1977] [NTSC]
NO SPOILERS -
I went to a flea pit of a CINEMA in the early 1980's with my first girlfriend to see this, and have not seen it all that time so I wondered if it was going to stand the test of time.
It rode on the back of films like the classic and still outstanding, EXORCIST, although no where near the intense and powerful production.
However it still delivered in my opinion, there is one or two scenes where the director used the old gag of "just when you expect the worse - nothing happens" and then it scares the bejesus out of you, yep, I still got caught, I wont spoil it - but its good.
The effects are a mix between Hammer and seedy B movie stalk n slash, but none the less, a pretty nasty throat ripping scene still looks gruesome, and I had the still in a MONSTER MAG years ago, I thought then, mmmm I wouldn't mind seeing that movie.
I had completely forgot how attractive Lynne Frederick was, a really lovely naturally sexy looking girl, and you do see rather a lot of her, full frontal and rear, such a pretty and charming person, so sad to recently find out she died on 27 April, 1994, aged 39.
This is a fine tribute the the Ex Mrs Peter Sellers, and with her cut glass Brit accent, I loved her performance.
The scene I also recall, is a typical "Possession" in a hall, where the 'Talented' Medium goes into a trance, I recall bulging green zombiesque eyes and a disturbing twisted voice, yep, I remember it well, and it still looked and delivered great.
The character who plays Samantha's(Lynne Frederick) Father,Jack Watson, a great British actor, plays his rough, bitter, and very twisted part, wonderfully.
It took me a while to track this movie down, its not on Reg 2, but may be released, but I would never be without my multi-region DVD players anyway, so all I can say is that its a bit of find in terms of its content and style, and the film has an overall sleazy feel, the print is pretty good, it looked like the slightly jumpy version I saw at the flicks, but the contrast is good and not too much ageing or deterioration is noticeable.
As we have grown accustomed to the modern horror, then this is an old 'slasher' with some supernatural stuff thrown in,and the twisting be it, clever, storyline has since been done to death, but this is still worth a look due to the direction of Mr Walker.
Some nasty knife scenes.
A Pete Walker lost rare scare, that's what I would put it as, and I am glad its in my collection, I relived my youth, and I recommended this, and a reasonable price too, from Amazon.
Oddly enough one of the SABITIER kitchen knives used in the movie, - I actually own the identical one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pete Walker goes psycho - classic British 70's horror, 15 July 2008
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schizo [DVD] (DVD)
Schizo is a typical Pete Walker (Frightmare, House Of Whipcord, The Comeback) film - cheaply made, lots of gore and very enjoyable. Schizo was released in 1976 (they new how to make decent horror films in the 70's) and concerns a young woman Samantha (Lynn Frederick) who witnessed her mother's murder when she was a child. Now just married she is being stalked by her mother old lover (played by sinister Jack Watson). Then her friends start to be murdered one by one.

The plot is quite easy to follow and there is a nice twist near the end. There are the usual selection of 70's actors including Stephanie Beacham (Dracula A D 72, Tenko) and John Leyton. For those of you who like abit of blood there is quite a few of gory killings. The print itself is rather grainy and looks rather washed out. The extras are rather dissapointing all you get is a stills gallary and a Pete Walker filmography. It would have been nice to has a commentary by Pete Walker or some of the cast. appart from that this is an enjoyable British horror film and well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pete Walker Brilliance, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. R. Domar (Wolves) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Plot. A couple are about to get married, it's in the papers, and do. But some weird guy doesn't like this and starts to stalk her.
All is not what it seems in this mystery horror slasher from 1976 from Brit director Pete Walker.
The acting is mostly excellent and the camera work catches all the gory bits often in cutaways and back. The killings are inventive for the time and as a low budget film this is Brit filmmaking at its best. The expositions come in short bursts as flashbacks some of the time even if at first we do not understand what is going on but by the end everything has been explained. Some people might say this is a British Giallo with its slow, creepy and mysterious but well crafted plotline and i wouldn't disagree with this. I loved this film because it made me think a bit while watching the proceedings. Not that i want to think in every film i watch but you know what i mean. Sometimes a film just needs a bit of thought while watching it to get the most out of it. This is just one of those and as a fan of the horror from Pete Walker i would recommend this highly aswell as House Of Whipcord to name another of his that i enjoyed.
Extras are meagre with some stills and a filmography. USA Release but plays Region zero on this Salvation release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good British thriller, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: Schizo [DVD] (DVD)
"Schizo" is a pretty good thriller about a girl who seems to be the target of a mad killer played by the excellent Jack Watson (a very underrated actor). In fact the truth is not so simple... The film begins slowly, but step by step the violence increases. Lynne Frederick is a good choice for the part of the victim. There's also the beautiful Stephanie Beacham, a charming Hammer lady who played in Dracula A.D. 72 with Peter Cushing. Of course the film of Pete Walker has not the graphic violence of an Italian giallo, but it's well done and effective. There's a seance of a medium which is very impressive. It's after this seance that the murders become more violent. Fans of slasher movies from the seventies will be pleased with this British thriller. Unfortunately the print isn't so fine, but it's OK for this rare film. No subtitles. Poor stills gallery. However I recommand this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable sleaze, 23 Jan 2010
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schizo [DVD] (DVD)
Another blood and t*ts sleaze fest from Pete Walker similar in respects to another of his films 'The Comeback' but a bit better I thought. Begining with a rather unfortunate and inaccurate aural description of the condition of 'schizophrenia' that sets the scene for this story of a deranged killer stabbing their way thru 70's London.
The story revolves around a young woman and well known ice skater played by Lynne Frederick who having witnessed the murder of her mother (by her mothers lover) when a small child begins to believe that her mothers murderer is now stalking her since his release from prison.
The film starts with a grim presentation of the 'North East' whereby the convicted man leaves prison and departs by train to the considerably brighter lights and glamour of London, with all his wordly possessions, shirts, socks, 20 inch blade in tow after reading about this now grown-up girls impending marriage.
After a bit of a build-up the killings soon begin with gusto. The woman's associates are turning up dead and Pete Walker quite skilfully opens up a number of possible threads and plot developments that make this more than a straight forward by the numbers slasher. All the performances are good, there is nudity and claret in the usual Walker fashion; some good set pieces including some rather more sensitive and accurate depictions of symptoms more commonly associated with schizophrenia. Some parts of the film are as subtle as a housebrick through the window but that is part of the appeal in films like this from this era.
An enjoyable sleazy film though not maybe a bona fida classic like 'Frightmare' or his two 'House of....' films. Sadly the lead actress Lynne Frederick died aged 39 from substance abuse, her life is a very interesting affair but that's another story. Shame Pete never got round to filming that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unsung talent of british cinema, 5 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schizo [DVD] (DVD)
I was aware of pete walker and in 2005, bought anchor bays box set,with four excellent films and the weaker"die screaming marianne".Together with norman j warren,these two directors made some of the best british indie,thriller/horrors of the 70s.Pete's,all bar one,self-financed."schizo"does what is says on the tin,lynne frederick delivers a good performance in the lead,with jack watson,the "is it too obvious?"red-herring,and cast members are dispatched the walker way,bloody.Alas,no shelia keith,but you cant keep using the same actors can you?there is a stand out scene for me,the seance,look out for that.I confess,i havent seen his sex films,but i have seen"man of violence"pete's gangster film from the late 60s,before he got into his stride in the mid 70s,with "house of the whipcord".All in all though,a decent film from a unsung talent of british cinema(well,at least the NFT acknowledged him in the late 1970s with an all night showing of his films)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A British Giallo perhaps?!?, 16 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Schizo [DVD] (DVD)
This is a 1970s British-made slasher film that actually has much in common with the Italian giallo sub-genre that was also popular at this time what with its plot twists, red herrings, flashback scenes and several brutal murders thrown in for good measure to help keep the narrative moving along nicely. I quite like Pete Walker's movies. In the 1970s he and Norman J. Warren were the bad boys of the British horror film scene and their output differed greatly from that being churned out by companies such as Hammer and Amicus at that time. They were not afraid to take risks and they never shied away from potentially controversial and shocking subject matter. Needless to say their horror films often contained loads of sex and violence that made most Hammer horrors look tame in comparison.

I won't give too much away about Schizo's plot (I'm sure most people will work out who the actual killer is anyway long before the film reaches its climax) but it centres around a beautiful young ice skater, played by the lovely but ill-fated Lynne Frederick (who was once married to Peter Sellars), who is about to marry a bloke who owns a carpet making business (yes, really). Unfortunately there is a troubled incident in her past that happened when she was a little girl and she is haunted by memories of this (little snippets of what happened are revealed in flashbacks at various points of the film). To make matters even worse she starts receiving strange phone calls and she thinks she is being stalked by a rough looking man in a woolley hat!!! She also has sexy Stephanie Beacham to worry about (that's one worry I wouldn't mind having) - could Steph be after her husband or is she just after a cheap carpet? Everyone thinks she is paranoid and imagining things until the body count starts going up.

Overall, this is an enjoyable film to watch , especially if you like 1970s British horror cinema, even if it is a bit predictable and contains a few horror film cliches - the naked girl in the shower scene, for instance. It has a good cast of recognisable actors and actresses and enough violent deaths to satisfy horror fans who like to see plenty of blood. So I suggest you check this one out and track down some of Pete Walker's other movies if you can. That reminds me, one more thing... When is someone going to release House Of The Long Shadows on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Schizo ?, 15 May 2011
This review is from: Schizo [DVD] (DVD)
Soon after annonuncing her forthcoming marriage a famous ice skater (Lynne Frederick) begins to suspect that she is being stalked by a man convicted of a gruesome murder many years earlier. Initially no one takes her very seriously however when a close friend becomes the victim of a deranged killer a grizzly chain of events is set in motion.

Pete Walkers low budget 70's shocker is sometimes described as a British "giallo" as there are plenty of plot twists and "red herrings" leading up to the climax, the killer even sports the black leather gloves usually required for this genre. Disappointingly however it's all a rather slow affair and the script is particularly lame. The cast do their best but only Stepahnie Beacham in a supporting role really has any impact. Much of the photography is on the dark side and lacks the sophistication of the true Italian "giallos" while even the murders themselves are portrayed rather clumsily.

Though I have always enjoyed this kind of film this particular one presents a serious problem. To some degree schizophrenia affects around one person in every hundred and unfortunately the makers of this film had no concept of its true meaning whatsoever - they've got it so wrong. Even back in the 70s the distributer was forced to withdraw the films original tag line from its posters as it gave a highly misleading description of the symptoms of this condition. Re-releasing this film now can only reinforce misconceptions of a very serious illness; sadly this becomes exploitation cinema at a very low level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

Schizo [Blu-ray] [1976] [US Import]
Schizo [Blu-ray] [1976] [US Import] by Pete Walker (Blu-ray - 2013)
9.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews