Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carcasonne is excellent, but many minor expansions are not, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
I thought I couldn't get enough of Carcassonne until I got this box. But some of these expansions are almost pointless. The two big expansions (Inns/Cathedrals & Traders/Builders) are great, huge fun and they integrate well with other game elements and expansions. Others like the mages/witches and flying machine add almost nothing to the game. Messengers brings in needless complications that ruin a lot of Carcassonne's elegant play.

The presentation is excellent though, with the box laid out for the different expansions to go in specific areas and enough plastic bags to keep everything tidy. The rulebook also has a lovely detail of letting you know roughly how much added time each expansion brings to the game. However the box is stupidly big, far bigger than it needs to be. All of the pieces would fit in a regular Carcassonne box! This makes it much harder to transport.

Overall the Big Box is good value, but you may want to stick with the base Carcassonne and cherry pick your favourite expansions. It would also give you more boxes of different sizes to help make the game more portable (handy when you're bringing it to friends houses, or on holiday).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game!, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
Bought this after being impressed with the basic boxed game.Only game I know that my son and daughter like playing (and they are 21 and 18!!). Buy it,you won't be dissappointed!! Very good service as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Boxed set, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
LAMBCHOP007 (Crawley,West sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
This boxed set includes the basic starter game plus the larger expansions of Inns and cathedrals and Traders and builders.These two expansions are probably the best of the add ons available.Not too complicated or overly fussy.Also contains the six MINI expansions that are quite expensive to buy individually.Although the mini expansions do not add a great deal to the gameplay they are not bad.If you dont like them you could bung them on ebay and make £20 to £30 for them (dont forget to print off the instructions for them though).This is an easy game to learn but get used to it before you start using any expansions and only use one at a time until you get used to them.A game of carcassonne lasts approx one hour,a little more with the expansions so you wont be sitting there all day like a game of monopoly lol.There is a moulded plastic insert in the box to keep everything tidy.One reviewer has complained the box is too big.Its about 15 inches long,12 inches wide and about 4 inches deep.

I have managed to bag up the Abbey and mayor,Princess and dragon,The count,The plague,tunnels and few other bits and pieces and managed to fit them all in so its actually very useful for transporting to friends house or holiday etc in one box.Look out on ebay for more obscure add ons or just extra tiles if you want a longer game.Another great add on is the river and the river 2 which includes a tile for branching the river in 2 directions,expensive though !!

Hope this review has been helpful.......enjoy playing,it really is a good game and this set is a good start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monopoly, Risk etc, eat your heart out!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
At last a game that is good for the family in the widest sense:
It is quick to learn (no-one wants 101 rules read to them by a patronising "expert")
It is not too complicated (no-one want to look stupid, even if you ARE drinking at the time)
On the other hand it is not too simple (all those "experts" need to discuss the finer points of strategy)
Mercifully, thankfully, and very importantly, it doesn't go on for hours and hours.
Monopoly - don't even go there, has anyone ever had a happy, completed game??
Risk - we love it, but can't face it now in our competitive family, one son even has all-nighters with his friends.
Carcassonne was recommended to us and our family of eight gave it the thumbs up. We splashed out and bought the big box because you get an amazing set of add-ons with it.
No tears, tantrums, or trauma. Wish I had known about it years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take it as easy or as challenging as you like, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
What a brilliant game! I thought we'd never find a board game to rival Ticket to Ride or the old favourite Monopoly. But this is different and makes you think about the short and the long term. With 9 extensions, you can play it at whatever level your brain can cope at the time and the variety it offers should keep you and your friends entertained for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
Lots of fun. As games go, there is an element of luck, but strategy is also very important. In our particular box, one meeple was missing but the manufacturer replaced it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
An interesting game that needs some strategy and thought. It may be a while before we need to include all the different pieces in the Big Box but it's much better value to get everything in one collection than to buy 'add ons' when you want to progress to a more intricate game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to learn, quickly addictive, endless possibilities, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
Carcassonne is one of those games that is simple to pick up. It can be played quite simply, or very strategically, and depending on the variations that you play (you can play one, all, some or none of the expansion packs with the main game), it can take from as little as 20 minutes to well over an hour to complete. It seems very expensive, but once you have played the base game you'll probably want to buy the add-ons, and this is an economic way to do that. Jolly good fun, definitely one that can be played at many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carcassonne Big Box 2012 6 little expansions, 27 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. George Patterson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
amazing game every one should get this game yes the space needed for this game is big well if every one wants a full monastery it is but its simple easy and loads of fun you never no who wins until the end and there has just been loads more expansions for this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, posted quickly, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Big Box (Toy)
Brilliant game. I am pleased I bought it. The expansions allow for a lot of variety and interest in this clever little, old-fashioned feeling game. We love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carcassonne Big Box
Carcassonne Big Box by Z-Man Games
Used & New from: £210.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews