Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good fantasy
It's an excellent read, well paced, good storyline.This book contains everything you should find in a good fantasy novel. You can find the magic, demons and characters with superhuman abilities and of course the battle between good and evil. I highly recommend this book.
Published 16 months ago by ola

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but missing something...
This was a well-written and enjoyable book of roughly-medieval fantasy (with that tell-tale American influence on the wilderness and towns), with a magic system with one central gimmick and some obvious (and advertised) Christian influences. I liked the characters well enough, and it kept me suitably gripped, but all the way along I couldn't escape the feeling that it was...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good fantasy, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
It's an excellent read, well paced, good storyline.This book contains everything you should find in a good fantasy novel. You can find the magic, demons and characters with superhuman abilities and of course the battle between good and evil. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
This story is well written with all the key ingredients - heroes villains underdog comes good. I thoroughly enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A darn good read, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
An intriguing plot with strong characters takes the reader on a journey where the unexpected becomes the norm. Maybe good things happen too quickly and too easily, but that in no way detracts from the enjoyment of the read. How a drunken sot with no income or standing becomes a tea totalling weapons expert defending king and country in six months is beyond me, but didn't prevent me from reading it as quickly as I could. I will certainly be going for the next installment in the series. The storyline has kept a couple of very interesting characters in the margins ready to bring into the developing story. There should be many a twist in the tale to come to keep the reader guessing and involved. Credit to the author, a very good book and I'm looking forward to see how Errol copes with the budding romance and the many foes that will no doubt plot to end his young life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but missing something..., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a well-written and enjoyable book of roughly-medieval fantasy (with that tell-tale American influence on the wilderness and towns), with a magic system with one central gimmick and some obvious (and advertised) Christian influences. I liked the characters well enough, and it kept me suitably gripped, but all the way along I couldn't escape the feeling that it was just missing something critical to push it to the next level. Perhaps the fantasy world was not quite fantastic enough, while at the same time lacking some of the fundamental realisms that fully-developed worlds give you. Without going into possible spoilers I won't say much more but that it's no more evangelical than, say, the Narnia books (probably less, to be fair), if you (like me) are slightly concerned about fiction with too much blatant politics or religion in it...

Above average for free ebooks, certainly, and worth a look. I'm a harsh rater, I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Place names used need more imagination, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Well written and absorbing however some of the names used were well known to all and only a letter or two changed to make them sound novel more imagination needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected...., 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable foray into "Christian Fantasy".

Found this book on a whim having finished Robin Hobb's latest book. I was instantly hooked, a very rare occurrence for me. This definitely a unique spin on the fantasy genre and I like the religious & paranormal? aspects of the story.

The storyline is gripping although I did get confused with the religious vocabulary, at times. I also felt that sometimes the story progressed way to quickly? As soon as we get used to a character they seem to disappear. Reminiscent of R.R Martin - hopefully they don't all die! Give this a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Terrific read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
G. Indome (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Swift delivery & great reading experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Great read characters are well defined thoroughly enjoyable reading the third book in the series now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews