Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern starter cd, look no further!!
An excellent selection of songs. For any "Northern newbies" out there,this is a cd you should start with!! Great price as well.
Published 6 months ago by Nottsoul.

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid (but not outstanding) Northern Soul comp......
I feel the five-star reviews for this compilation are somewhat overstating the case since they are in effect saying this compilation is a classic on the same level as say Aretha's "Lady Soul" or even KENT's own "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" Northern Soul compilation.... obviously absurd. My own rule on KENT's Northern Soul compilations is that those sourced from multiple...
Published 22 months ago by TCH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Northern starter cd, look no further!!, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent selection of songs. For any "Northern newbies" out there,this is a cd you should start with!! Great price as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
CD excellent and sounds great, very pleased with the CD. It is Various Artists at their best and very enjoyable. GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection for those wanting a bit more soul, 13 Feb 2013
By 
L. Miller (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
I don't profess to be an expert on Northern Soul. Like many I have steadily built by collection through compilations. My attention to this latest release came from this website - [...] , which gave me an indication of a quality release.

It is a wonderful collection of records but I suspect it will be suited to more serious Northern Soul fans. It's not one full of "Indeed I do" type mainstream songs anyway. That's not to say newbies to the "scene" won't appreciate it, but it is one of those compilations of rare and alternative version of classics so may not have that catchy element.

At the moment, it's also not a bad dent to the pocket either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, 17 May 2013
By 
Christopher Barr (Preston, Lancashire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
This is an excellent cd with rare tracks, by lorraine chandler, willie Kendrick, Michael and Raymond, and the cavaliers, well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
I have bought hundreds of soul compilations over the years and this is one of the best. Nancy Wilcox and September Jones were new to me, but Im blown away by their tracks here. Special mention also to the original version of Lorraine Chandler's classic "I cant hold on" and the pied pipers players "Thats what love is" - which is actually the instrumental of Eddie Parker's northern stomper "Im gone"
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detroit soul, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
Purchased for the well priced item.
Not a bad CD
Some not to my taste but all are different when choosing music, others will like what I do not.

A decent buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, it hits the spot, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
A great collection of stunning soul tracks, primarily of the Northern variety. Brilliant, hardly a dud track. Can't wait until the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOLID DETROIT SOUL!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
Wow! What a fabulous collection of rare sixties Detroit tunes, penned by unknown geniuses of their time, a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors choice, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Lynne Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
If you are interested in rare soul this is for you.Kent as done it again well thought out worth adding to your colection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Class, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
I am used to the top class quality of 60ts soul compilations from Adey and Kent, but I believe this is the best yet. From the mind blowing original version of I Can't Hold On with the unbelievable tambourine playing by Jack Ashford, to the best instrumental I have ever heard, She'll Be Leaving You by the Pied Piper Band. The vocal on the RCA CDs was by Willie Kendrick...this is just world class musicianship at a frantic pace, Move over All Turned On and Sliced Tomatoes and I never thought they would be bettered.

The Lorraine Chandler I Hear Music is new to me and also brilliant, as is every LC outing.

I could go on, but this CD has 22 winners out of 24 tracks and is already in my top 3 of Northern Soul compilations. Well done Adey and Kent but why do we have to wait 12 months for volume 2???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul
Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews