Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection for those wanting a bit more soul
I don't profess to be an expert on Northern Soul. Like many I have steadily built by collection through compilations. My attention to this latest release came from this website - [...] , which gave me an indication of a quality release.

It is a wonderful collection of records but I suspect it will be suited to more serious Northern Soul fans. It's not one full...
Published on 13 Feb. 2013 by L. Miller

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid (but not outstanding) Northern Soul comp......
I feel the five-star reviews for this compilation are somewhat overstating the case since they are in effect saying this compilation is a classic on the same level as say Aretha's "Lady Soul" or even KENT's own "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" Northern Soul compilation.... obviously absurd. My own rule on KENT's Northern Soul compilations is that those sourced from multiple...
Published on 10 Feb. 2013 by TCH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection for those wanting a bit more soul, 13 Feb. 2013
By 
L. Miller (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
I don't profess to be an expert on Northern Soul. Like many I have steadily built by collection through compilations. My attention to this latest release came from this website - [...] , which gave me an indication of a quality release.

It is a wonderful collection of records but I suspect it will be suited to more serious Northern Soul fans. It's not one full of "Indeed I do" type mainstream songs anyway. That's not to say newbies to the "scene" won't appreciate it, but it is one of those compilations of rare and alternative version of classics so may not have that catchy element.

At the moment, it's also not a bad dent to the pocket either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
I have bought hundreds of soul compilations over the years and this is one of the best. Nancy Wilcox and September Jones were new to me, but Im blown away by their tracks here. Special mention also to the original version of Lorraine Chandler's classic "I cant hold on" and the pied pipers players "Thats what love is" - which is actually the instrumental of Eddie Parker's northern stomper "Im gone"
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Class, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
I am used to the top class quality of 60ts soul compilations from Adey and Kent, but I believe this is the best yet. From the mind blowing original version of I Can't Hold On with the unbelievable tambourine playing by Jack Ashford, to the best instrumental I have ever heard, She'll Be Leaving You by the Pied Piper Band. The vocal on the RCA CDs was by Willie Kendrick...this is just world class musicianship at a frantic pace, Move over All Turned On and Sliced Tomatoes and I never thought they would be bettered.

The Lorraine Chandler I Hear Music is new to me and also brilliant, as is every LC outing.

I could go on, but this CD has 22 winners out of 24 tracks and is already in my top 3 of Northern Soul compilations. Well done Adey and Kent but why do we have to wait 12 months for volume 2???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rare Northern Soul, 24 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
Another great compilation by Pied Piper, very well put together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Rare Find, 26 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
All tracks are genuinely really rare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid (but not outstanding) Northern Soul comp......, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
TCH (Cambs, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
I feel the five-star reviews for this compilation are somewhat overstating the case since they are in effect saying this compilation is a classic on the same level as say Aretha's "Lady Soul" or even KENT's own "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" Northern Soul compilation.... obviously absurd. My own rule on KENT's Northern Soul compilations is that those sourced from multiple labels are far stronger than those concentrating on a single label/studio (as this one is). That rule holds here that whilst this is a solid "3-star" compilation with excellent sound quality and songs professionally played with expert 'sub-Motwn' arrangements the songs themselves are pretty generic Northern Soul stompers with little variety (especially in tempo) throughout the 60-odd minutes. This lack of variety can be slightly monotonous even for fans of the genre (like myself) --- the better KENT compilations mix things up a bit more by throwing in the odd ballad or bluesier track.

The usual KENT care has gone into the package with comprehensive (if frankly exhausting!) liner notes relating the story of the Pied Piper Production house including snippets of contemporary interviews with surviving players. The sound as usual with KENT is extraordinarily good and it has to be said that considering well over half of these songs are unreleased the quality is actually surprisingly consistent despite the fact there are no lost classics here, almost every track consisting of medium-fast Motown-style rhythms and boilerplate arrangements. The best tracks are by the female singers with September Jones standing out from the pack with the moodier "I'm Coming Home" probably being the pick of the set. Lorraine Chandler, already well known in Northern Soul circles, also contributes very solid material with her "Mend The Broken Pieces Of My Heart" being the pick (again more downbeat in tone than the majority of tracks which makes it stand out). As ever with KENT there'll be a few mystifying choices of which Mike & Ray's "If You Only Knew" is a prime example with 'whitebread-pop' vocals and piffling lyrics over a Motown beat --- simply awful and KENT's statement that this song goes for hundreds of pounds on the collectors circuit just shows how easy it is to part a fool from his money!

Therefore in conclusion: solid enough for keen Northern Soul fans (is there any other type?) but please in no way is this a five-star item by any objective measure --- three-stars is probably a fair rating (ie. good if you like this type of thing but definitely not for the average soul fan; they should get "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" on the same label instead!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors choice, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
Lynne Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
If you are interested in rare soul this is for you.Kent as done it again well thought out worth adding to your colection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable review, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
There are a couple of gems but also some not so good as with alot of these collections, but worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, 17 May 2013
By 
Christopher Barr (Preston, Lancashire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
This is an excellent cd with rare tracks, by lorraine chandler, willie Kendrick, Michael and Raymond, and the cavaliers, well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (Audio CD)
Another superb compilation from Kent, undiscovered gems and rarities, superb liner notes beatifully presented. A gem for lovers of 60s soul,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul
Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews