Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
I nabbed this book while it was free on Amazon. I was sold by the synopsis which reminded me of The Association by Bentley Little- one of my favourite writers. However instead of being a rip-off of the book I have previously read, this novel gave another terrifying dimension to the dangers of gated communities. I was drawn into the story very quickly. This writer knows...
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Cathy Hudson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
Well written, a few gaps in the storyline but I used my imagination to fill in the blanks. I guessed who the bad guys were early on, a bit predictable but nonetheless a good read - I've read far worse. Will read more by this author.
Published 16 months ago by Wendy B


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Dec. 2012
By 
Cathy Hudson (Waterlooville, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
I nabbed this book while it was free on Amazon. I was sold by the synopsis which reminded me of The Association by Bentley Little- one of my favourite writers. However instead of being a rip-off of the book I have previously read, this novel gave another terrifying dimension to the dangers of gated communities. I was drawn into the story very quickly. This writer knows how to tell a story and eases the reader into the scenario, instead of barrelling straight into the action, giving us a chance to get to know the background of each major character and thus, understand their actions and motivation.

I was enthralled with this story and loved this style of writing. I loved the mix of different characters and I actually adored the sound of Eden Falls before the sinister events began. My only criticism of this book is the amount of errors I found. I felt that this sometimes spoilt my enjoyment and made me have to reread certain passages to ascertain what was happening. However in the grand scheme of things, this was a minor irritation and didn't prevent me from reading and thoroughly enjoying this book.

I will look out for more in the same vein from this writer in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heaven on Earth, but Twice as Nice., 17 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. Caroline Lee (Conisbrough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story, the premise was good, I liked the characters and it was well paced. The ending was satisfactory and I liked the usage of some mocked up newspaper front covers etc.

I would have given this 5 Stars but there were a few issues with grammar and a few sentences where it appeared that the author decided to change how they said something, but hadn't quite deleted the original attempt and I think this annoyed me more than usual, because it was such a good story that I wanted it to be more perfect.

I downloaded this on 15th December 2013 and noticed someone else mentioned that there were more than one edition of this story, so perhaps the odd errors I saw were corrected in future editions.

I'll definitely check out the book that followed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absorbing and enjoyable read., 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
When an email showing the splendours of Eden Falls arrives in his inbox Michel thinks that a big change might help him and Emily get over the death of their child.Moving from the U.K to the U.S is a big step to take but Eden Falls gives them new hope for the future with a constant sunny sky and no crime it is surely Heaven on Earth,or is it?
This story reminded me of a made for tv film that was on recently with an author and his wife moving to a gated community.I was't sure I would even bother to finish it but in no time I was drawn in so deep and completely absorbed in it that I just couldn't put it down.The characters are believable and interesting and I liked that we were given a history of how the town came to be.
I give it 5* because I couldn't justify any less due to the enjoyment this book gave me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gated, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book, have read others from this author, all good reads. Definitely recommend . Would have been 5 stars but the ending was drawn out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
These books were a good read, I really enjoyed them and would recommend to family and friends and anyone who likes horror
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
Great characters, did not see the twists coming. If it seems to good to be true then it is. Wake up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
What a good book, could not put it down, fantastic read, first book I have ever read with this author and I be reading more of his,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and absorbing, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
This was my first book from Matt Drabble and I found that the story was very interesting. A couple begin a new life in the town of Eden where everything is perfect, but of course things are never what they seem to be. I will not spoil the fun by disclosing more but there are many twists and turns to satisfy, as the author has a fertile imagination. Easy to read, this is a book that does hold your interest throughout, as the story unravels towards the climax. I will definitely be reading more books from this author as I liked his style and stoyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
Well written, a few gaps in the storyline but I used my imagination to fill in the blanks. I guessed who the bad guys were early on, a bit predictable but nonetheless a good read - I've read far worse. Will read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bookworm, 11 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Gated (Kindle Edition)
It was quite a good book once I got into it. There were more than a few printing errors which did at times annoy. That said it is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gated
Gated by Matt Drabble
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews