Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Am Kloot - A beautifully crafted album of twisted sad laments
"I Am Kloot's" last album "The Sky at night" was a gem and John Bramwell's mixture of twisted sad laments and heart warming anthems should have dominated the charts for an eternity. True a Mercury nomination followed and the presence of the Elbow heavyweights Guy Garvey and Craig Potter at the mixing desk generated significant interest. But while it shone a light on the...
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Pleasant listening
Published 5 months ago by David Nicholas Holland


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Am Kloot - A beautifully crafted album of twisted sad laments, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
"I Am Kloot's" last album "The Sky at night" was a gem and John Bramwell's mixture of twisted sad laments and heart warming anthems should have dominated the charts for an eternity. True a Mercury nomination followed and the presence of the Elbow heavyweights Guy Garvey and Craig Potter at the mixing desk generated significant interest. But while it shone a light on the band the beam was not dazzling. On this new album "Let it all in" the same producers are back although if anything this is a less commercial beast with much of the lushness removed and return to the punchy harder edge of earlier albums with a number of first takes included. It may however be more of a stayer since the quality as ever that shines through. The opener is the burlesque blues of "Bullets" and sees Bramwell bitterly reflecting that "you treat your mind like a cheap hotel/somewhere you can stay but never stop" until it also crashes into a ferocious guitar solo which echoes a Tom Waits style intervention. "Let them all in" is a gentle acoustic number beautifully sung by Bramwell with understated band accompaniment while the excellent "Hold back the Night" could have alternatively figured on Portishead's trip hop gloomy masterpiece "Dummy". It starts with a bass and vocal, an echoing guitar sparingly inserting lonely notes until a the introduction of a pounding piano is eventually swept away by dramatic orchestral strings. As a single it will not trouble the charts but as a great song it ticks all the boxes.

Other songs like the bittersweet "Mouth on Me" harks back to childhood themes and showcases how this band fit together like a well worn glove. Peter Jobson (bass) and Andy Hargreaves (drums) are never needlessly showy but have a great understanding of how to colour in the prefect backdrop, borne of 14 years of reading each others musical mind. It also makes you realize quite how close is young Alex Turner's vocal style to that of Bramwell. Other songs include the lovely little ditty "Masquerade" is pure George Harrison while the jaunty "Some better day" is possibly the one song here that would have obviously fitted on "The Sky at night". There are a couple of songs that don't really engage that much, thus at this at this early point "Shoeless" seems a bit drab, and the last song "These days are mine" possibly overworks the Beatles linkage. That said I Am Kloot songs grow like trees over time and more perseverance will pay of. Much better is the bigger anthem and aching melody of "Even the stars" which sounds to this reviewer to be one of the best things that Bramwell has written.

In the final judgement this is an album which yet again proves that "I Am Kloot" are a hidden treasure and this record will undoubtedly consolidate an already uber loyal fan base and possibly expand it. "Let it all in" shows a band comfortable in their own skin, making the music they want to make and if you like it then fantastic but if you don't move on. This is music that makes sense when you consider the bands 14 year career and their refusal to deviate from a path of steady persistence which will probably never lead to enormous riches. The obvious thing to have done would have been to record "The Sky at Night Part 2". Its to Bramwell and co's credit that they have resisted this and in turn made an album that when all the necessary ingredients come together has a sheer emotional pull which is irresistible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2013 LOOKS LIKE BEING A GREAT YEAR FOR MUSIC !, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
pete shields "axepete" (Mansfield Notts England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
I have always enjoyed I Am Kloot.
They have produced some great work to date but "Let It All In" is, in my opinion, streets ahead of anything else they have ever previously recorded.
The production is perfect.
Lyrically it is wonderful.
" Bullets" is pure genius.
The music is beautifully crafted with a tasty choice of instrumentation which provides the perfect canvass for John Bramwell's fabulously delivered vocal lines.
The trumpet on Some Better Day is exquisite and there is almost a Beatles vibe going on upon some of the tracks, yet this is merely a loose comparison as I Am Kloot always stamp their own inimitable identity upon all their work.
On the whole, there is a more reflective flavour to this album yet it still has enough bite.
Each track weaves its own magical spell and the song order keeps a superb sense of movement throughout the whole listen with subtle, clever twists and turns.
Along with Villagers "Awayland", this is one of the great albums, already, of 2013.
It would seem we are in for a treat this year as the bar is raised, so the standard has been set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, love this album, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (MP3 Download)
I can't begin to say how much I absolutely love this album! There isn't a bad track on it and it is definately is my top album so far this year. It's one of those rare albums that I can sit and listen to with my headphones on and it makes my soul happy! Well with a few quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
I love this band and listen to this while writing. Hold back the night is the best track on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am impressed, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
Another brilliant album by one of the most underrated bands ever. Some great tunes and, as ever, beautiful vocals. It's a shame that they don't get greater recognition. This album has all the familiar sound that made Sky At Night such a wonderful and enduring album and this time Guy Garvey's assistance has put the shine on some more great compositions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Poetic Mastery But Horridly Serious', 28 Sept. 2014
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
'Let It all In' is an album which takes a while to sink in. The bands lyrics, while obviously poetic and cleverly constructed, don't join up many dots for me as far as understanding goes so I'm left with just the musical mood and ambience of the record to truly appreciate.

The first time I heard the album I just thought it was o.k. but further listens seem to have increased its allure. I hear a hint of Dylan and Donovan in some of these songs and like the way that the album works well as a whole. There isn't really anything remotely 'pop' about this record nor is there any humour so it kind of falls into the modern 'meaningful and horridly serious mode' of bands like Snow Patrol and Coldplay.

All in all, its a difficult record to sum up in a few sentences so my best advice is that you buy it, digest it and then see if you can come up with more to say about it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Bramwells confirmation as a great songsmith, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
Peter De Ridder (Mechelen (Belgium)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
Some may have problems with the slightly nasal/flat/sharp voice of frontman John Bramwell, but for me his compositions are strong enough to compensate for that. Ten tracks, less than 38 minutes. Some tracks are more bombastic, others very intimistic. 'Masquerade' is the highlight for me: 2'21'' of pure beauty. It may not be that original, it's just the pure essence of a song, simple and catchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is better, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (MP3 Download)
I think Guy Garvey is getting the hang of I Am Kloot. I've felt past productions have either just recorded them as is (no bad thing) or has gone to the other end of the spectrum and produced sounds that are just too big for their songs. I think with Let It All In he has got the balance just right! Great album in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All in [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Had a few Kloot albums came to them late but am so glad I found them as they can be astounding!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It All In (Audio CD)
Bought because of Guy Garvey connection. Good listening and well produced. Sings tell a story and album gets better with each listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It All In
Let It All In by I Am Kloot
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews