Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
I really enjoy this album and have been playing it almost non-stop since buying it. It's a little different in style to some of their previous albums but no less moving or evocative. It's instantly recognizable as being Calexico and the music and vocals are still captivating.

The second disc is a live album which is also incredibly good. Some of the tracks...
Published 23 months ago by Emily

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calexico Go Pop!
This is an interesting record. It is recognisably Calexico, but is moving strongly toward a more mainstream, even poppy, sound. As somebody who is very keen on the atmospheric languor of their earlier records, for me this is not wholly a good thing. Not my favourite of their records, but well worth a listen.

I bought this item from an independent record...
Published 22 months ago by N. D. Embling


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
I really enjoy this album and have been playing it almost non-stop since buying it. It's a little different in style to some of their previous albums but no less moving or evocative. It's instantly recognizable as being Calexico and the music and vocals are still captivating.

The second disc is a live album which is also incredibly good. Some of the tracks included on that one are Black Heart, The News About William, Inspiracion, Two Silver Trees, Quattro & Crystal Frontier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars calexico hit their stride, 20 Sep 2012
By 
5Ash (Hebden Bridge, West Yorks. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
Calexico have been departing from the Spaghetti Western sound of songs like 'Crystal frontier', not wishing to get too stuck with a particular sound. The mariachi horns and spanish guitars are still there but they take their epic wide-screen sound to a slightly different, more brooding, more atmospheric and, somehow, haunting level. It matches the quality of 'Feast of Wire' but is a very different beast; the musicianship is at a peak and if that isn't enough, there is a whole live album of their older material with strings, horns, the full works, in glorious quality. The vocals are outstanding throughout and the instrumental on the live album is not only epic and wide-screen but also technicolour. Stunning. The live album also has some wonderful variants of their more famous songs, including 'Crystal Frontier'. This new collection is fantastic value and its hard to imagine anyone being disappointed. If you've never heard of Calexico, try this, it'll be the best purchase you've made for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
Calexico are pretty much my favourite band and their last studio album 'Carried to Dust' is a truly great album. It would feature in my 'all time great top ten albums list'. So I was wondering how on earth they would follow it.
Maybe it was my inflated expectations, but I must admit that on first hearing I was a little disappointed with 'Algiers'. If you experience something similar my advice is 'stick with it'! After playing it two three times I can't wait to hear it again. For me the album gets stronger and stronger the more I hear it. It's right up there with Calexico's best work. No doubt the song 'Fortune Teller' will be mentioned by many - and rightfully so, it's a song of spine tingling beauty that is worthy of Dylan at his absolute peak. But the other songs come creeping up behind it gaining strength the more they are heard. Joey Burns appears to be gaining in confidence. His vocal performance on the album is stunning.

Just one addition. In my haste to hear the album I almost downloaded the MP3. I'm glad I didn't because the Cd version contains a bonus CD 'Spiritoso'. All Calexico fans must have this! It is a live performance with the band augmented by what sounds like a huge orchestra and brass section. The string arrangements are exquisite and the performances are inspired. Again, Joey Burn's vocal performance in front of such a massive band is powerful and mesmerising. Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calexico on Top-Form, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
Calexico definitely deserve to be better known on this side of the Atlantic. Having been hooked on some of their previous tracks such as "El Picador" and "Roka", I purchased this album purely on the strength of knowing the unique and rich soundscapes their work always contains. Strangely enough, the fusion of Mariachi instrumentation with contemporary Western instrumentation produces a truly refreshing and inspiring series of soundscapes which often have a worldly and even, at times, an ethereal element to them.

Personal favourites from this album include the moody and emotive "Para", the melodic and jolly title track "Algiers" which evokes feelings of a distant land, and the smooth and emotive closing track "The Vanishing Mind", which is truly like someone playing on heartstrings.

This album has proved a fantastic purchase and I wish Calexico all the very best, and hope they continue to grow and thrive in the years to come. Fantastic artists with an extremely impressive range of tracks. Absolutely love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real return to form, 17 Feb 2013
By 
King Eric (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
This an excellent album from Calexico and to my ears is the best they have done since Feast of Wire. The songs are all well crafted and are a mixture of genres which is what you get with Calexico. My favourites are Epic,Splitter,Fortune Teller and Para. If you going to buy i would recommend the version with the additional live CD which is excellent. I can vouch for how good they are live after seeing them last night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album (particularly on a long overnight drive), 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
This album gets better every time I listen to it - the live version of the album sounds even better. Had to complete a long overnight journey recently - listening to this almost made it seem I was in New Mexico rather than driving to the north of England!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album !, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
As a big fan of Calexico, but slightly disappointed in their last two albums, I'm very excited about this one. Joey Burns sings like never before, the arrangements with trumpets, strings and other instruments are tense and remind of their work with Howe Gelb. Too bad the tracks are finished before you've noticed ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine album, 8 Oct 2012
By 
TMD (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
Wasn't sure what to expect from this one given the references to garden ruin and some 3 star reviews. So people have different taste. For me it's up there with their best work - perhaps a bit less cinematic and more concerned with individual songs than most of their albums. Don't really get the reference to garden ruin - maybe not their best album but with its moments. Excellent second CD as well if you buy the deluxe version containing orchestral arrangements of some of the album tracks and earlier songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 3 Oct 2012
This review is from: Algiers (Audio CD)
Wonderful album. I have all UK released Calexico albums, and for me this is up there. Theres not really a track I dislike. Easily recognised as Calexico, but a bit different at the same time.........perhaps more serious/polished.....not sure how to describe how it's different. Stand out tracks for me Epic, Splitter, Fortune Teller, Hush, the Vanishing Mind......dam it I like them all, apart from Algiers which I'm not overly keen on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, intelligent, moving slice of alt country, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Algiers (MP3 Download)
It's a beautiful album, their best since the superb Feast of Wire. Make sure you buy the deluxe version - the live tracks (with orchestra) are simply stunning; if you don't get goosebumps, you may just have died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Algiers
Algiers by Calexico
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews