Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting musical mix
What a mixture! The album starts out almost funky (including even some slap bass) and then brings in lots of beautifully arranged strings and piano and even some Steve Reich type guitar licks - eat your heart out Pat Methany! Vocally very varied as well. Some similarity to Field Music maybe and perhaps to Low but they really do create their own unique sound - quite an...
Published on 20 Jan. 2013 by Martin Fielding

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 21st century Sparks ?
Interesting to read another reviewer mention the 70's glam rock band Sparks.That was my thought when I first heard the vocals and the jaunty synths. There's all sorts going on here for me,bits of Steely Dan,Stornaway,the New Romantics. Nothing wrong with plundering your musical heritage though. I've heard the band compared to Alt-J and Everything Everything? I must admit,...
Published on 28 Jan. 2013 by Jago Wells


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting musical mix, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a mixture! The album starts out almost funky (including even some slap bass) and then brings in lots of beautifully arranged strings and piano and even some Steve Reich type guitar licks - eat your heart out Pat Methany! Vocally very varied as well. Some similarity to Field Music maybe and perhaps to Low but they really do create their own unique sound - quite an achievement in this day and age. This is fighting with Everything Everything's brilliant Arc for space on my CD player as I write and I can assure you that is high praise indeed! Loses a star only because, being an old fashioned CD fan, the print design is very poor with all the text in white out of very busy background, so accordingly barely legible including the lyrics and even the track listing on the back cover - so you might as well buy it on MP3. But please do buy it if you like clever melodic indie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Touch In The Wild (MP3 Download)
Purveyors of prog pop, what a wonderful thing.

Beautiful album from start to finish. Proving Manchester isn't just producing Neanderthal-like trash, from the likes of Liam's Gallagher and Frey.

Buy it, listen to it, love it.

And check out the video for Flexxin, the best dance moves you will ever witness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as always...when will their time come??, 15 Jan. 2013
By 
Another great album by Manchester's Dutch Uncles. Hopefully with the semi-acceptance into the mainstream of Alt-J, these guy's will start to enjoy some much deserved success. Buy it and help thoughtful, intelligent, beautifully written, arranged and produced guitar pop of the highest quality get noticed by the masses, if they can tear themselves away from the X Factor dross and Rihanna's chest that is. Actually, second thoughts, let's keep this lot to ourselves :) they're too good!!!! Seriously, excellent album, great band, buy it NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 21st century Sparks ?, 28 Jan. 2013
By 
Jago Wells - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Interesting to read another reviewer mention the 70's glam rock band Sparks.That was my thought when I first heard the vocals and the jaunty synths. There's all sorts going on here for me,bits of Steely Dan,Stornaway,the New Romantics. Nothing wrong with plundering your musical heritage though. I've heard the band compared to Alt-J and Everything Everything? I must admit, when I first heard Alt-J they had a much bigger impact than this band. I think that's down to stronger songwriting craftsmanship and arrangements. No individual tracks here jump out for me and as a whole,it all sounds a bit much of a muchness. I keep playing it and hoping it will be an album which grows on me but so far it's not happening.Perhaps Dutch Uncles need to re-visit Sparks' 1974 album Kimono my House and hone their songwriting skills to that standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swooping Proggy Extraordinary Brilliant, 7 Feb. 2013
If you've ever wondered (and I'm sure you have) what Radiohead would sound like had they been pumped full of Prozac, then buy this LP. Dutch Uncles don't actually sound like the Oxford gloomsters but they match them note for note for creativity, ability and the dazzling array of influences on display. Of course, the dirty secret is, they're pretty damn proggy too (but I think it's just about okay to like a bit of prog these days.....) Duncan Wallis has an extraordinary voice; a swooping, swooning choirboy whose crystal clear diction relishes every syllable and is supported by brilliantly precise arrangements and some of the best string arrangements currently to be heard. Please pass over the Emperor's new clothes acts such as Alt-J and embrace the Uncles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real grower, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I listened to the tracks early in the year and it was only when I listened to them a second and third time I realised how good this album is.

They are supporting Everything Everything later this year and their music is not a million miles away, so if you like 'Arc' you'll probably like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Touch In The Wild (MP3 Download)
I previously purchased Cadenza by Dutch Uncles. This offering from the boys though was just a cut above it. Really good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
J. Hennessey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Touch In The Wild (MP3 Download)
Some great hooks, and excellent instrumental passages, lovely use of violins, cellos and marimba mixed in with funky bass lines and intertwining guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Multi-layered music for your head, 28 Jan. 2013
By 
Paul Blaney "blazctid" (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Touch In The Wild (MP3 Download)
Great album. Quite short but very memorable. Like a cross between Sparks and Hot Chip with a large dose of Field Music thrown in. The songs are very enjoyable and they do like to play with the rhythm, building layers of syncopated sound. Some of the timings seems to repeat across the album, just with different instruments.
Very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 27 May 2013
By 
Walkdel (Bracknell, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very underrated album. It's quite 'poppy' in places but don't let that put you off. There are touches of Alt-j and 2 Door Cinema Club but it's a very good album indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out Of Touch In The Wild
Out Of Touch In The Wild by Dutch Uncles
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews