Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
Purveyors of prog pop, what a wonderful thing.

Beautiful album from start to finish. Proving Manchester isn't just producing Neanderthal-like trash, from the likes of Liam's Gallagher and Frey.

Buy it, listen to it, love it.

And check out the video for Flexxin, the best dance moves you will ever witness.
Published 19 months ago by DUfan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 21st century Sparks ?
Interesting to read another reviewer mention the 70's glam rock band Sparks.That was my thought when I first heard the vocals and the jaunty synths. There's all sorts going on here for me,bits of Steely Dan,Stornaway,the New Romantics. Nothing wrong with plundering your musical heritage though. I've heard the band compared to Alt-J and Everything Everything? I must admit,...
Published 18 months ago by Arthur Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Touch In The Wild (MP3 Download)
Purveyors of prog pop, what a wonderful thing.

Beautiful album from start to finish. Proving Manchester isn't just producing Neanderthal-like trash, from the likes of Liam's Gallagher and Frey.

Buy it, listen to it, love it.

And check out the video for Flexxin, the best dance moves you will ever witness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting musical mix, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a mixture! The album starts out almost funky (including even some slap bass) and then brings in lots of beautifully arranged strings and piano and even some Steve Reich type guitar licks - eat your heart out Pat Methany! Vocally very varied as well. Some similarity to Field Music maybe and perhaps to Low but they really do create their own unique sound - quite an achievement in this day and age. This is fighting with Everything Everything's brilliant Arc for space on my CD player as I write and I can assure you that is high praise indeed! Loses a star only because, being an old fashioned CD fan, the print design is very poor with all the text in white out of very busy background, so accordingly barely legible including the lyrics and even the track listing on the back cover - so you might as well buy it on MP3. But please do buy it if you like clever melodic indie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as always...when will their time come??, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Another great album by Manchester's Dutch Uncles. Hopefully with the semi-acceptance into the mainstream of Alt-J, these guy's will start to enjoy some much deserved success. Buy it and help thoughtful, intelligent, beautifully written, arranged and produced guitar pop of the highest quality get noticed by the masses, if they can tear themselves away from the X Factor dross and Rihanna's chest that is. Actually, second thoughts, let's keep this lot to ourselves :) they're too good!!!! Seriously, excellent album, great band, buy it NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is beyond me how this didn't make the top 10 albums list of most critics. A really good album from start to finish with angled grooves and awesome time changes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Touch In The Wild (MP3 Download)
I previously purchased Cadenza by Dutch Uncles. This offering from the boys though was just a cut above it. Really good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real grower, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I listened to the tracks early in the year and it was only when I listened to them a second and third time I realised how good this album is.

They are supporting Everything Everything later this year and their music is not a million miles away, so if you like 'Arc' you'll probably like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 27 May 2013
By 
D Walklate (Bracknell, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very underrated album. It's quite 'poppy' in places but don't let that put you off. There are touches of Alt-j and 2 Door Cinema Club but it's a very good album indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping in Touch, 14 Mar 2013
By 
R. Cheshire (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Read the reviews in Q mag and got the album. This is reminiscent of later day King Crimson when Adrian Belew was on the scene. Keep it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Totally Brilliant band, a Totally Brilliant album!, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Jk Parrott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dutch Uncles are one amazing band, and this is one amazing album.
Surely a contender for the Mercury Prize this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 16 Feb 2013
By 
J. Hennessey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Touch In The Wild (MP3 Download)
Some great hooks, and excellent instrumental passages, lovely use of violins, cellos and marimba mixed in with funky bass lines and intertwining guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out Of Touch In The Wild
Out Of Touch In The Wild by Dutch Uncles
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews