Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In The Footsteps of Cadfael
I had trouble putting this book down! Character development was excellent, as was the history, and as soon as I finished the book, I went out and bought the next 3 in the series.
Published on 20 Feb 2012 by IdahoSwede

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok read
This book makes for easy reading and is pleasant enough, but it did not have the power of Paul Doherty or the attraction of the Cadfael novels. I was perhaps irrationally irked by the Americanisms that abound and the constant use of "for cert" which seemed anachronistic, but who am I to judge? If you enjoy medieval mysteries you will probably enjoy this.
Published 19 months ago by eastcoast


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok read, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book makes for easy reading and is pleasant enough, but it did not have the power of Paul Doherty or the attraction of the Cadfael novels. I was perhaps irrationally irked by the Americanisms that abound and the constant use of "for cert" which seemed anachronistic, but who am I to judge? If you enjoy medieval mysteries you will probably enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacked historical authenticity, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1) (Kindle Edition)
The characterisations and plot started well but I became bored with the story by the middle of the book and found the repetition of Americanisms such as 'for Cert' and descriptions of 'green eyes' very off putting for a novel of medieval England. It just did not seem to hold together very well historically for me either with Bedlam mentioned which was a later institution. Not on a par with very many other excellent historical authors as regards language used, historical accuracy or plot intricacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book OK but a bit slow and ponderous in places. The plot was good enough and the setting and characters interesting but I think that perhaps the author's style of writing, in my personal view, let it down, certainly when compared with Paul Doherty or Susanna Gergory, etc.
As with others the americanisms annoyed me. I don't think "for cert" was a mediaeval expression, although the author might have thought it sound like one, however I could live with that, what really grated was "John had written Rupert" - written to, please! Perhaps getting annoyed over little things like this indicates that I was not engrossed in the book enough to overlook them.
I might give the second in the series a go to see if there is any improvement but there are a multitude of better historical crime and thriller books out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In The Footsteps of Cadfael, 20 Feb 2012
By 
IdahoSwede (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had trouble putting this book down! Character development was excellent, as was the history, and as soon as I finished the book, I went out and bought the next 3 in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Period whodunnit, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1) (Kindle Edition)
Tip top thriller. Fascinating historical detail and interesting characters. Expect more from this period and the problem solving monastics, Cadfael may have met his match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1) (Kindle Edition)
Generally I don't like medieval mysteries. For me this book breaks that prejudice. The historical background seems fascinating and well researched, the story is engrossing and the characters are interesting and develop as the book progresses. I will read more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1) (Kindle Edition)
Had read another of P Royal books, so knew what to expect and this was a really good read. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Evie (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fast Delivery good book if you like this type of story cant say more about this book. other than enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good medeval mystery from a newcomer, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1) (Kindle Edition)
it needs more depth and a more research but the story was strong and fun in places young almost teenage prioresses were certainly sent to monastarys and nunnerys because of their rich background and family .. how suitable they were is another story and possibly one reason the nuns got such a bad reputation but this young lady had a good head on her shoulders and the smarts to make friendsand knew respect is earned not forced it was well done and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill can't wait for book 2, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was I interesting I have order book 2 I think it will be as good can't wait for it to arrive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wine of Violence (Medieval Mystery 1)
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews