Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A deep insight in Pompey's hooliganism
The book gives some insights into the culture of British hooligans by exploring the legendary 6.57 of Portsmouth. Well written narattives provide a very good understanding of the phenomenon of hooliganish in early 80s England.
I can't really understand why Cass was involved in this book as a co-author. Someone who wasn't member of the 6.57 (let alone a Pompey...
Published on 20 April 2009 by M. Kleidis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Really not as good as I hoped. it's hard to tell what cass pennent's role is in the book. I get the impresion only members of the 6.57 will undertsand what the hell is going on half the time.
Published on 8 Oct. 2003 by David Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 Oct. 2003
By 
Really not as good as I hoped. it's hard to tell what cass pennent's role is in the book. I get the impresion only members of the 6.57 will undertsand what the hell is going on half the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written but not without its charm, 7 July 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike another reviewer who has based his comments on the synopsis (a career as a professional criticism surely awaits this individual), I have actually taken the trouble to read this book.
In terms of spelling, grammar, construction and factual accuracy this book is no winner. It's clear Cass Pennant is not a Pompey fan - getting the FA Cup final years wrong and referring to the North Terrace as the "North Bank" are two of the give aways.
If you take the accounts of events with a pinch of salt you have what is basically just another run of the mill hoolie book (we done this and that mob, we never ran from no-one etc) - but with a bit more interest for the average Portsmouth fan.
Some of the accounts of events in this history of PFC fans on the rampage are funny and absorbing and the chapter on the effect of the rave scene on the "firm" is quite illuminating.
I didn't expect much from "Rolling" and to be fair I wasn't disappointed - but its not without its charm and it whiled away a wet summer weekend waiting for the start of the season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit like PFC, promising but somewhat disappointing, 2 Jan. 2005
I usually love these type of books, but to be honest I was a little disappointed with Rolling with the 6.57 Crew. Whilst there were some great stories, and you got a real feel for the Pompey boys and their domination of the terraces, there are only so many stories of this type you can read. When you are on the 59th account of a trip to Leeds, Manchester or wherever it does get a little tedious. All the same it was highly readable, but there are many much more entertaining and enjoyable books on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most retarded book available within the hoolie genre., 23 Jan. 2009
I understand that football hooligans are for the most part probably not university professors. This fact however is no excuse for the completely incomprehensible way this book is written and that! (joke, every other sentence in the book really does read like this.) Does this publishing house not employ any editors?

The one good point about this book I did find however, was that unlike many other books of this genre, instead of trying to declare that this was a pastime of "game lads versus game lads" this is the first book I have read on the subject where the author and contributors openly admit that they would regularly execute cowardly attacks on innocent fans & local vendors etc. It really is honest in that respect and steers clear of trying to cover the hoolie element of it as only being like on like.

I really had to work hard to finish this book due to the level of illiteracy. The first couple of chapters were particularly hard going until I managed to get my head into the retarded mindset that is a Pompey hooligan.

If you thought inbreeding didn't still exist in a modern Britain then read this book. All the evidence that it does is all there within these pages, it is clearly still extremely rife in certain pockets of the country.

It really is the most illiterate book I have read on the subject and extremely hard going. All in all an extremely retarded read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A deep insight in Pompey's hooliganism, 20 April 2009
By 
M. Kleidis (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book gives some insights into the culture of British hooligans by exploring the legendary 6.57 of Portsmouth. Well written narattives provide a very good understanding of the phenomenon of hooliganish in early 80s England.
I can't really understand why Cass was involved in this book as a co-author. Someone who wasn't member of the 6.57 (let alone a Pompey supporter) can't write anything about them.
I like the pictures and some of the narratives but some of the stories had no or little action and in my opinion should not be included in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what I wanted to read and at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
That's right this is a fantastic insight into some of the biggest idiots to have ever come out of England.
I thought the George Best book was bad the way his illness (alcoholism) is compared with cancer, maybe it could have been compared to the cancer known as the 657 crew.
This book does nothing but glorify a bunch of racist idiots who probably still wet the bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor and tedious, 9 July 2007
By 
I. R. Manton (Northampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes I read this, yes I have read a number of others of a similar genre. I have also travelled the country and seen football violence at first hand (including visits to Portsmouth). The book though is probably one of the worst that has been written on the subject. The style of writing makes it very difficult to read. You will have to be a serious Portsmouth supporter or totally besotted with football violence if you want to stick with it to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snapshot of the eighties, 20 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book provides a snapshot of social history in England during the eighties. The grammar is not brilliant but neither were the lyrics of the music of the era eg Madness.
The book demonstrates how someone can rise above their earlier lifestyle and perhaps it will inspire others to move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Off the Rails!!!!, 14 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
Not a very good read, probably one of the worst hoolie reads out there, lots of bragging, not much about Pompeys recent times, this book seems stuck in the '70s & early 80's, it would of been better if it detailed the full history right up to the present day. It seems to document every success they had on the terraces but very rarely talks about them taking a beating, which every firm will admit does happen occasionally, and I cant quite figure out what Cass Pennant involvement is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews