Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something new!
Alex scarrow best known for his TimeRiders (Book 1) series, and also for his adult thrillers A Thousand Suns, The Candle Man, Last LightAfterlightOctober Skies. The one thing that Alex has been consistent with is his great characters.
Each person is brought to life very quickly, with a very honest human quality, never given an ability or set of circumstances that the...
Published 19 months ago by Parm

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure if I read the same book as everyone else?
As I have said, I'm not sure that I read the same book as people who gave it 5 stars.

I gave it two stars as there are some quite amusing parts in this book and in fairness the author is probably a better writer than I am. He sets up the character of Ellie really rather well, however, that is pretty much all he does.

20 chapters it takes for her to...
Published 12 months ago by nicola vernon


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something new!, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
Alex scarrow best known for his TimeRiders (Book 1) series, and also for his adult thrillers A Thousand Suns, The Candle Man, Last LightAfterlightOctober Skies. The one thing that Alex has been consistent with is his great characters.
Each person is brought to life very quickly, with a very honest human quality, never given an ability or set of circumstances that the every day person could not deal with.
Its this approach that makes all his books grab you from the first page to the last.
Ellie Quin is no exception, i have to say that i draw some comparisons with "The Ballad of Halo Jones" the 2000ad classic tale, but don't let that put you off, its not a classic for no reason, its one of their iconic tales. But Alex does take the concept in a different direction.
Some might wonder if this is a tale for teens? or just girls. But I'm a 40 year old man and i enjoyed it very much....(does that say more about me or the book...i leave that to you).

I give you none of the story, as its too easy to give spoilers... but suffice to say its worth a download (its free for the next few days, and then still only 1.99 after that..parts 2 & 3 are already on amazon to download as well, so get stuck in and immersed in the new Iconic story of a young Woman's travels in a highly imaginative future world. a thriller set against and extraordinary Universe

Buy it
(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
Another great story by Alex Scarrow, gripping from the first page. This book is a rival for the Timeriders series,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ellie Quin - thoughts and reviews, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
NON SPOILER THOUGHTS

before i start i need to point out that some one needs to invent
"CosmoRod Stim-Shakers"

glad that's out of the way :@)

truth be told it took me nearly a whole day to read book 1,but that's more to do with my hectic schedule than anything else.from start to finish this book is not only really easy to read but it has a certain pick up and return factor that other books don't tend to have.

part 1 is the beginning of Ellie's journey,the 1st 3 chapters are set out to introduce the family of Ellie and some of the values,then WAM...an early curve ball is thrown in ,a curve ball that has you second guessing for the rest of the story, followed up by one of my fav chapters ive read in ages,since this is non spoiler i will call it "chapter 5" [original :@) )]its a little side story that iam sure will proberly play out a bit more in later books,but it manages bring an event to life,in a touching and even at parts funny chapter that brings together the true quality's of the Quinn family.

its not the time to go into spoilers [yet] but i will say after i finished book 1,iam eagerly waiting for the time to sit a go threw book 2,and if it wasn't the busiest time of the year,i think i would have kept these thoughts to myself as i would have been to busy going threw book 2 & 3 .

i cant wait to see Jez come into her own in the next book ,and iam looking forward to seeing just what " the event " is,although i have a feeling i proberly wont find out in book 2 either :@0 ....opps there i go predicting again .....

a great start to what i hope will be an even greater journey :@)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly interesting read., 28 May 2014
By 
Richard W. Logan "Logan likes" (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
A really good start to what I hope is a great series. Massive fan of Scarrows other books so I'm excited about this series. New and strangely recognisable world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
Wow, i bought the Ellie Quin books on a whim, trying out my new e reader, and omg they are absoultly brillient, i love them all. Hurry up with the 4th book. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EllIie Quinn, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
Good books but have a tendency to end unexpectedly and be a little on the short side , easy believable characters and nice change of setting for fantasy fiction all in all shaping up to be an interesting tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ellie Quin legend, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
The Ellie Quin series I found the Ellie Quin books 1 2 and 3 a great read I hope there are more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy read!, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book because it was on offer. I thoroughly enjoyed it and once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. I ordered the next 2 books in the series. My only complaint - the books are too short and I get through them too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book. Couldn't put it down. Have already bought and read the next books in the series that are available to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, bargain price for all three on Kindle., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ellie Quin Episode 1: The Legend of Ellie Quin (The Ellie Quin Series) (Kindle Edition)
This series had me hooked from the beginning and I'm SO glad I bought all three books - can't wait for Book 4!
I'm an adult reader and love this type of story... these are well written and good fun. I felt the same as a few other reviewers... they were more like long chapters than whole books - but then... here am I hanging out for the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews