Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New to Thai? I found this a great supplement to Thai PDQ....
I'd been learning to speak Thai for about four months using the Thai PDA 4xCD course from Linguaphone and a couple of online resources. My progress had begun to slow and I was in danger of losing interest when I bought this little book. Instantly, key questions and mis-understandings that had frustrated me were answered and corrected. It was like getting a simple,...
Published on 13 Dec. 2008 by G. L. Nourse

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instant Thai
"Instant Thai" in yer dreams. Nothing is that easy, you need to have some basic knowledge of the The Thai language first otherwise you could be talking any language. Otherwise very helpful.
Published on 22 Nov. 2011 by merry-terry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New to Thai? I found this a great supplement to Thai PDQ...., 13 Dec. 2008
By 
G. L. Nourse "Thai fan" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd been learning to speak Thai for about four months using the Thai PDA 4xCD course from Linguaphone and a couple of online resources. My progress had begun to slow and I was in danger of losing interest when I bought this little book. Instantly, key questions and mis-understandings that had frustrated me were answered and corrected. It was like getting a simple, straight forward second opinion on something that had seemed just too complicated.

Included are words and phrases in ten topics for common situations, some very interesting cultural notes, grammer, plus a worthwhile English-Thai word list.

The best of it is being provided with the essential Thai you need in order to get speaking fast. It's when you start speaking the language that you really see the fun and progress.

So in a nutshell, I recommend 'Instant Thai' as a very useful supplement to more serious study. In particular, I believe it's essential to hear Thai spoken by native speakers as the phonetic Roman is spelt differently in every source I've seen and cannot interpreted without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dee, 30 July 2010
Not bad,
this is a pocket size book that you should not expect to teach you much but in fact it does give you common terms and gives you examples of how the terms are used in the context they are used in normal conversations. Therefore it is worth having as a basic tutorial on some common phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instant Thai, 22 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Instant Thai" in yer dreams. Nothing is that easy, you need to have some basic knowledge of the The Thai language first otherwise you could be talking any language. Otherwise very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars instant thai, 28 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I use this all the time to remind me of words, its layed out in such away its useful for reminding you.

I have studied thai for a year and this book I use more than others as a revision book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Start Here!!!, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to learn Thai start with this little book - this is how you learnt English before going to school - one single word is expanded into 10 or so expressions covering a lot of what you will want to say.It's also easy for Thais to use in reverse - take it with you when you go. I have bought several of these little books and ended up giving them away to Thai friends to learn English. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No good for reading, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs (milton keynes, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely no good for learning to read Thai. The script is tiny and when you enlarge the font size it only enlarges the Roman script font, not the Thai so I physically cannot actually identify the individual letters in many cases. Obviously cheaply constructed epub. Might be OK if you're only interested in the romanisation of Thai but to actually learn the Thai script this is no good at all. Very frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 11 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good little book, it also explains how to pronounce the words. Makes a good companion to other Thai phrase books. Anyone who wants to learn Thai could do a lot worse than buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ebook legibility poor, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Kindle Edition)
The content is OK however the Thai characters do not magnify in the ebook format making reading them on devices with smaller screens difficult to almost impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful in expanding understanding, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
B. Andrews "Book Bern" (UK and NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is great for increasing understanding of Thai phrases and ways of expressing ideas.
small book but excellent for moving beyond rote learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Small but practical, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very small but very practical in case you need to give an answer right away or feel that something has been misjudged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews