Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of a nightmare
The Borg first turned up in season 2 of TNG and have proved to be a worthy foe across many episodes, films and novels. The Destiny trilogy provides closure both on the origin and destination of the Borg.

The crews of the Enterprise, Titan and Aventine have to deal with both a massive Borg invasion plus a mystery around the Columbia, a sister ship of the NX01...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I haven't read much star trek to be honest and didn't know what to expect. The series of three books here tell he origin and culmination of the Borg. The middle book dragged a little and it wad rather obvious what the 'secret' was but they were well written and I did enjoy them.
Published 18 days ago by Ahmi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of a nightmare, 19 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Epsom, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
The Borg first turned up in season 2 of TNG and have proved to be a worthy foe across many episodes, films and novels. The Destiny trilogy provides closure both on the origin and destination of the Borg.

The crews of the Enterprise, Titan and Aventine have to deal with both a massive Borg invasion plus a mystery around the Columbia, a sister ship of the NX01 Enterprise. This means that there are a lot of characters to keep track of and things really don't start to become clear until well into the second book.

Ultimately the Destiny is an intriguing mystery complete with red herrings. The novels make some pretty sweeping changes to the Star Trek universe and that's not going to sit well with some readers but at the end of the day, the events of these novels were probably necessary to clear up the Borg problem (the Borg are the ultimate threat but time and time again are beaten back at the last minute only to refurbishing a few months down the line like a serial killer in a cheap horror film) and the final solution when it finally arrives is completely in line with the finest tradition of Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great big(!!!) Triology, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destiny (Star Trek) (Paperback)
I know some people don't like the fact that this triology has caused havoc in the Federation. It made so many major changes to some established trek "facts" that, in that respect, it is only a few pegs below the rebooted Startrek movie.

On top of it all, normally, I hate Borg stories. Though their initial appreatence on TNG was great, they have been overused and abused and have now become absolutely uninteresting. But, this story shows that we can still weave a good borg story and then tie the whole Borg cannon into a nice little knot and then blow it out of the torpedo tube.

I found this story so good that I read all the 800+ pages in less than 2 weeks. It was very engrossing and slightly distrurbing (if you liked the "way things were" in star trek).

I did find myself very surprised by the charecterization of Picard. This isn't the same starship captain I remembered. So, there were somethings that were, to me at least, against established character traits. But, all these niggling issues were forgotten due to an excellent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Trilogy, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
After hearing about this range of books, I felt I had to purchase it as, being a big fan of TNG and of The Borg, this was a no brainer. It kept you enthralled throughout, and not once did I want to put my mobile/kindle app down. One thing I will say is that this book is a game changer, things won't be the same after this (unless someone hits a book-related reset button, how I hated that in the Voyager TV series at times!).

Read this and know how The Borg originated. You'll be blown away (like most of Starfleet!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marvelous!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
The best Star Trek novel I have ever read! A gripping story from start to finish and tied up well at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars second time reading ST:Destiny, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
What first dragged me into this book was it's ties to the book 'Ships of the Line' with the Columbia NX-02's fate. As the story begins it builds momentum fast.
After reading the trilogy the first time it left me wanting to read it again. I have never been able to read a book/ series of books for a second time and not be able to stop reading them.
Not only did David Mack manage to cross over multiple series and characters of Star Trek he brought with them chemistry and their diverse personalities. On top of that he also paid mentions to other crews and authors works such as S.C.E and New Frontier (which stories I love). And he used his own material from the starfleet survival guide- which is also a very good read.
To finish this review I say that this is a very good read and one no one should miss out on. What more can I say except past and future crews alike face the federations darkest hour against the Borg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
I haven't read much star trek to be honest and didn't know what to expect. The series of three books here tell he origin and culmination of the Borg. The middle book dragged a little and it wad rather obvious what the 'secret' was but they were well written and I did enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars compelling read, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
The book is a compelling read. The saga of the genesis of the Borg to the ultimate resolution. A must read for the new book being published
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from start to finish, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
Finally the answer to the question, "Who are the Borg and where did they come from. "

Couldn't put this trilogy down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
I've read quite a few Star Trek books over the years. This one is right up there with the best. I honestly can't fault this. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star trek destiny, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Kindle Edition)
Very pleased with this book the story and caricature s are very well thought out very good conclusion good descriptions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews