Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2013
I know some people don't like the fact that this triology has caused havoc in the Federation. It made so many major changes to some established trek "facts" that, in that respect, it is only a few pegs below the rebooted Startrek movie.

On top of it all, normally, I hate Borg stories. Though their initial appreatence on TNG was great, they have been overused and abused and have now become absolutely uninteresting. But, this story shows that we can still weave a good borg story and then tie the whole Borg cannon into a nice little knot and then blow it out of the torpedo tube.

I found this story so good that I read all the 800+ pages in less than 2 weeks. It was very engrossing and slightly distrurbing (if you liked the "way things were" in star trek).

I did find myself very surprised by the charecterization of Picard. This isn't the same starship captain I remembered. So, there were somethings that were, to me at least, against established character traits. But, all these niggling issues were forgotten due to an excellent story.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
The Borg first turned up in season 2 of TNG and have proved to be a worthy foe across many episodes, films and novels. The Destiny trilogy provides closure both on the origin and destination of the Borg.

The crews of the Enterprise, Titan and Aventine have to deal with both a massive Borg invasion plus a mystery around the Columbia, a sister ship of the NX01 Enterprise. This means that there are a lot of characters to keep track of and things really don't start to become clear until well into the second book.

Ultimately the Destiny is an intriguing mystery complete with red herrings. The novels make some pretty sweeping changes to the Star Trek universe and that's not going to sit well with some readers but at the end of the day, the events of these novels were probably necessary to clear up the Borg problem (the Borg are the ultimate threat but time and time again are beaten back at the last minute only to refurbishing a few months down the line like a serial killer in a cheap horror film) and the final solution when it finally arrives is completely in line with the finest tradition of Star Trek.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 4 October 2015
This is an omnibus edition, which contains the three books which make up the Destiny trilogy in one volume.
1. Gods of Night
2. Mere Mortals
3. Lost Souls
These stories tell of a mammoth struggle against the seemingly unstoppable onslaught of the Borg Collective against Federation space, and against the space of anyone in their way. Klingons, Vulcans, all races; they are all caught up in the sweep of the Borg cubes as they indiscriminately slaughter millions and destroy countless worlds. But why are they doing this? And what can be done to stop them?

Meanwhile, we also read of individual lives – of Picard, Riker, Troy, Worf, Dax and many others, all of whom have their own personal demons to battle as the struggle for ultimate survival goes on.

This is a great omnibus, and three great individual stories. The omnibus comes in at well over 800 pages, and is a hefty read, but the three stories are action-packed. When you consider that the whole 800+ page story takes place across one month in the current period (February 2381), with flashbacks, you will get some idea of how much action and detail is packed in to the pages. A great Star Trek trilogy, this omnibus offers a delightful and tense journey for the reader, with characters from ‘Next Generation’, ‘Deep Space Nine’, and ‘Voyager’ Star Trek worlds. Highly recommended, this is a great series of reads from David Mack.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
After hearing about this range of books, I felt I had to purchase it as, being a big fan of TNG and of The Borg, this was a no brainer. It kept you enthralled throughout, and not once did I want to put my mobile/kindle app down. One thing I will say is that this book is a game changer, things won't be the same after this (unless someone hits a book-related reset button, how I hated that in the Voyager TV series at times!).

Read this and know how The Borg originated. You'll be blown away (like most of Starfleet!)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 4 October 2015
This is an omnibus edition, which contains the three books which make up the Destiny trilogy in one volume.
1. Gods of Night
2. Mere Mortals
3. Lost Souls
These stories tell of a mammoth struggle against the seemingly unstoppable onslaught of the Borg Collective against Federation space, and against the space of anyone in their way. Klingons, Vulcans, all races; they are all caught up in the sweep of the Borg cubes as they indiscriminately slaughter millions and destroy countless worlds. But why are they doing this? And what can be done to stop them?

Meanwhile, we also read of individual lives – of Picard, Riker, Troy, Worf, Dax and many others, all of whom have their own personal demons to battle as the struggle for ultimate survival goes on.

This is a great omnibus, and three great individual stories. The omnibus comes in at well over 800 pages, and is a hefty read, but the three stories are action-packed. When you consider that the whole 800+ page story takes place across one month in the current period (February 2381), with flashbacks, you will get some idea of how much action and detail is packed in to the pages. A great Star Trek trilogy, this omnibus offers a delightful and tense journey for the reader, with characters from ‘Next Generation’, ‘Deep Space Nine’, and ‘Voyager’ Star Trek worlds. Highly recommended, this is a great series of reads from David Mack.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 4 October 2015
This is an omnibus edition, which contains the three books which make up the Destiny trilogy in one volume.
1. Gods of Night
2. Mere Mortals
3. Lost Souls
These stories tell of a mammoth struggle against the seemingly unstoppable onslaught of the Borg Collective against Federation space, and against the space of anyone in their way. Klingons, Vulcans, all races; they are all caught up in the sweep of the Borg cubes as they indiscriminately slaughter millions and destroy countless worlds. But why are they doing this? And what can be done to stop them?

Meanwhile, we also read of individual lives – of Picard, Riker, Troy, Worf, Dax and many others, all of whom have their own personal demons to battle as the struggle for ultimate survival goes on.

This is a great omnibus, and three great individual stories. The omnibus comes in at well over 800 pages, and is a hefty read, but the three stories are action-packed. When you consider that the whole 800+ page story takes place across one month in the current period (February 2381), with flashbacks, you will get some idea of how much action and detail is packed in to the pages. A great Star Trek trilogy, this omnibus offers a delightful and tense journey for the reader, with characters from ‘Next Generation’, ‘Deep Space Nine’, and ‘Voyager’ Star Trek worlds. Highly recommended, this is a great series of reads from David Mack.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
As a relative novice to reading Star Trek literature, originally being a fan of the series, films and games, I was not sure what to expect. I should not have had any doubts.
This is one of the best science fiction book series I have read. Apart from wishing that this story was in the TV series or even better a movie finale for the TNG era, I still greatly enjoyed the storyline and characters. The book managed to reintroduce new and old characters to you with ease combining many from multiple series.
The Borg is one of the greatest enemy of the Federation and the author treats the lore with respect. In all the author had a made a real thriller you cannot put down.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
As a fan of Erika Hernandez, I absolutely loved finding out what happened to Columbia after it went missing in the Enterprise novel "Beneath The Raptors Wing" (even though it made me cry like a baby)
I love the description, and this is by far the best origin story of the Borg, and it explains why they are obsessed with Humans.
I also love the way Mr. Mack uses the three Federation ships together to solve the problems.
Amazing, my favourite Star Trek books, and three amazing books. I'm glad they brought them out.
BF takes issue with the idea of thermal taps into the sun though. He said "Thermal taps into the sun? Learn to physics."
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
A fantastic trilogy! I simply could not put this down, any fault's you ask? well it's a tad difficult to find your feet, being a "Trekkie" but never having read any Star Trek novels before this one, i did find myself wondering who certain characters were, when they came into the Trek universe and what had happened to the Trek universe as a whole since Star Trek Nemesis but eventually you kind of suss it out, having said that it's not need to know stuff to enjoy what truly is Trek at it's best, i've no doubt this would be a TV movie if Trek still graced the small screen, i thoroughly recommend!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
A fantastic book, it perfectly blends the different crews, ships and time periods. The characters feel authentic and perfectly realised, as if they'd walked out of your TV. It gives a fascinating insight into the characters and civilisations with a level of detail rarely seen in the shows. Absolutely enthralling and captivating, I'm not a big reader but I got through all 3 books in 2 days, couldn't put it down, Highly recommend
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)