Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of a nightmare
The Borg first turned up in season 2 of TNG and have proved to be a worthy foe across many episodes, films and novels. The Destiny trilogy provides closure both on the origin and destination of the Borg.

The crews of the Enterprise, Titan and Aventine have to deal with both a massive Borg invasion plus a mystery around the Columbia, a sister ship of the NX01...
Published on 19 April 2013 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, but lacked imagination and too many names.
This is a large novel and a hugely compelling read for the most part. The pace of the work is kept up throughout the novel however the drama felt fairly predictable and big reveal towards the end of the story was pretty much evident from the very start. Although that is disappointing, I guess there are limits when you have a virtually omnipotent race or two in your...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. M. Randall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of a nightmare, 19 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Epsom, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Star Trek Seekers) (Kindle Edition)
The Borg first turned up in season 2 of TNG and have proved to be a worthy foe across many episodes, films and novels. The Destiny trilogy provides closure both on the origin and destination of the Borg.

The crews of the Enterprise, Titan and Aventine have to deal with both a massive Borg invasion plus a mystery around the Columbia, a sister ship of the NX01 Enterprise. This means that there are a lot of characters to keep track of and things really don't start to become clear until well into the second book.

Ultimately the Destiny is an intriguing mystery complete with red herrings. The novels make some pretty sweeping changes to the Star Trek universe and that's not going to sit well with some readers but at the end of the day, the events of these novels were probably necessary to clear up the Borg problem (the Borg are the ultimate threat but time and time again are beaten back at the last minute only to refurbishing a few months down the line like a serial killer in a cheap horror film) and the final solution when it finally arrives is completely in line with the finest tradition of Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great big(!!!) Triology, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destiny (Star Trek) (Paperback)
I know some people don't like the fact that this triology has caused havoc in the Federation. It made so many major changes to some established trek "facts" that, in that respect, it is only a few pegs below the rebooted Startrek movie.

On top of it all, normally, I hate Borg stories. Though their initial appreatence on TNG was great, they have been overused and abused and have now become absolutely uninteresting. But, this story shows that we can still weave a good borg story and then tie the whole Borg cannon into a nice little knot and then blow it out of the torpedo tube.

I found this story so good that I read all the 800+ pages in less than 2 weeks. It was very engrossing and slightly distrurbing (if you liked the "way things were" in star trek).

I did find myself very surprised by the charecterization of Picard. This isn't the same starship captain I remembered. So, there were somethings that were, to me at least, against established character traits. But, all these niggling issues were forgotten due to an excellent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Trilogy, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Star Trek Seekers) (Kindle Edition)
After hearing about this range of books, I felt I had to purchase it as, being a big fan of TNG and of The Borg, this was a no brainer. It kept you enthralled throughout, and not once did I want to put my mobile/kindle app down. One thing I will say is that this book is a game changer, things won't be the same after this (unless someone hits a book-related reset button, how I hated that in the Voyager TV series at times!).

Read this and know how The Borg originated. You'll be blown away (like most of Starfleet!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Star Trek film scripts (that wasn't a film), 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destiny (Star Trek) (Paperback)
As a relative novice to reading Star Trek literature, originally being a fan of the series, films and games, I was not sure what to expect. I should not have had any doubts.
This is one of the best science fiction book series I have read. Apart from wishing that this story was in the TV series or even better a movie finale for the TNG era, I still greatly enjoyed the storyline and characters. The book managed to reintroduce new and old characters to you with ease combining many from multiple series.
The Borg is one of the greatest enemy of the Federation and the author treats the lore with respect. In all the author had a made a real thriller you cannot put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frakking brilliant., 10 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Destiny (Star Trek) (Paperback)
As a fan of Erika Hernandez, I absolutely loved finding out what happened to Columbia after it went missing in the Enterprise novel "Beneath The Raptors Wing" (even though it made me cry like a baby)
I love the description, and this is by far the best origin story of the Borg, and it explains why they are obsessed with Humans.
I also love the way Mr. Mack uses the three Federation ships together to solve the problems.
Amazing, my favourite Star Trek books, and three amazing books. I'm glad they brought them out.
BF takes issue with the idea of thermal taps into the sun though. He said "Thermal taps into the sun? Learn to physics."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek at it's finest., 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Star Trek Seekers) (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic trilogy! I simply could not put this down, any fault's you ask? well it's a tad difficult to find your feet, being a "Trekkie" but never having read any Star Trek novels before this one, i did find myself wondering who certain characters were, when they came into the Trek universe and what had happened to the Trek universe as a whole since Star Trek Nemesis but eventually you kind of suss it out, having said that it's not need to know stuff to enjoy what truly is Trek at it's best, i've no doubt this would be a TV movie if Trek still graced the small screen, i thoroughly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destiny (Star Trek) (Paperback)
A fantastic book, it perfectly blends the different crews, ships and time periods. The characters feel authentic and perfectly realised, as if they'd walked out of your TV. It gives a fascinating insight into the characters and civilisations with a level of detail rarely seen in the shows. Absolutely enthralling and captivating, I'm not a big reader but I got through all 3 books in 2 days, couldn't put it down, Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from start to finish, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Star Trek Seekers) (Kindle Edition)
Finally the answer to the question, "Who are the Borg and where did they come from. "

Couldn't put this trilogy down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, but lacked imagination and too many names., 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Destiny: The Complete Saga: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls (Star Trek Seekers) (Kindle Edition)
This is a large novel and a hugely compelling read for the most part. The pace of the work is kept up throughout the novel however the drama felt fairly predictable and big reveal towards the end of the story was pretty much evident from the very start. Although that is disappointing, I guess there are limits when you have a virtually omnipotent race or two in your story.

I did find a few points of annoyance. The author seems compelled to pepper the novel with a lot of names of people and characters, as if he was using some kind of Trek random name generator. It often made it hard to track who was who, especially as at times we were dealing with stories of three crews on separate ships and landing parties. I also felt that the author added a few seemingly pointless cameos of characters for no real reason such as Admiral Paris, Tom Paris, Garek, Harry Kim and Chakotee. I think we already had enough of the original cast in here.

Having said all that, it was entertaining and I'd recommend the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really is a nice continuation and tie in to other series without having ..., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destiny (Star Trek) (Paperback)
Really is a nice continuation and tie in to other series without having to make you read the whole of Titan to get it. Sometimes gets a little carried away with it's self but is truly epic in it's scope. I can see peoples concerns with some of the 'actions' of the crew but if you allow for that it is a great, self contained, read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews