Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars494
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2012
The quality of the stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is not in question. The reverence with which they have been treated in this bodged American translation of his work however is a major problem.

Whether you pay 70p or even nothing at all, buying this version cannot be recommended.
11 comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
This review is about "The Complete Sherlock Holmes", the Kindle edition published in December 2012 with the foreword by Robert Ryan (I've included that because reviews of different editions tend to get muddled)

To begin with, I believe that there are few other works of fiction that deserve five stars more than the Sherlock Holmes canon. The stories are pretty much peerless, their longevity a testament to Conan Doyle's storytelling power.

So starting from that five-star premise, I have docked two stars from this collection for two reasons:

- inevitably the Kindle formatting loses the graphics. A few of the Holmes stories include illustrations that are key to the story. For example, in paper editions "The Adventure of the Dancing Men", the cryptanalysis classic, includes several pictures of the encoded messages that Holmes puzzles over. In the Kindle edition (on both my Kindle device and in the PC Kindle app), the pictures are replaced with the word "GRAPHIC". In "The Naval Treaty", Holmes is handed a hand-drawn map, which is illustrated in paper editions to give readers the chance to follow Holmes' deductions. In this Kindle edition, it is completely omitted.

- as others have pointed out, the text in this edition is not the original. Even the cheapest paper editions do Conan Doyle the credit of leaving his master work as he intended. Clearly that is not good enough for the editors of this edition, who have seen fit to mess around with the spellings and vocabulary. A cheque becomes a check, brandy becomes whiskey, and so on. Furthermore there are various errors, presumably as a result of scanning the text. For example, £10 reward becomes a L10 reward, May 23rd becomes May 23d. The text formatting is generally quite good, but italics are completely lost.

Holmes deserves better.
11 comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
As the other comments indicated this version was going to be full of Americanisms I decided not to order the Kindle book, despite the fact it is currently Free (Feb 2013). Why can't it say it is an American Version in the details.

Thank you to the people who have alerted me to this, so I didn't waste my time downloading it.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Having read a number of reviews for the differing versions of The Complete Sherlock Holmes, all of which highlight problems with the text in some form or other, I eventually tracked down a mobi file for free at https://sherlock-holm.es/ which was quick and easy to upload to my kindle and has all the graphic elements, such as the dancing men figures and the map in the Naval Treaty story, included, plus, on a cursory examination, none of the obvious misprints such as 'The Copper Breeches'. Given that there are faithful reproductions of the Holmes stories out there, it's disappointing that at least one isn't available directly through the Kindle store.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
As a long time Holmes fan i enjoy most of the new dramatized versions but reading this made me cringe. Even Johnny Lee Millers English Holmes in New York is more bearable.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
First of all, the stories themselves are classic, and utterly marvellous.

The two-star rating is for the formatting of this Kindle edition, which is rather poor. In particular, the font changes from the decent serif font which is used for the first story, to something without serifs for the second story onward. Fonts with serifs are much easier on the eye, when reading large blocks of text (which is why newspapers and almost all professionally-formatted books use them), and I found the change unnecessary and annoying.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Presumably this was put together by language students in the Far East - because there are occasional dreadful spelling mistakes.

Have you ever read "the Copper Breeches"? Sounds like the title of a BBC spoof. Similar mistakes abound throughout.

Never mind, nothing can detract from the power of Conan Doyle's Victorian stories. I used to read them in the 50s in my bedroom, looking out across the roofs of Marylebone Station towards the tower of the Abbey National, which was thought then (mistakenly) to be 221b Baker Street. Happy days of childhood!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
The works of ACD need no review from me; these notes are about the Simon & Schuster Kindle edition of the complete Sherlock Holmes.
First, if you haven't got a complete Holmes, I can thoroughly recommend this one for several reasons. The first is the introduction by Robert Ryan. Most of what he writes is about Watson, but it's very thoughtful and definitely worth reading. Obviously, he's promoting his own WWI Watson books, but that's allowable (especially as they're OK).
The index is well structured, and it's easy to find your way around. The other reason is excellent value for money.
Why not five stars? Well, there are all [1] sorts of random numbers [2] in brackets throughout the text. Second, anything written in _italics_ is denoted by underscores. Third, the stories are not listed in chronological order.
I doubt that anyone at S&S reads these reviews, or has the time to correct the errors, but if they do, I would recommend this at 5 stars. I must go now, the game is afoot...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
As a huge fan of the Television series "Sherlock" I decided to give the original stories a go, and I was not disappointed. Each of the novels are wonderful; gripping, enthralling and extremely entertaining. There is never a dull moment, and it doesn't take long to become completely wrapped up in the fascinating world if Holmes, Watson and 221B Baker Street. The introduction from Robert Ryan is delightful and expresses many of the sentiments I felt when I had finished all the stories. The only negative point I have is that formatting can sometimes be an issue. There are several spelling errors throughout and in cases, the American spelling is used, which is inconsistent with the original stories. Also, diagrams from the original haven't been included which sometimes hinders the stories. Aside from that, the stories are second to none. Arthur Conan Doyle truly was a master storyteller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
I regard Sherlock Holmes as the greatest crime-solver in literary history. If I was ever victim of some embittered rogues plot, Sherlock Holmes would be my go-to-guy. So imagine my excitement upon noticing The Complete Sherlock Holmes available on Kindle FOR FREE!?!

I have previously been disappointed with some of the alleged literary greats (notably Gulliver's Travels, Ivanhoe and The Picture of Dorian Grey), but I'm pleased to report that The Complete Sherlock Holmes is excellent. Every story is a classic, filled with colourful characters and intriguing plots.

In terms of my favourite? The Hound of the Baskervilles is the obvious pick. It has everything and despite being adapted and imitated many times over, I was still totally engrossed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)