Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent medieval murder mystery, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the the third in the series featuring Bailiff Simon Puttock and Keeper of the King's peace, Sir Baldwin Furnshill. This time we find the Bailiff and his friend drawn into a conflict between a landed family and the tin miners of the Devon moors. A villein belonging to Sir William Beauscyr runs away and invokes the Tinners' law which effectively protects him from retribution from the family. When the villein is found hanged, the Tin miners accuse the family of murder and Simon and Baldwin have to get to facts before all hell breaks loose.
The story starts off at a gentle pace and gradually gathers momentum. There is some great story telling by Michael Jecks, with lots of twists and turns in the plot and excellent dialogue between the characters. I have read other Medieval writers who have take their characters into the Tinner's environment and feel they have lost momentum. Not so here. The story is well written and keeps the interest, even when there is not a great deal of action happening. Intelligent, well written Medieval mystery. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good series, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moorland Hanging (Knights Templar Mysteries 03) (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed almost impulse buy (have read all so far published in series.) not great literature but good for relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from Michael Jecks, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moorland Hanging (Knights Templar Mysteries 03) (Kindle Edition)
Just finished A moorland Hanging, thoroughly good read with Sir Baldwin and Simon struggling to find the killers. Almost an Agatha Christie ending with all the protagonists brought together. GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moorland Hanging (Knights Templar Mysteries 03) (Kindle Edition)
Happy to recommend to anyone who enjoys historical who dunnits. Well written and have now acquired all the kindle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :-), 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moorland Hanging (Knights Templar Mysteries 03) (Kindle Edition)
The first Jecks I ever read... now I've started again..... Highly recommended by me to all who love a good murderous plot, stable characters you can see, lots of red herrings, and my beautiful Moor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moorland Hanging (Knights Templar Mysteries 03) (Kindle Edition)
Loved the Micheal Jecks I have read so far but this ne not my favourate but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jecks, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moorland Hanging (Knights Templar Mysteries 03) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all his books and find them very exciting. I will be reading this book and find it is nice that it is on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Tale, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moorland Hanging (Knights Templar Mysteries 03) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book dealt with some of the shadier aspects of medieval history
A good tale if you like your history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews