Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
The second in this series finds Bailiff Simon Puttock and former Templar knight Sir Balwdin Furnshill again embroiled in murder in not so sleepy Devon. Agatha Kyteler, a local midwife and healer, regarded with superstition by the local villagers, is found with her throat slit. The two are called to find the guilty party and as they search, suspicion falls on a local lad...
Published 21 months ago by Dodster

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars medaevel Devon
Very long descriptions, but acurate if particularly interested in the atmosphere Life in between Exeter and Tiverton is very well depicted
Published on 31 Mar. 2013 by manley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 27 July 2013
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The second in this series finds Bailiff Simon Puttock and former Templar knight Sir Balwdin Furnshill again embroiled in murder in not so sleepy Devon. Agatha Kyteler, a local midwife and healer, regarded with superstition by the local villagers, is found with her throat slit. The two are called to find the guilty party and as they search, suspicion falls on a local lad who eventually confesses. Sir Baldwin and Simon are not convinced of his guilt and during their further investigations suspicions switch from their original suspect to many others, all who seem to have had motive and opportunity to commit the murder.

Really enjoyed this one. Found myself up late continuing to read as the mystery deepened. The characters are well written. Michael Jeck's descriptions of the landscape and his knowledge of medieval life, bring the stories to life. The plot is excellent. Just when you think you've got it sussed, there are new twists and turns. The ending too is unexpected. Just what a good murder mystery should deliver. Excellent read and recommended for all fans of Medieval murder mysteries.
The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries 02)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book well written, would recommend to anybody who enjoys a lighter weight murder mystery with a bit of well reasearched history added in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good yarn, 8 May 2014
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
For book one in this series I awarded three stars and suggested that the series would get better. It has, considerably.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Merchant's Partner. I thought it was well set, and imparted the feel of a West Country winter, along with the dangers it would have meant to those of the time.

The story was plotted far better than book one, with a good many red herrings and sufficient twists and turns to keep the tale interesting.

Gone was the clunky prose of the previous story, that was typical of a new writer trying too hard. Here, Mr Jecks shows more confidence in his own ability and that of his readers in understanding plot development without having every nuance explained.

The main character's were also more fully developed than in book one. This was pleasing as it is through their eyes that the stories are told and less two dimensional key players have made for a far more enjoyable tale.

So, in summary, this doesn't quite achieve the level of praise of his later books, but is an excellent tale well told. It also shows promise of things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Templar Book, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I am now a very addicted to the Michael Jecks Templar stories. Start at book one to get the best from the series as the characters lives develop and their histories are explained and developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Thrilling stories by this author have been my fortune to read and this is another one I would recommend to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :-), 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The second book in the series helps us get to know the characters a little more.. the area a little more... love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jecks Books, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I always wanted some of these books and I enjoy reading them as one of my books or my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing worse than reading a book, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started getting into theses novels by Michael Jecks and they are quite intriquing, ionce you get to know how the writer works, originally, I thought they were labourious, but then found after I stuck with it, that they were very clever and masterful bit of writing. Using some facts of that period and especially certain methods used by all parties it became a very interesting reading. Now I look forward to the next novel to pick up and start to read, my only wish would have been to follow the flow of the characters from their early creation right through, but alas there is no listing putting them in age order of the characters. Nothing worse than reading a book, then move onto the next book only to find you have now gone back 20years or so, please can we have books that follow that order, it would make much more interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Sir Baldwin story, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I read all the early books some years ago after finding in the public library. Now I have retired there is time to revisit the early books and catch up on later tales. I would recommend Michael Jecks to any reader of a good Who-dun-it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, 17 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The second book in the series continues in the vein of the first, establishing our leads and taking a look at village life in the 1300s, while adding an intriguing mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews