Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Introduction
This is the first book in a series, following the exploits of an ex Knight Templar and a Stannary Bailiff from Devon. A superb introduction to the history of the Medieval Age. Written with a simplicity that will belie the amount of knowledge and information imparted by the author Michael Jecks. With great sensitivity a particularly shameful act in history is brought to...
Published 19 months ago by Mrs. L. J. Neale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going
Not a book that I had to finish no matter what, it was slow at the beginning but did pick up the pace towards the end. Several times the writer explained why the main characters servant was slow at riding a horse.
Published 10 months ago by Grrian


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 24 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries 01) (Kindle Edition)
I have been waiting for this novel, it arrived super fast & is just what I expected, a really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries 01) (Kindle Edition)
Not sure why its called The Last Templar when the main character seems to be the bailiff but it's nicely passed with well drawn characters and good contextual detail. Will read some more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars first in a new historical mystery series, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good start to series, but would have liked more background to main character, not have to wait to read the prequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars well, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries 01) (Kindle Edition)
thought it was just a detective novel without the csi team or dna, not my type of story,wont read him again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries 01) (Kindle Edition)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, totally lacking in historical accuracy, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries 01) (Kindle Edition)
Given up on this and not finished, which is pretty unusual for me. It reads like a very dull detective story from the 1950s that has been unaccountably set in the 1300s. I doubt that in that time that a lord of the manor would waste his time investigating the possible murder of one of his serfs, I very much doubt that a wife would castigate her husband for not spending time with his children, and it is inconceivable that a peasant would invite the sheriff in for "a glass of beer". If I could give this no stars I would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, and poorly-written, 12 Aug 2013
By 
It's amazing that there are more books to this series. This was far too long, very simple, mixed up morality-wise and just plain poorly written and edited. Throwing in the occasional anachronism ( "five and twenty years old " ) doesn't make anything authentic. It's barely about the Templars either. Ignore it, or if absolutely necessary buy it second-hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, 23 Aug 2013
By 
MTG (Tring, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries 01) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book on the strength of the title. I think that if a book is called 'The Last Templar', one has a right to expect it to be about a Templar. Only the preface and one chapter have anything to do with the Templars. It should be called 'The Bailiff' - that's who the book is about. As a result, I shan't buy any more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Last Templar, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries 01) (Kindle Edition)
After the first book I expected more. This is simply a crime story dressed up in history, very dissapointing. You can do better Michael
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews