Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Introduction
This is the first book in a series, following the exploits of an ex Knight Templar and a Stannary Bailiff from Devon. A superb introduction to the history of the Medieval Age. Written with a simplicity that will belie the amount of knowledge and information imparted by the author Michael Jecks. With great sensitivity a particularly shameful act in history is brought to...
Published 23 months ago by Mrs. L. J. Neale

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going
Not a book that I had to finish no matter what, it was slow at the beginning but did pick up the pace towards the end. Several times the writer explained why the main characters servant was slow at riding a horse.
Published 14 months ago by Grrian


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Introduction, 16 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book in a series, following the exploits of an ex Knight Templar and a Stannary Bailiff from Devon. A superb introduction to the history of the Medieval Age. Written with a simplicity that will belie the amount of knowledge and information imparted by the author Michael Jecks. With great sensitivity a particularly shameful act in history is brought to light in a straightforward way that enables the reader to understand the history as well as be entertained by the story. An ability to impart knowledge and teach whilst entertaining is rare. Stick with the story as it on occasion rambles a little, you will be rewarded, a twist and surprise will raise a few eyebrows. The detail is superb and can be verified with the help of the author himself, providing details of some of the books used for his research. This as I mentioned is the first in a series and as will all things in life, the stories improve and get better with time. I was gripped from the beginning and I'm still going, dive in you won't regret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rather good historical "whodunnit", 11 Aug 2013
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I hesitated to buy this book, despite being impressed by "Templar's Acre", the author's latest volume, and a prequel to this one and to all of the other "whodunits" of the series. Stories about the Knights Templars are hardly original. Detective stories set in the Middle Ages are not either (think of Corbet, Fidelma, Cadfel, and a few others that I may have forgotten).

Despite these potential concerns, I rather liked the book, mostly because it turned out to be different. Some reviewers have found it slow pace, complaining about lengthy descriptions. They might have expected some action-packed book, full of swordfights and heroic deeds. If that was the case, then they have picked the wrong book.

As mentioned before, this is a detective story, where the hero, one Simon Puttock, a newly appointed Bailiff, has to investigate and discover who murdered a peasant and burned his house down, who burned an abbot alive in a forest and whether the two events have any connection. In this, he is helped by the new master of one of the local manors -the other main character (and hero) of the book.

The plot itself is rather good but at least one of the culprits is not terribly difficult to guess. However, the author did not try to over-complicate the plot. There are few, if any, "red herrings" for instance. I found this book had two main and related qualities. One was the author's ability to recreate the historical context, whether that of the destruction of the Order of the Knights Templars or of the Devon countryside during troubled times, a couple of years after Bannockburn. The other main strongpoint of this book is the author's ability to make his characters (or at least the two main ones) come alive and "look and feel" believable, with Simon's self-doubts, sense of duty and honesty, on the one hand, and Baldwin's sense of honour on the other.

A solid four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 10 July 2013
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I like medieval murder mysteries. I'm a fan of the writings of Susanna Gregory, Bernard Knight and the 'Medieval murderers', where I first came across Michael Jeck's characters of Bailiff Simon Puttock and his Knight friend, Baldwin De Furnshill. Those stories encouraged me to go back to the beginning and read the full novel of how the two came together. Having read the Last Templar, I am very impressed. The characters are very well written and the story line is steeped in Medieval history. The book description at the top of the page gives a general introduction, but the writing draws you into the period and you can identify with the people of the time, their lives and hardships, with the posse as they track the bandits, feeling the tension and nervousness as they mount their attack. Great writing.
I recommend this to fans of the Medieval period and those maybe not yet familiar with it. Already got the Merchant's partner, number two in the series, with many more books to follow, I think I'm going to have many hours of enjoyable reading to come.
The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries 01)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :-) Medieval murder and Dartmoor :-), 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm re-reading this series. By page 2 or 3 I realised afresh why I fell in love with these books. I found them by accident and have just kept going. Love all things medieval and my beloved Dartmoor hasn't changed much in the last few hundred years so these are spot on for me. The scenery can so easily be imagined and the characters also. The first book in the series does a wonderful job of setting the characters firmly in place in their dartmoor homes, occupations and with a past, but also in the readers life too. They have thing I like and also don't agree with so they are quite real! Fully recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A detective story set in the 1300's, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The story moves from France to England and is set in the early part of the 14th century with all it's basic, and often foul living. A crime story within other crime stories. At times I wanted to move the the tale along as it seemed drawn out and was repeating known facts and attitudes. Having said that I was caught up in the plot and needed to read to the last page. If you like crime thrillers and feel you might enjoy the twist of a historic setting then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Long Ago And Saved It To Re-Read, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read the entire series to include "The Last Templar" and am glad to see them coming out in reprint and even in e-book format. The recently released prequel for the series, "Templar's Acre," is a great addition! Those who have not read any of the series might enjoy the prequel first but it is not necessary as it is a great stand alone historical fiction novel. I am looking forward to re-reading old titles not to mention some of Jecks' other works. I have found that Jecks' titles are 'savers' and not for give away or sale. That is just my opinion but friends have agreed with me over time. My recommendation is to 'test the waters' with a Jecks title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow burner, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book had a great prologue which caught my imagination
and great characters and a real sense of place and time, I felt it got a bit stuck in the mud in the middle and I had to persevere to get to the end, however it was well worth the effort and I will read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
So enjoyed this book great introduction to this series of about 20 odd books, characters likeable,the story well wriitten and the history well reasearched. Great for those who like a good old fashioned murder mysterey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical murder mystery, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the historical detail in this novel. The descriptions of living conditions in the thirteen hundreds was excellent and the last chapter explained the demise of the Templars very well.
The story is really a who done it murder mystery based in the times of the Knight's of the Templar. Sometimes the musings of the main character, the bailiff, was a little tiring which is why I have not given it the full five stars.
Recommended for lovers of historical friction (thirteen hundreds) and murder mystery fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Templar (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This story takes you back to the Knights Templar days when the remnants of them returned to England. Told through the eyes of Simon who had just been promoted to bailiff. This story draws you in wanting to know who murdered who and why.
It tells the story in a knowledgeable historic way. It would suit 10-100 year olds and with enough 'gore' to attract the youngsters and hopefully get them interested in history.
A thoroughly excellent read I did not want to turn off my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews