Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Leper's Return by Michael Jecks
The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery)The Leper's Return (A Medieval West Country Mystery)The Leper's Return is just one in a series of medieval books based in the West Country which are basically 'who dunnits' but which have two main characters in all the books so you get to know them. They are interesting historically and fairly light reading. I have...
Published on 20 Nov. 2009 by A. Goddard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
great
Published 10 days ago by KIM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Leper's Return by Michael Jecks, 20 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Goddard "medieval mad" (West Country UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery)The Leper's Return (A Medieval West Country Mystery)The Leper's Return is just one in a series of medieval books based in the West Country which are basically 'who dunnits' but which have two main characters in all the books so you get to know them. They are interesting historically and fairly light reading. I have read quite a few of this series and will be continuing to read more. I happen to live in the area where they are set and this gives added interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lepers return, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
T. R. Brackstone (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is one in a series by this author with the central characters Sir Baldwin, a survivor of the destruction of the Knights Templar, now the Keeper of the Kings Peace of Crediton in Devon and his friend Simon Puttock a commoner who has worked his way up to Bailiff of the Stannaries ( the mining area of Devon). In each book a mystery has to be solved using the very simple methods that would be available at the time (1300s). The author gives an insight to the way of life of the ordinary people, in such a way as to bring all characters to life and creating the visualization of each rather than as in many novels just the nobility.

Each book stands on its own merits with the central characters seeking the solution to the mystery with its twists and turns leaving the reader trying to pre-solve it. Usually, I discover an author by reading a novel part way through the series with Michael Jecks I found the first and have been glued to both each mystery and the flow of the central characters developments throughout the series. Michael Jecks has that unique talent of being able to build suspense and intrigue and inject humor into his books just as it is needed.

To go into much detail would spoil the flow for anyone who may read this, suffice it to say I would recommend both this book and the series to anyone who likes medieval mysteries and reading about medieval life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great period Novel - keeps you on your toes till the end, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Roger Eynon "dodger" (Bristol, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leper's Return (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Another good read by Michael Jecks.

Interesting, well thought out story line.

A welcome return of the regular characters, who show their human frailties and personalities. An good story that will have you on tenterhooks till the end.

As always enjoyable and entertaining, yet continues to give a really deep and accurate portrayal of what ordinary life was like away from the maestrom of the Court and the aristocracy.

Waiting for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic but not excessive. interesting plotting and a love story. A pleasure to read, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like the few books of Michael Jecks I've read so far this is excellent in bringing the 1300s to life. His research is occasionally obvious, especially when backstories are given in the context of the wars and politics of the time, but most of the time it is like reading about a foreign land, where they do things differently. Status is paramount, the grime of daily life is given as well as its joys whether that be new cloth, beautiful views or fellowship. People's desire to be pleasing in the eyes of the church and their guilt when they feel they have fallen short is palpable, and he takes you to places rarely in the light - leper colonies, walled gardens and the understairs world of servants. It is a pleasure to read.
The story is well paced and intricately plotted, with everything fully explained and not all parts have neat happy endings, especially when relationships break up as a result of uncovered truths. Relationships is another aspect rarely seen in novels such as this - there is a love story building between a wary widow and the fumbling bachelor hero that adds a delightful note to the story and leaves me keen to see it develop over the next books.
Given the choice, I think I would have got rid of the dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Murder, mayhem, adultery, leprosy, violence, sex, romance, courtship, humour. All part of life in Medieval Crediton as Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his buddy Simon Puttock try to make sense of the clues in this latest murder mystery from Michael Jeck's. Superbly well researched and written. Fabulous story telling.
The Leper's Return (Knights Templar)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Medieval Mysteries (and Act of Vengeance), 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leper's Return (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I don't know what to say; the fact that I keep reading Michael Jeck's books (and others like them) must mean I'm quite keen on them! Completely hooked in fact! Trouble is, I'm catching up;Mr Jecks better get on and write some more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ, 5 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Leper's Return (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much and recommend it to those who like mysteries and historical novels. There are many twists and turns that keep the reader on their toes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Michael Jecks., 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story kept you guessing from beginning to end and the setting was well described. The main characters and their personal details keep the reader interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Leper's Return, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leper's Return (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
As ever an excellent read. I also learnt a lot about Leprosy that I wasn't aware of. Thank you to Michael Jecks for an informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leper's Return (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Happy to recommend to anyone who enjoys historical who dunnits. Well written and have now acquired all the kindle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews