Customer Reviews


15 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death amongst the non-combatants., 22 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
Behind the chivalry and pageant of the tournament lie financial double-dealings, crooked contractors and personal grudges. Jecks' regular characters investigate a series of murders in a world of sport which has it's similarities to football or even the F1 circuit, with it's stars and underdogs! If you thought you had a vague idea about tournaments, read this and think again .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars becomes a bloody tournment, 6 May 2009
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First Sentence: Benjamin Dudenay, known to most people as "Ben the moneylender", was not popular, so his murder caused no distress except to his three outstanding creditors, whose demands for compensation where stolidly rejected by his widow, Maud.

Lord Hugh de Courtenay is hosting a tournament and Bailiff Simon Puttock has been tasked with organizing it. He is there at Oakhampton with his wife, Margaret, new baby, and rebellious daughter, Edith. Simon's friend, Sir Baldwin Furnshill, is also in attendance. They have more than the tournament to occupy them.

First there is the murder of Benjamin Dudenay, money-lender to many of the participants. Shortly thereafter, Wymond, the carpenter preparing the grounds for the tournament, is murdered. When Simon is accused, his and Baldwin must find who is behind the killings.

Jecks is such a wonderfully visual, descriptive writer. His sense of time and place add so much to the reading of his books. I also appreciate that Jecks, rather than present the fairy-tale version of the middle ages, provides a very realistic view of the life and people of the time. While chivalry and honor may have been the aspiration for knights, the reality was a far cry from it.

This book was interesting as you knew the motive from the beginning, but not the identity of the killer. There were multiple threads and characters under threat for various reasons. An interesting element was dealing with homosexuality in that Baldwin, a knight, former Templar and widely traveled, was much more tolerant than his friend Simon.

There were a lot of characters in this story and it would have been confusing if not for the Cast of Characters in the beginning of the book. The primary characters of Simon and Baldwin are ones I very much enjoy, particularly the banter between them. Jecks has done an excellent job of giving life progression and growth to both characters through the series.

The plot was interesting, the dialogue always well done, and the ending unexpected but appropriate for the period. I often think of Christie when I finish a book by Jecks in that both end of with a lot of bodies.

My one critical point is that there seemed to be a fair amount of redundancy. I assume this was done to make a point, but it did become tiresome. This was another solid book in a very well-done series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing worse than reading a book, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started getting into theses novels by Michael Jecks and they are quite intriquing, ionce you get to know how the writer works, originally, I thought they were labourious, but then found after I stuck with it, that they were very clever and masterful bit of writing. Using some facts of that period and especially certain methods used by all parties it became a very interesting reading. Now I look forward to the next novel to pick up and start to read, my only wish would have been to follow the flow of the characters from their early creation right through, but alas there is no listing putting them in age order of the characters. Nothing worse than reading a book, then move onto the next book only to find you have now gone back 20years or so, please can we have books that follow that order, it would make much more interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bloody tournament indeed!, 10 Feb. 2013
Michael Jecks has hit another winner out of the park. Having seen jousting on the Isle of Wight and thoroughly enjoyed it, I loved this book being set in a similar situation... a lot less blood on the IOW! Michael has brought something we've all seen on the TV to life, in startling colour and with extreme feeling. Highly recommended read for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tournament of Blood (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 11) (Kindle Edition)
Michael Jecks' Templar series is both historically accurate and entertaining. If you like tales of 'yore' you will enjoy reading these books. They are full of history, action and intriguing plot twists. Read one and be hooked by the characters Puttock and Sir Baldwin as they unravel murder mysteries and battle enemies along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tournament of Blood (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 11) (Kindle Edition)
Happy to recommend to anyone who enjoys historical who dunnits. Well written and have now acquired all the kindle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jecks Books, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tournament of Blood (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 11) (Kindle Edition)
I have always wanted some of these books and I enjoy reading them either as one of my books or my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant medieval mystery!, 2 Oct. 2005
By 
This book is very well constructed with a brilliant cast of characters and has clearly been well researched. Although it is one of a series it is not necessary to read the others before hand. I highly recommend it to any fan of mystery or historical novels- you won't be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Travel in Time with Michael Jecks., 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.Superb scholarship, understands people and loves the landscapes of his home county. I only collect writers I want to read again and again and I have nearly got all his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a cracking good read with a world and characters richly described, 26 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tournament of Blood (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 11) (Kindle Edition)
As always with this series, a cracking good read with a world and characters richly described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews