Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent 14th century whodunnit
This is the 13th in Michael Jecks’ series – all of which I have read with delight – set in the west country in the early 14th century. Anyone who enjoys either detective novels or historical fiction will find the two most beautifully fused and balanced in this series. In The Devil’s Advocate a number of things unaccountably disappear from Tavistock...
Published on 21 Aug. 2003

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
This book is really quite confusing, and I found the plot very hard to follow and the twists and turns you usually find in these books are not really there. However, it has some parts which keep you turning the pages, espescially when it goes onto more supernatural events (such as the beginning). I would recommend it, but not as much as other Michael Jecks books.
Published on 17 Jun. 2003 by Joshua Keighley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent 14th century whodunnit, 21 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 13th in Michael Jecks’ series – all of which I have read with delight – set in the west country in the early 14th century. Anyone who enjoys either detective novels or historical fiction will find the two most beautifully fused and balanced in this series. In The Devil’s Advocate a number of things unaccountably disappear from Tavistock Abbey and before long a series of murders follow. Investigating both these affairs are the two key protagonist of each book in the series; Bailiff Simon Puttock and Sir Baldwin Furnshill, an ex Templar and now Keeper of the King’s Peace for the area. As always with Michael Jecks the historical period is vividly evoked, the plotting is devilishly clever and the characters are convincing, interesting and explored in some depth. At just under 400 pages this book, like its predecessors, is quite substantial – time enough to get fully absorbed into the early 14th century world and the intricate cross-relations of people and events that the story explores. Small wonder that Michael Jecks has attracted such reviews as: “The most wickedly plotted medieval mystery novels”(The Times) and “Tremendously successful” (Sunday Independent). My one caveat with this particular novel is that the first chapter is short of the normal sparkle. Nevertheless read this – or any other of the series – and I guarantee you will want to read them all. What more can I say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Period murder/mystery read, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Roger Eynon "dodger" (Bristol, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Acolyte (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Again a good read by Michael Jecks. Good well thought out plot line. A welcome return of the regular characters, who still can show their human frailties and personalities. An interesting story line that will have you on tenterhooks till the end.

As always enjoyable and entertaining, yet gives a real deep and accurate portrayal of what ordinary life was like away from the maestrom of the Court and the aristocracy.

Waiting for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Acolyte (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Jecks does it again, the story keeps you going up until the last chapter and gives a good feeling of what it was like to live in these times.

Slowly adding all the books to my Kindle. I recommend the Knights Templar Mysteries to anyone who enjoys a good murder mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 20 Aug. 2012
By 
I had a pleasant surprise when I read this particular story. As soon as it started I realised that it differed greatly from the previous stories. The Devils Acolyte is quite dark, and the quick and ready humour that normally accompanies Baldwin & Simon is not there. I felt sadness at first, but soon became entangled in the plot, and as a fellow reader so rightly said, "Sit up and pay attention". You really do have to concentrate just a little bit harder with this one, reading it bed is not easy! Mr Jecks has made things a little more difficult to follow. A triumph never the less and well worth the additional effort...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Acolyte (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Happy to recommend to anyone who enjoys historical who dunnits. Well written and have now acquired all the kindle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jecks Books, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Acolyte (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
I always wanted some of these books and I enjoy reading them as one of my books or my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jecks Titles for Good Reads, 17 Nov. 2014
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Devil's Acolyte (Knights Templar Mysteries Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
I am quite glad that the series is being republished in its entirety, paper and e-book. I have the entire series plus other Jecks works.
His primary source historical research is first rate and his ability to write a good and plausible story within the historical framework is terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant story in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jecks novel, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Acolyte (Hardcover)
Like the others, i have not read this book yet as i have lots of other books to read so heres hoping it is as good as previous books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 17 Jun. 2003
By 
This book is really quite confusing, and I found the plot very hard to follow and the twists and turns you usually find in these books are not really there. However, it has some parts which keep you turning the pages, espescially when it goes onto more supernatural events (such as the beginning). I would recommend it, but not as much as other Michael Jecks books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews