Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic jounal of the 'terrace days" of football
Well crafted account of Ward's coming of age in the 70's and 80's world of terrace violence. A number of books have since followed, and perhaps been influenced, by this work. Makes for eye opening reading with accounts of infamous terrace characters and various offs. The author's style is not self promoting however and Ward always keeps his sense of perspective. His...
Published on 1 Oct 1999

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality poor book fell apart
It was brilliant the little bit I read however the book fell apart 2 chapters into it and the pages flew away so I'm not at all happy with the quality so I hope that they send me a new book .
Published 3 days ago by david nissim


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic jounal of the 'terrace days" of football, 1 Oct 1999
By A Customer
Well crafted account of Ward's coming of age in the 70's and 80's world of terrace violence. A number of books have since followed, and perhaps been influenced, by this work. Makes for eye opening reading with accounts of infamous terrace characters and various offs. The author's style is not self promoting however and Ward always keeps his sense of perspective. His other books are well worth reading too, full of intelligent oppinions of the way football has changed, for both better and worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first and probably best in this genre, 15 Nov 2002
Colin Ward published this in the early years before any of the other 'lads' jumped on the band wagon. If you watched football in the 80's I guarantee you will be laughing or crying by the end of the first chapter. Colin was there and portrays what it was like to be football supporter before it became 'fashionable'. A classic on par with Fever Pitch for the humour and quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading, 24 Dec 2000
By 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The cover of the edition I read is emblazoned with the phrase "The Classic of Football Writing," and for once I'm almost inclined to agree. Ward's book was the first (that I know of) to write of soccer hooliganism from the insider perspective. Ward's account is important in that he was neither an outsider to the violence, nor a central provocateur, and thus perhaps best represents the "average" hooligan of the '70s and '80s. Ready for a punchup if the situation called for it, ready to run if outnumbered, and disdainful of the more excessive violence (knives, etc...) and crazies who were attracted to the hooligan scene. He writes honestly about what he did and saw going to see Leatherhead, Arsenal, Chelsea, and England. It is in the "England Away" chapter that he really gets indignant about the behavior of his fellow fans, sharply critiquing their behavior abroad (see John King's novel England Away). By the end, one gets the impression he's fed up with the new, more organized system of hooligan gangs, police crackdowns, and has gotten out of the violence. It's an excellent and quick reading book for understanding the terrace culture of the '70s and '80s. For a great fictional insight into this area, try The Football Factory by John King or for an academic study, see Football Hooligans: Knowing the Score by Gary Armstrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steaming In, 20 April 2011
I first read this book over ten years ago, having lost my copy and having to buy a new one I forgot what a great read it was. Colin Ward gets it just right, none of this We ran every football firm on the planet and didn't run from no one. He sums up just what the game was really like for a lot of young lads getting involved with the terrace culture of the time.
It brings back good memories of going to home and away games with your mates and having a laugh, any football fan can read this book and find something to connect with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Quality poor book fell apart, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was brilliant the little bit I read however the book fell apart 2 chapters into it and the pages flew away so I'm not at all happy with the quality so I hope that they send me a new book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unrivalled masterpiece, 19 Oct 2000
By A Customer
A grear account of days on and off the terraces.Colin ward truly hits home on this one.Maybe, if this book was read on a wider circle people would have come to understand a little more the so called anti social! behaviour of English football supporters at home,but more so abroad.As a avid supporter myself in the eighties I related to at times inhuman and often brutal attitudes towards England supporters in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic of its day, 5 Dec 1999
By A Customer
I'm surprised only one septic has bothered to review what is after all a classic in terrace culture books. Not full on hooligan just like the current Millwall book We Fear No Foe, but as honest an account of life at football as you'll find - especially now things have moved into the corporate age. The best of British!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 April 2005
This review is from: Steaming in (Paperback)
The original and possibly the best book on terrace culture. If you want to know what it was like to at football in the 70s & 80s then this is the book - you will feel like you are there. No bias like certain other books, it is excellent. As a follow up go for Armed for the Match by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: Steaming In: The Classic Account of Life on the Football Terraces (Kindle Edition)
I found the book rather rubbish. Typical fair from these toy soldiers without anything original to say. They invented terrace culture, never lost a fight and fought by Queensbury rules. They only ever fought other like minded individuals and oh yes all scousers are workshy, cowards who steal anything they get there hands on, your typical filth spouted by the scum, sorry sun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overrated, 9 April 2009
By 
R. P. Sedgwick "Grim Rob" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steaming in (Paperback)
I'm amazed this book is regarded as some sort of "classic". It's poorly written, rambling and fairly incoherent. On one hand the author praises hooligans, on the other he condemns them. He can't seem to decide whether he's "in" or "out" but keeps going back like a moth to a flame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews