Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favourite books
I have read and re-read this book many times over the years.Miep Gies has had a fascinating life. This is an inspiring and engrossing story which gives another perspective to the diary of Anne Frank, and also the day to day life of someone responsible for hidden Jews during the war. How they risked their lives, how they found enough food for everyone, how they coped when...
Published on 19 Sep 2007 by iloveholland

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening
I have to put my hand up and admit that I have never read anything about Anne Frank before. This was a positive and personal choice. My mother was born of Jewish parents and converted to Christianity at a time my grandfather felt it worthy of the comment that it would not save her from the Nazis. Because of this I have always been afraid to pursue the subject but fully...
Published on 23 Jan 2010 by Mr. G. Mayfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favourite books, 19 Sep 2007
I have read and re-read this book many times over the years.Miep Gies has had a fascinating life. This is an inspiring and engrossing story which gives another perspective to the diary of Anne Frank, and also the day to day life of someone responsible for hidden Jews during the war. How they risked their lives, how they found enough food for everyone, how they coped when the hiding place was discovered and the arrested people did not all return from the camps. I would recommend this book to anyone, you will not be ablle to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful unsung heroine, Miep Gies, 1 Jun 2008
By 
Royale "Mies" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recently I visited, for the first time, the annex where the Franks' and their fellow friends in hiding spent around two years avoiding the persecution of the Nazis. I then read the remarkable diary of Anne Frank, who writes with such skill and vitality for someone so young. I then got hold of Miep Gies' book - she being the one who looked after all eight occupants in the annex during those years. I thought it would be a minor follow-up on Anne Franks diary, but it is a remarkable story, told with no sentiment or hint of personal bravery, about what it was like to be helping Jews in hiding while the Nazis were trying to completely wipe them out. This is a stunning book and a great reminder of quiet calm, humanity and how good life can be when it is free from racism and hate. Her quiet confidence in recognizing that evil can never survive, for it is self-destructive, made her certain that the allies would win the war and the Nazis would be no more. It was all a case of time, and her disappointment is enormous when she discovers that the discovery of the secret annex came too soon - just two months later and it is likely all would have survived. A remarkable book. A remarkable human being. Even in her failing to rescue her friends (as she puts it), she was still able to rescue the diary and bring it, with Otto Frank, to the attention of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely riveting!, 2 April 1998
By A Customer
I bought the book for my son, who wanted to read it, but I started to read it myself and couldn't put it down! I had read Ann's diary, and this book is just the perfect counterpart. Not only did I learn about Miep and her brave co-workers, but I learned even more about Ann, her family, and those who hid with the Franks in the attic. It is sad, beautiful and triumphant all at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story of courage and compassion, 4 Jun 2008
By 
Millions of people around the world have been inspired and touched by the story of Anne Frank, the young Jewish girl, who spent two long years in hiding, with family and a few friends, in Amsterdam, from their Nazi persecutors, during the second World War, before they were discovered and shipped off tho their deaths in Auschwitz.

Twenty years ago Miep Gies (98 years old at the time of writing of this review) revealed her own courageous and generous role in hiding the Frank family and others, and providing them with food, companionship, and most of all hope.

She gives revealing insight into Anne's life and of her own.

Miep had been a hungry child refugee from Austria, just after the First World War, and passed her own experiences of generosity and compassion on.

We read of the Nazi ocupation of the Netherlands, the decrees and attacks against the Jews, and of the deportations and hidings.

Ultimately every man and women must ask what they would do, when a world goes mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is super extraordinary., 21 Oct 1998
By A Customer
I find ANNE FRANK REMEMBERED very interesting and very informative. Anne, her family, and her friends in hiding with them went through a lot while in hidinig and showed great courage in doing so. I highly recommend this book to everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book gives a total insight of how it was in Holland during the German opression, 2 Feb 2014
I just finished this book for the second time and I still think it is as remarkable, as first time I read it.
This book is perfect as a follow-up to Anne Frank's Diary. We might know Anne's experiences in hiding from her diary and several details of the war but Miep's book gives a complete insight of the situation, told from her point of view.
I was captured all along and could not put it down. Some of the situations I also remembered from the diary. We learn about Miep's entire life and even learn more about the Frank family's situation in Holland. The book covers the period 1933 (the year Miep started working for Mr. Frank) and ends around 1950, including some extra material.
I recommend it to anyone who has an interest in Anne Frank, World War II and even to people who have an interest in Holland during the Holocaust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration, 2 Dec 2013
By 
B. H. Watson (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne Frank Remembered: The Story of the Woman Who Helped to Hide the Frank Family (Kindle Edition)
I read Anne Frank`s diary as a child and have since been fascinated by her story and by the heroism of those who risked all to help. I also saw Mr Frank appear on Blue Peter and found his calm peace incredible. After years of reading other histories and memoirs of the holocaust then hearing of Miep Gies` passing I heard of this book. I read it almost in one sitting- I would recommend this story of an inspirational woman as a social history, as an important background to the diaries and as a memorial reminder of a largely forgotten heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable insight into the life in hiding and imprisonment of Anne Frank., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most poignant, absorbing and thought- provoking books I've read. Miep Gies was a woman of extraordinary courage, fortitude, tenacity and intelligence. Her story focuses on Anne Frank's plight, that of her immediate family and of the other three persecuted Jews who hid for over two years in the secret annexe in Prinsengracht, Amsterdam. Without the continuous help of Miep, and other brave sympathisers including her husband, Anne would never have remained at liberty for so long. Miep enjoyed a very special relationship with Anne and she reveals fascinating insights into her character, her attitudes, her philosophies, her dreams and her fears. Miep sets her account within the wider context of both her own, often very challenging and vulnerable life, and the daily hardships, indignities, dangers and struggle for survival of the people of Amsterdam and its Jewish community. Her descriptions of elderly Jews, too old to be helped to hide or escape, stoically awaiting a cruel, merciless fate are arresting and upsetting. Miep rejects all suggestions that she was a hero. When you've read her book, you'll realise that this unassuming, principled, wise and humane woman was precisely that - a real hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving account of a well-known story, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Anne Frank Remembered: The Story of the Woman Who Helped to Hide the Frank Family (Kindle Edition)
Very moving, interesting and insightful point of view from Miep. An enjoyable if inevitably sad read. I would highly recommend to readers who want to learn more about Anne and her time in hiding from another perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 11 Mar 2012
By 
E. Parks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have read The Diary of Anne Frank then this is a lovely addition for those wanting more detail about the lives of those involved in their hiding. Miep Gies is also an inspirational woman in her own right with a fascinating life story. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews