Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent prequel...
After reading all of Michael Jecks Templar series from the start I had a feeling that the series would end where it did in book 31; City of Fiends. To go forward would be problematic as the turmoil of Richard's early years matched those of his father and only really ended with the death of Mortimer. Steering an aging Sir Baldwin and Bailiff Simon through those years of...
Published 13 months ago by John

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something's not right......
I normally love this series having been with it since it started, but I bought this one on Kindle and that seems to have been a mistake - it reads as though some pages or paragraphs are missing and there are numerous anomalies that I would not associate with a Michael Jecks' book. I find myself having to keep flicking back in case I missed something and for me it spoiled...
Published 13 months ago by Mrs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent prequel..., 25 July 2013
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading all of Michael Jecks Templar series from the start I had a feeling that the series would end where it did in book 31; City of Fiends. To go forward would be problematic as the turmoil of Richard's early years matched those of his father and only really ended with the death of Mortimer. Steering an aging Sir Baldwin and Bailiff Simon through those years of intrigue would take a deft touch; not that I don't think Jecks isn't capable' just that the times were too volatile. So where to go? Baldwin's early history has been begging to be written for years and this prequel to the Templar series is the spectacular result. Jecks writes a marvellous tale based around the disastrous defence of Acre and Baldwin's involvement and within given artistic license the use of a mixture of real-life and fictional characters bring the place and events to life. Jecks is one of a group of writers who have the ability to transport you back in time whilst you're reading so that you're fully involved and just keep reading. Maybe it's because I was really interested in Baldwin's backstory due to the numerous allusions in the Templar series to how that history had affected him, his motivation and developed his character that I read this in two sittings with a break for lunch.

Rather like Godfather II, this is an excellent prequel, but then again Jecks is a better writer than he was nearly twenty years ago (although he wasn't bad then otherwise I wouldn't have stuck with him) and I'd expect an accomplished well written tome. I wasn't disappointed, that's what I got. You don't have to have read the Templar series as this can be read as a standalone. However, I would recommend reading the Templar series as Jecks steers Sir Baldwin and Bailiff Simon through the turbulent times of Edward II's reign.

If this also stimulates an interest in Templar history then there are a couple of excellent books out there; Templars: History and Myth: From Solomon's Temple to the Freemasons and A Brief History of the Knights Templar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow moving but stay with it., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Michael Jecks is a good author, however in this his prequel I was hoping for a bit more. The narrative for the first 100 pages was painfully slow, however once all the main protagonists had been introduced and the plot fleshed out the pace picked up, culminating in the grand finale, the siege itself. There is no doubt about it Jecks knows his subject, he just needs to light a fire under it. All in all not a real page turner, but still an enjoyable read.
For those who would like further information on this epoch I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Templar's Acre (Kindle Edition)
Happy to recommend to anyone who enjoys historical who dunnits. Well written and have now acquired all the kindle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review for Templar's Acre, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Templar's Acre (Kindle Edition)
I like this as a thoroughly engageing read. The research into the background seems sound, historical figures appear where necessary, and the flow is fleshed out with the characters who carry the story along from various points of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Templar's Acre (Kindle Edition)
The knights of the Templar order are shown as men fighting for the faith they believe in.
It shows the relatively good days when they still had held onto some lands in there beloved Outreamer. When suddenly the new emir , being morre aggressive than the previous, sets out to regain the whole country he sees as his peoples.
It tells of the aftermath to the battles and the fate of the knights. Then onto there future lives.
A great read with enough history but with poetic licence to make it into a believeable, readable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Templar's Acre (Kindle Edition)
I have read every title in this series. The later part of the series started to develop into a history lesson and was feeling a little tired. However Jecks is most certainly back to his very best with this book. Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing read!, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Templar's Acre (Kindle Edition)
This is a book of blood and guts. I rated it highly for its language it's imagination and the skill showen by the writer. I was fascinated yet I don't like blood & guts normally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Templars Acre, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Templar's Acre (Kindle Edition)
As a keen Baldwin fan I was looking forward to reading this and was not disappointed. A great story in its own right that adds to the understanding of one of my favourite characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Templar's Acre (Kindle Edition)
Such a magnificent visualisation of the last days of Acre - Michael Jecks has surpassed himself. You can almost smell the Greek fire and hear the missiles whistling overhead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Templar's Acre, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Templar's Acre (Kindle Edition)
Very well written and historically interesting. Good story line well told. I will probably read this again a bit more slowly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Templar's Acre
Templar's Acre by Michael Jecks
4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews