Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution 8-disc set vs 9-disc set
The Prometheus-to-Alien Evolution 8-disc set is great value, the logical choice if you want all the special features but not the 3D.

The difference between this and the more expensive 9-disc set is that the 8-disc set *does not* have the 3D version of Prometheus or the "tat" (T-shirt, poster, art cards/art book extract). The good thing is that the 8-disc set...
Published 17 months ago by grrr-woof-hoot

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I bought this box set as a christmas present for someone but it wasn't what I expected. I didn't realise (even though I did try to research it) that the movies are not all the directors/special editions of aliens, alien 3 and resurrection. The theatrical cuts are okay but they don't flow well into each other very well.
Published 13 months ago by TheBlackDiamond


‹ Previous | 16 7 814 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
G. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full set great. All discs work fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
C. Timpany - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus to Alien: The Evolution Box Set (8-Disc Set) [1979] (Blu-ray)
its alien what else is their to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus to Alien: The Evolution Box Set (8-Disc Set) [1979] (Blu-ray)
Perfect Xmas gift. Delivery superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus to Alien: The Evolution Box Set (8-Disc Set) [1979] (Blu-ray)
Great price for a worthy collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
xmas present and she liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray dvd's, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus to Alien: The Evolution Box Set (8-Disc Set) [1979] (Blu-ray)
This used set I bought is in great condition and at a great price. What more could any film buff ask for. Top class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus to Alien: The Evolution Box Set (8-Disc Set) [1979] (Blu-ray)
fantastic collection *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great films but pretty pointless and overpriced boxset, 15 Oct. 2012
I already have the special edition quadrilogy of the Alien films on DVD but I still considered getting this release of Prometheus having really enjoyed it at the cinema twice, the standalone release is not that expensive though (though I resent having to pay for a DVD and digital copy just to get a special edition on blu ray)

At 50-60 pounds though you'd be better off getting stuff separately...even the blu ray special edition collection of the re-cut films which has been out for a few years now can still be found for less than £20, the shirt in this box is nothing special (better ones can be found on plastichead.com), as for Alien concept art, I believe a separate book about the making of Prometheus is available, and there is the excellent expansive Alien Vault book which has anything you'd want to see pretty much for the original concept art, storyboards, blueprints of ships and commentary on the original film's conception...

So definitely do check out Prometheus if you haven't already and all Alien films of course (bar the AVP ones which don't count)...but I'm not going to bother with this cash-in, a waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect and for the price even better..., 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this on a whim through the Boxing Days deals sale. Set came through the post well packaged and as a result undamaged. Set itself looks great and the contents (t-shirt, postcards, poster etc) are a nice to have, although not really useful in anyway really as I am not an avid Alien fan. Bluray boxet (9 discs) is very good, although I have not had a chance to watch all films yet, but Prometheus, Alien3 and Aliens look and sound great. Bluray disc quality themselves are poor. You can tell that they have used the cheaper disc media when burning the discs for this set, as they look warped when you look at the data side. That aside, my PS3 seems to be able to play them well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic Box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 814 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prometheus to Alien: The Evolution Box Set (8-Disc Set) [1979]
£16.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews