Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC DVD
I watched the series on TV and it was wonderful
Andrew is a wonderful art historian and instead of the usual gobbledegook and BS he speaks from his heart with genuine passion which allows people like me to see art and appreciate it as never before. So many ' art experts ' speak another language and its almost as if they dont want to allow us 'Un educated ones ' into...
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. Susan Fink The Academy

versus
7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
Terrible idea for a prog, two totally un-connected individuals going on a jolly to Sicily to talk at each other while not really engaging the viewer. AGD appears drunk for half the show while Locatelli tries to maintain his interest with some rather uninspired recipes.

Features random musings on what makes Sicily and Sicilians tick (hardly any of which have any...
Published 17 months ago by katiec


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Guide Book To Sicily, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
If you're going to Sicily, watch this. Lovely Oratorio Santa Cita in Palermo with all the putti mimicking the stucco they framed, the chocolate shop in Modica where the shop assistant was still swooning over Georgio. All visited, and made all the more interesting by having watched the expert musings of these enthusiastic Siciliophiles! A joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enthusiasm unlimited, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. R. J. Cox "card scanner" (Epsom, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
The two make a good pairing and their enthusiasm for the subject matter permeates the whole DVD. I bought it because I'm off to Sicily myself in a few months and so am using this DVD as my introduction to the island. So far, so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
Lots of interesting facts, buildings, art and food - provided by two presenters on top form. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must view, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
I love their series. They have such fun together. They take you to places that normally you wouldn't see and eat some pretty good food too. H ighly recommend the series. In my opinion one of the best one of the best series on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
We visited Sicily last Autumn and I wanted to see if we had covered all the artistic/ classical places but discovered that in spite of travelling 1200 k in a week around the island we had only touched the surface of all Sicily has to offer! This DVD showed us all we had missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
A very good insight into Sicily its art and culture and gave one a useful guide to this beautiful island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful three-part documentary series, 17 Mar 2014
By 
C. G. Vickery (COLLINGWOOD, VICTORIA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
Critic Andrew Graham-Dixon and chef Giorgio Locatelli make a terrific team for this three-part look at the art and food of Sicily. The pair has a fantastic rapport and the series also benefits from concentrating on a region that hasn't been done to death in other lifestyle series (something that was a bit of a problem with the subsequent Italy Unpacked). Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd of tv programme. Love this pair as they give insight into culture and cuisine of this lovely island
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 hours of good viewing: good art, good food, good sights, 17 Feb 2014
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
The three hour long episodes in this DVD are watchable and interesting: I missed the series, but as Giorgio Locatelli is a chef whose cooking I like and having an interest in art, I thought that this would make an interesting programme and was not disappointed. The history of Scicily is facinating and it has been touched upon lightly, but intelligently and with obvious passion, including its most dark and recent past. Caravaggio and religion dominate, with its holy places repositories for some magnificent works. The food, too, is wonderful, from a traditional Buccatini con le Sarde and the sweet and sour flavours of Sicilian food to the use of local herbs and vegetables that grow within yards of a traditional farmhouse. Great art, equally good food and a tour guided by two friends enjoying the sights, sounds and smells of places, that if you have never visited, you will soon want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sicily unpacked, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Lewis J. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily Unpacked [DVD] (DVD)
good cooking and equally good history and view of Italy places you as a normal visitor would never see excellent waiting for the next dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sicily Unpacked [DVD]
13.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews