Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good dock, but no UK power adaptor
This is a good iPhone 5 dock / bedside clock - the iPhone 5 docks well, the sound from the speakers is clear with a reasonable level of bass for such a small unit and the volume is more than adequate for a bedroom.

The brightness of the clock display could be a little higher for when a room is lit, such as during the day with the curtains open, but at night it...
Published on 7 Mar. 2013 by TDK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars European plug
This is a really good docking station it charges iphone 5 also it has a USB port so other devices can be charged too. Big downside it has a European 2 pin plug there for you need to get an adapt to plug it in. There was no warning on the product description that it was supplied with this plug.
Published 14 months ago by Mrs. F. J. Rushworth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good dock, but no UK power adaptor, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
This is a good iPhone 5 dock / bedside clock - the iPhone 5 docks well, the sound from the speakers is clear with a reasonable level of bass for such a small unit and the volume is more than adequate for a bedroom.

The brightness of the clock display could be a little higher for when a room is lit, such as during the day with the curtains open, but at night it is fine - there are three brightness levels to choose from. The under unit led lights are a nice idea and give off a soft glow so that I can see where my glass of water is at night - there are two levels of brightness or they can be turned off completely. The fit, finish and quality of the unit is very good, but I have found that the USB port does not supply enough power to charge an iPad, which is a missed opportunity on the part of Philips and a disappointment for me.

As noted by others, the unit is obviously sourced from Europe as it comes with a Euro two-pin plug (not US as noted by another). It's a shame that this is not noted in the Amazon description, but is easily solved with a plug in adaptor (a shaver adaptor worked for me) that only costs about £1. Travel Adaptor Plug: Worldwide / European Visitor To Uk

I do think that the dock is fairly expensive for what you get and should really be closer to £50, but overall I'm reasonably happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
Form & Function come together at a reasonable price. I use this most nights to listen to an audio book before I sleep and then wake up to the phones alarm App. I find the styling and the soft glow of the time and sleep light pleasing to the eye. This is a product that I am prepared to put on my 'Highly Recommended' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product - but why no uk plug?, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
Looks great.
Easy to use.
Good price.
Arrived before time.

BUT!!!!!.........

Why would an electrical product from a UK site not come with a UK plug. Because the plug comes directly out of the power supply I have to use an adapter......this was the only thing that stopped it from getting 5 stars.

Come on amazon...... WAKE UP and realise what you are selling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
This is a fantastic clock that is suitable for iPhone 5. Only one that I could find that was compatible and very good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! Bought this two weeks ago it came ..., 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
Love it! Bought this two weeks ago it came Friday last week within the estimated delivery time which is alway good. This product is perfect for a small bedside table (which is what i bought it for) it looks really good the ambient yellow night light is really good. The sound Quality is great i like to compare the sound with different kinds of songs I.E a rock song to listen for the drums and the individual notes played on the guitar and i could hear them both very very well, also a slow soul kind of song to listen to the vocals of the singer and again was perfect, then i like to listen to a fast dance kind of song to listen to beat and hear the bass which again for somethig so small it packs a punch! Put the volume on 10-15 in a medium size room and it is perfect rhe sound fills the room, this could be placed in the living room and still be heard perfectly in from the kitchen/ dining room. Deffinitly a must buy love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars European plug, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
This is a really good docking station it charges iphone 5 also it has a USB port so other devices can be charged too. Big downside it has a European 2 pin plug there for you need to get an adapt to plug it in. There was no warning on the product description that it was supplied with this plug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Liked the product until the charger cable cracked at both ..., 16 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
Liked the product until the charger cable cracked at both ends exposing live copper cables- obvious defect and obvious fire hazard.
Philips customer service wouldn't replace the charger- not impressed and wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little luxury!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
Just a brilliant, slick product. I am so pleased with the way it functions, looks and sounds! I am a fussy buyer and take my time with anything electrical etc and this has not disappointed at all. The light underneath is really nice in the bedroom at night and the digital clock really stands out. The sound is perfect for the bedroom as I'm getting ready for work each day and charges my iPhone 5c quickly. If I could say one bad thing- is that it's slightly annoying to have to take my case off every night to charge my phone, but I've got used to that now and it's such a good product that I wouldn't let that stop you from buying it. Right I've gone on enough- great little luxury!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab for iphone 5, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
It's fab the sound it quick sound on it really happy with it, wud Defo recommend if you have an iphone 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
B. HOPKINS (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips DS1155/12 Alarm Clock Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector (Baby Product)
We just got this from the apple store (and would you believe they price match!) and with a UK plug, obviously. Its a nice dock and the phone looks very elegant positioned on the stand, although my biggest bugbear and the reason it only has 4 stars is that you cannot use it with any case that surrounds the lightning connector. My wife has switched to another case that exposes the whole bottom of the phone which works well and provides a basic level of phone protection.

You cannot dim the clock display but it's not too bad, much better than my last clock radio. Speak are quite good and it suites most rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews