Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting ,thrilling , a great read.
This is the second of the novels in this series and I am looking forward to the next one with anticipation.I couldn't put it down .the proofreading is not the best ,which spoils the rhythm of the story somewhat.
Published 22 months ago by B. Maher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cracking plot rather spoiled by jarring errors
I used to live in Dubai and picked this as I was feeling nostalgic for the place. It certainly met my need in that respect and I enjoyed the fast paced exciting plot.
Where it did fall down was on the editing and lack of continuity. One of the character seemed to have undergone a complete personality transformation. When we first meet J (trying not to give too much...
Published 7 months ago by CHuBBie Founder


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting ,thrilling , a great read., 12 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
This is the second of the novels in this series and I am looking forward to the next one with anticipation.I couldn't put it down .the proofreading is not the best ,which spoils the rhythm of the story somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable JJB novel, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
Although it took longer to get into than the two previous novels I have read....48 hours and chameleon.... once I got past the halfway stage I couldn't put it down. The descriptions by the author make you feel that you've been to the places and the stories are all good! Looking forward to reading the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, poor consistency, 3 Jun. 2013
By 
Ken Adam "Mapper" (Midlothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
I have now read 4 Kindle eBooks by J Jackson Bentley.
In each case the story was enjoyable.
In each case some of the main characters randomly changed their names. In this story, for example "Trevor George Baker" becomes "George Arthur Baker" in the later chapters - not helped that this same character is using 2 other pseudonyms in the story!

I had assumed that these stories were sefl-published and had not been reviewed by an editor, but I see that the author gives credit to his editor, so I guess they both missed these inconsistencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writer, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
Gripping, entertaining, informative, I have read 3 of his books, all great. Hope there will be many more to come. He is addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shadow of the Burj, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
Well written, a good read. Could recommend to anyone who wants to be taken out of themselves. Loads of tensions in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
Could'nt put down and was sorry when it came to the end. Anyone who likes a fast moving storyline will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
Good story a little repetative but on the whole OK and cheap to buy via Kindle,seven out of ten given
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
This is the fourth book I've read by J Jackson Bentley. To be honest, I didn't like it quite as much as the other three books to begin with, and it did take me a while to really get into it, but once I had, I really enjoyed it and couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
Another great read. It is easy to get into the characters of the book and feel a connection with them. As always there are plenty of twists throughout it that keep you guessing. Another great book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shadow of the Burj, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of the Burj (Kindle Edition)
I could not put this book down right from page one. The author captured my attention from the first page. Very much an action packed read. '
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadow of the Burj
Shadow of the Burj by J Jackson Bentley
£1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews