Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece
Howard Shore has again composed a piece of epic music fitting for an epic film. It's still deeply rooted in Middle Earth and contains many of the much loved themes from Lord of the Rings but with a uniqueness needed for this film. The new Hobbit theme is much like the Lord of the Rings main theme and crops up in suitable moments which tie in really well with the film. My...
Published 23 months ago by C. Welford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great contents in poor containg.
Music writen by elfes; sung by dwarfes; packaged by the most tightwad troll.
Let's hope the next soundtracks in the trilogy will benefit from better craftmanship from Middle Earth.
Published 22 months ago by xavier75


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece, 13 Dec 2012
By 
C. Welford (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
Howard Shore has again composed a piece of epic music fitting for an epic film. It's still deeply rooted in Middle Earth and contains many of the much loved themes from Lord of the Rings but with a uniqueness needed for this film. The new Hobbit theme is much like the Lord of the Rings main theme and crops up in suitable moments which tie in really well with the film. My personal favourites include the deep, mellow tones of Richard Armitage in Misty Mountains; The White Council which evokes the mysterious land of Rivendell and Lorien that we loved in Lord of the Rings, and interestingly includes passages from Gandalf's Lament, and an almost Gondorian theme; An Ancient Enemy manages to introduce the choirs and high strings associated with Mordor; Riddles in the Dark again introduces familiar themes from Lord of the Rings, most memorably those from Shelob The Great and some more familiar LOTR themes.

Overall, a very good effort which suits this film perfectly. Yes, it has been heavily influenced by LOTR but it's good that there's the sense of continuity in the music that lacks from so many blockbuster series (Harry Potter's move away from the iconic music of John Williams is a prime example). It's sure to please hardcore fans of Tolkien and of Peter Jackson's masterpieces, and let's hope that this standard of music is continued through the next two films, but I would like to see Shore develop further the new Hobbit themes, rather than rely heavily on LOTR music that doesn't always fit the situation in the film (Thorin's apology to Bilbo anyone? It's taken directly from The Fellowship Reunited from ROTK).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome soundtrack but where is the rest of it?, 19 Dec 2012
By 
J. Bourne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This soundtrack is awesome. Having said that, there is music from the film that is missing from this soundtrack which, in being the 'special edition', is ludicrous in my opinion. The obvious example of this is that film is littered is the main theme, misty mountains cold, in an orchestral domain which is awesome to the extent that you will come out of the cinema humming that tune all the way home. However, there are only slight renditions of this incredible piece of music on 2 tracks. What is up with that??

We can only hope that a 'full recordings' album will released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howard Shore's musical interpretation of The Hobbit Pt 1 is as spellbinding as his work for the LOTR trilogy, 10 Dec 2012
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After Howard Shore's epic and award winning scores for the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, being a huge film score fan, this for me was one of the most anticipated releases in years. I can say at the outset, that Shore has, in my opinion matched the quality of his music to LOTR. Building on themes already known (I'm thinking mainly of the Shire theme here), and introducing some new themes for Radagast The Brown and a new epic theme that I expect represents the company travelling with Bilbo - I haven't seen the film yet so I don't know how to describe it in context, but it is the new theme as heard in the trailer. Regardless, Shore wastes no time in returning you to Middle Earth, and it is a sensational from the opening to the final note of the album.

I won't go into every track in detail because that would be a pretty laborious read to go through over 30 tracks. There's some great choral writing in "A Good Omen" (Track 11, CD 2). There's some pretty epic action writing in "A Thunder Battle" (Track 6, CD2). The trailer/ Misty Mountains theme is used fairly sparingly, it's main appearances are in "Misty Mountains" (Track 6, CD1) - the vocals as heard in the trailer (minus the rousing orchestral accompaniment. This does later appear in "Over Hill", however, and is probably the best statement of the theme on the album. It is also reprised in "The World is Ahead" (Track 9, CD1), and is heard briefly in bonus track "The Edge of the Wild" (Track 17, CD2). The shire theme makes several welcome reprises, my favourites were in "Old Friends" (Track 2, CD1), "Dreaming of Bag End" (Track 13, CD2) and "A Very Respectable Hobbit (Bonus Track)" (Track 14,CD2). There are also occasional reprises of other themes from LOTR although they are used sparingly.

A side note on the two slightly different album presentations. The normal edition The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey , and the special (extended) edition The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey are have two CDs releases, the special version has some extended cues and bonus tracks (some of which were particularly good at the end of CD2). Whether or not you go for the normal or extended edition will be very much determined by your desire for paying a bit extra for more music. Having owned the Complete Recordings from the Lord of the Rings, which is probably the best set of soundtrack releases for any film, this extended version was the obvious option. That said, it should be noted that even the extended version is not the "complete" score, which I expect will probably be released at some point in the future. These scores are also available via MP3 download, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Original Motion Picture Soundtrack [+digital booklet] and The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Original Motion Picture Soundtrack [+digital booklet] for the normal and special editions respectively, which are better value for money (I do prefer to have the CD though). A recommendation if you prefer to get the ordinary edition is to pick up the tracks 14-17 on the special release only - these are great tracks that probably deserved to be on the ordinary release. These releases are also fantastic value for money, although whether you think the additional tracks and extended versions are worth the extra fiver (at the time of this review) is personal preference.

The sound quality is as good as the original Lord of the Rings recordings, that has exceptional clarity and a wet mix that gives it that extra sense of depth. The London Philharmonic Orchestra sounds fantastic, as do the choral sections. The stunning performances and mixing really cannot be understated.

As the previous reviewer remarked, the packaging for the Special Edition is a little flimsy - I have never really been a fan of cardboard CD packaging. That aside, the special edition does come with a lengthy CD booklet with lyrics to the songs present, some nice album art, and a lengthy commentary on the score by Doug Adams, who wrote this beast of a book about the Shore's music to the Lord of the Rings Trilogy > The Music of the Lord of the Rings Films: A Comprehensive Account of Howard Shore's Scores (Book & Rarities CD): 1. I cannot comment on what is in the normal edition, but judging by what is said on the packaging for the special edition (that says contains "expanded liner notes"), I would imagine the notes by Adams might be excluded. Whether this would be of any interest to the casual listener is open to debate!

The negative points - I wasn't entirely convinced by Neil Finn's "Song of the Lonely Mountain (Extended Edition)" - I just didn't think it had the right Middle Earth tone, but that's just my opinion. There are also a few things that I would have done differently, for example, track 6 (CD1) contains the Misty Mountains song that was heard over the trailer, and Over Hill on CD2 has the orchestral counterpart. Having that all as one track would have been good, but this is me being pretty petty if truth be told. Negative points are thin on the ground.

Overall, Howard Shore has once again captured the essence of Middle Earth in a way that fans of the Lord of the Rings music will treasure. The new material is great, and sits alongside existing themes perfectly. It will be a years wait for The Desolation of Smaug, and already I am excited about what Shore will do for the next two installments. Make no mistake, of what will be one of the last soundtracks of 2012, it is also the finest. If you can afford the special edition, I have no hesitations in recommending it, but regardless of what album you go for, if you are a fan of Shore's music for Middle Earth, you cannot be without this music in your collection. Sensational.

***Update - now the film has been released I have read some odd things from numerous places online regarding the music in the film and on CD. Apparently, some of the best music on the soundtrack release is not present within the film, and some great music in the film is not present on the CDs (even the special edition). The latter point is not so unusual for soundtrack releases, and in the case of the LOTR, this was remedied by an expensive but fantastic "complete recordings" of the three scores. It would not surprise me if a complete recordings version of The Hobbit films surface in the future. It is unusual however for additional music to feature on the soundtrack release that does not feature in the film, although it is entirely possible that it will be used in the remaining two films. For those who are buying this soundtrack independently of seeing the film this will be of little consequence. However for those who are looking at this product having seen the film, be aware that some of the good music from the film itself does not appear to be on the CDs, but there will be additional music on the CDs not present in the film. Regardless, the music as heard on the CDs is stunning, and would recommend it regardless of how it is presented within the film itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great contents in poor containg., 15 Jan 2013
Music writen by elfes; sung by dwarfes; packaged by the most tightwad troll.
Let's hope the next soundtracks in the trilogy will benefit from better craftmanship from Middle Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
I own all of the Lord of the Rings soundtracks, and have listened to, and enjoyed them, often. I am pleased to say that Howard Shore's latest addition to his middle-earth cycle is much better than expected. While retaining motifs and gentle nods to the original scores, this latest offering provides plenty of new material, motifs and melodies and, when listened to in one sitting, is by turns relaxing, dramatic, suspenseful and, at times, exuberant. I was worried that it would pale in comparison to it's predecessors, but as i write this i am listening through both discs again.

If you are fond of the original scores to Peter Jackson's films, or indeed to well-crafted, polished and memorable orchestral music, then treat yourself to The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Soundtrack, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb score from Howard Shore - 5 out of 5 for that. Would be five stars all round if the 'special edition' flimsy packaging wasn't so rubbish compared to each of the original Lord of the Rings trilogy soundtracks. At least they gave you faux-leather instead of painted paper for your extra fiver...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good special edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In A Hole In The Ground., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic. Howard Shore takes you straight back to Middle Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is a packaging review, 5 April 2014
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
So if you want to talk music, then 5 stars. Period. If you want to talk item concept, then 5 stars. Period. The three stars come due to the way it's been put together. The materials are luxurious and have a nice, expensive feel. You get a beautifully illustrated booklet and two CDs. The problem is the manner in which the CDs are enclosed. They are not held in place with one of those plastic inserts with the little grip in the centre, they are both held in card envelopes that are part of the outer cover. Here is where the trouble starts - they are too tight and it's almost impossible to remove the disc without causing damage to the cover or, due to the way you have to pince the disc, to the actual CD itself. The booklet is attached to the spin of the cover via its two staples, but because of all the shenanigans in trying to remove the discs, mine tore away and has been loose since the first play. It's a pity such a wonderful package is being let down by design of the package itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
The entire arrangement is amazing. So many moods. Find yourself humming the tunes all day. Great film to watch too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews