Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mid life cyclists
I really enjoyed this book as middle aged cyclist myself.
As I read it I thought "oh yes, been there done that, tick another box". A great read, carry on and buy more gear.
Published 17 months ago by Andy Yorston

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mid Life Cyclist -Mid life advice
Brilliant book written in two parts by two young boys in adult clothing. Proves that ignorance is bliss as the launch themselves into a host of cycling adventures that builds their friendship to higher levels.
Published 5 months ago by Edward Woods


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mid-life ramblings, 3 July 2013
By 
Matthew Bakewell "MattyB" (Moray) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Paperback)
If you're going to share your experiences in a book, you either need to have done something extraordinary, or do something mundane and write about it in an extraordinary way; Bill Bryson has made a fortune getting on and off trains, cogitating, but then describing it in a way that makes you laugh out loud and wake your wife. I'm afraid that the two chaps here might think they have written with wit and style, but their excursions either aren't worth writing about or haven't been told with enough drama to fill this short book. There's no real structure and certainly no climax - they'e planning on following the Tour route, but... decide to put it off because they're not ready. The dual perspective gives repetitions without further insight and, if there was more happening, might have been confusing. Sorry chaps, I'm glad you're enjoying middle-age, but don't invite me until you can really tell a good story that's worth paying for. See you on the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Kindle Edition)
Great Read, as a born again cyclist trying to get the miles under the belt, can really relate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good at all., 14 Sep 2014
By 
Matt the moaner (Southport, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Paperback)
Bit of a jump on the bandwagon book. Tried but didn't enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull Book, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Paperback)
Thought that this would be a great book from the description about fellow middle aged cyclists. Now, when I was 30 I certainly never described myself as being middle aged so was surprised to find that the heroes were in their 30s and already fit. Unlike me in my 50s and somewhat unfit. So I didn't connect.
Many amusing things happen, but sadly written about in a really dull way.
Almost left this book behind whilst on holiday and wouldn't miss finishing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What did they do?, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Paperback)
A huge anti-climax when they decide against doing the Tour de France route. I was waiting for something to happen, then realised there were only 15 pages left to read - guess what? - nothing happened! I have done more on my bike in 2014, than these two hen pecked clowns managed to squeeze into their book. LMF springs to mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mildly amusing at best, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Paperback)
Only mildly amusing. I had pretty high hopes after a few raving reviews on a forum, but it just didn't do it for me. Perhaps my expectations were to high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining in small snippets., 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Kindle Edition)
Entertaining in small snippets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This reads like two average blokes giving best man's speeches at the ..., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Paperback)
This reads like two average blokes giving best man's speeches at the other's wedding.In other words an amateurish attempt to make a friend sound interesting and exciting,with the obligatory feeble jokes.One of them has the saying "buy the best to be the best to beat the best" - a daft phrase from the start, but it gets repeated about a dozen times throughout the book as if its some kind of deep insight, but I'm afraid this is as profound as it gets.Occasionally it gets interesting when some honesty creeps in - one of them falls off in winter, or they go on a long ride with some older belgian riders and get the proverbial beaten out of them.They come across as arrogant macho types who hate being passed by another cyclist, while at the same time hen-pecked softies.Poorly written too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggle to read, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Kindle Edition)
Will try and read it all the way through but it is a struggle,have rode for 50yrs at a good level and this is not quite my cup of tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty weak really - they tell the not very surprising ..., 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mid-life Cyclists (Kindle Edition)
Pretty weak really - they tell the not very surprising stories of getting involved in biking, going on rides, being interested in kit etc, which were no doubt amusing at the time, but the fun doesn't really survive in the retelling: It was long, I got tired, my mate was slower/faster, steep hill was really steep, bought this really expensive kit and hid it from the mrs, n+1 bikes in the shed, etc. Gave up about five chapters in, only kept away by irritation at the dodgy grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mid-life Cyclists
Mid-life Cyclists by Neil Blundell
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews