Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good non-english thriller.
Enjoyed the atmosphere and the way the plot developed. Would say more,but that would spoil the experience. Strong characters and good semi-monochrome cinematography.
Published 3 months ago by Phoenix Hoyle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting film, worth a watch but doesn't quite live up to its promise
Worth an hour or so of your time. Unfortunately it feels like it's trying too hard to be something it is not. Too many disparate threads woven into the plot but with no real depth to any. A pity as it could have been so much more just by trying to be somewhat less.
Published 3 months ago by S Ablett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting film, worth a watch but doesn't quite live up to its promise, 19 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Lookout (Amazon Instant Video)
Worth an hour or so of your time. Unfortunately it feels like it's trying too hard to be something it is not. Too many disparate threads woven into the plot but with no real depth to any. A pity as it could have been so much more just by trying to be somewhat less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy pricing., 4 May 2014
Film was fine. Music interesting.
But I do find the comedy pricing for the blueray and dvd for this highly amusing.
I mean, do they actually want people to buy this or pirate it instead?
I'll wait until the comedians have left the building and download it for the time being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good non-english thriller., 22 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Lookout (Amazon Instant Video)
Enjoyed the atmosphere and the way the plot developed. Would say more,but that would spoil the experience. Strong characters and good semi-monochrome cinematography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, shame about the other review., 3 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Dj Ballinger "the danny" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lookout [DVD] (DVD)
I was worried about buying this film because of the other review here.....1 star? But I love french thrillers I find them thrilling and french and I especially love ones set in Paris. Daniel Autieul and Mathieu Kassovitz are great as well. It wasn't what I expected because of the review so I was happy it was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Massive regrette rien!, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Lookout [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't good. in the sense that the majority of French films of this genre are.

It feels very confused and badly put together attempting to shock with the gore but having little substance within the storyline, plenty of am/dram going on.

It is convoluted and none of the characters feel real, or at least I found it hard to figure out who was doing what and why on Earth they were doing it, as they all came and went too quickly to form any understanding of who was who.

All in all an incomplete cinematic experience, and I am a French thriller/crime film nut... but I'm afraid this is not one I would recommend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE LOOKOUT directed by Michele Placido, 7 May 2014
This review is from: The Lookout [DVD] (DVD)
This starts out as a policier, with a portly Daniel Auteil arresting bank robbers, then turns into a thriller, as Danny hunts the sniper who helped the bank robbers and may have killed his son, and then becomes a serial killer film (!).

It's all rather confusing and indeed, at several points it feels like scenes have been left on the cutting room floor. It also has that most tedious of modern cliches: the Western soldier who gets PTSD and goes kill crazy against civilians.

However the actors are solid and the whole package is so slick and has such neat little human touches that it's quite easy to turn the brain cells off, forget the plot holes and enjoy the twists and turns for an hour and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intense French Thriller, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lookout [DVD] (DVD)
Intense French Thriller directed by Italian Michele
Placido with Daniel Autieul and Mathieu Kassovitz.
Good acting all around with and interesting plot.
Well filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate it, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lookout [DVD] (DVD)
Needless violence, thin plot extended for no good reason. Permanent frown is not good acting! Hate it and do not recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lookout [DVD]
The Lookout [DVD] by Michele Placido (DVD - 2013)
13.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews